We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, chic riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 72

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad 72 to your Saves list
Riad 72
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   72 Arset Awzel, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
North Devon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely, chic riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Due to adverse weather conditions we ended up staying four nights here rather than the original two. The riad is beautifully decorated, our room was lovely with a huge comfy bath. My partner is 6"4 and he really liked having a bath he could lye down in. All the staff where really friendly and helpful, going out of their way to help us on many occasions. We ate in the riad a few times and the food was always great, much better than any restaurant or market we went to. The location is very central and close to all the main sights.
We would very much recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
118
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This has to be one of the best secret treasures in Marrakech. Have spent several long weekends of relaxation here with good food and wine as a bonus. The building is stunning with amazing views from the roof top terrace. The plunge pool is not big but we got 6 people in to cool of which was fun especially as the wine was flowing.
One tip is to ask Fatima for her Orange soup..it is amazing and if she ever gives you the recipe please tell me.
The staff will make you feel welcome and there is nothing too small that they will not assist you on, even escorting you to other restaurants.
You will have the best time here especially if you and your friends want to hire the wholeplace. Had an amazing birthday here one year
Enjoy

Room Tip: If you like a good bath then ask for the Amal Room as the bath is to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano Marittima, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The ryad 72, is absolutly unic, after arriving in to Marrakech airport, the ryad sent a driver to pick me and my wife, was our first experience in Marrakech, the ryad is an oásis inside the Medina, the location is excelent Very quiet, and close to the main Marrakech attractions.
The decoration is amazing, simple and Very confortabel, the rooms confortabel and with Excelent dimensions, the bathroom was beautiful, Excelent shower, Excelent amenities, everything clean, the towels Very good quality. On the terrace we fund a Very small, but fresch kind of pool, a could shower, and the most confortabel pool furniture i ever experience, Very good to take a nap, or read a book.
But above all That i have mention above, what was really important, the service provide for the staff, all of them from the lady in the kitchen, until the waiters, and the door man, they really made our tripe fantastic, helping with rezervations, a 7 stars service, allways helping in everything
This hotel is the best value for money That we can have

Room Tip: The ryad have 4 rooms, we stay at the small one, and cheaper, but i saw the others, and ours was per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place is an oasis of calm amongst the harsh climate of Marrakesh.
It does not rely on opulence to reflect its luxury - its underatated simplicity in elegantly restored spaces does it all for you. Modern conveniences such as air-con etc are all there. No TV but goodness, I hope that you can survive without one with this type of holiday....
A particular gem is to be had with the afternoon worker Rashid. My goodness - are there no bounds to his generousity of time, knowledge and patience? His off-sider Shira as well as the lovely morning chef were incredibly accommodating, polite, friendly and smiling, and were a joy to return or wake up to...
The view on the terrace is lovely. The food is great. The service is first rate and genuine. The location is central but also in the heart of the medina - isnt that what you came here for - to have that experience of being in the historic quarter of a millenium-old city????

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colmar, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Perfectly situated just inside the Medina, on the same side as Place Jma el Fna. Very easy to walk to taxi stand. 2 minutes drive to The Place. They organise airport transfers. Rhislaine welcomed us into this hidden haven, and in her gentle way made sure we were comfortable at all times. We enjoyed a lovely traditional meal, cooked by Habiba, on the roof terrace...3 stories up for each course, thank you, Rhislaine! For info, prices are European, at Eur60 for our 3 course meal for two. But how much better than going to a restaurant. Great terrace overlooking Marrakech rooftops, with a plunge pool in which we spent Sundown hour with the champagne we took along with us. Comfy Teak loungers. Our 'luxury' room with split level was pretty, but if I returned to Riad 72 (which I would, happily), I would opt for the standard room or the suite on one level. Hmmm, bed was very hard, with just one pillow. Ask for a second one! Lovely, quality fittings in the big bathroom. Gorgeous public area, banana palms, cooling fountain, birds fluttering around. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: See my review before choosing your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

enjoyed:
- staff really made the stay
- rooftop bathing pool a pleasant relief
- great reservations the concierge made for us at Cafe Arabe - best seat in the house
- Fatima the chef - lovely motherly type and good cook
- greenery through the riad - large banana trees in the central court
- lovely design and style throughout rooms

bear in mind:
- decent walk in alley ways if you are concerned for safety at night (though we had no problems)

Overall recommended for great rooftop views, calm environment inside and staff who would do anything to please. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: the main suite is worth the extra outlay - we felt like royalty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Very beautiful, calm and tranquil space, wonderful staff- 0 Emanuela, azziz, Rashid, Jilal (please forgive me if my spekllings are wrong!)Thank you all!
Best Hammam in Morroco- tried many and loved this one- the wonderful lady Aisha provides the best Hammam ever- she works magic! I highly recommend all you ladies meet Aisha and try one of her Hammam sessions- she is absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad 72? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 72

Address: 72 Arset Awzel, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad 72 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad 72 is a romantic retreat that mixes the best of modern Moroccan craftsmanship with contemporary Moroccan design. It has its own private hammam and, thanks to its lushly planted patio, fountain and water features, songbirds are often found here serenading the guests. The terrace is one of the highest of the medina. It offers incomparable views over the old city and onto the majestic Atlas mountains: ideal for soaking up the sun or a sunset aperitif. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad 72 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 72 Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad 72, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.