We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in the Medina with plunge pool and caring service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 72

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad 72 to your Saves list
Riad 72
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Arset Awzel, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 469 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colmar, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A haven in the Medina with plunge pool and caring service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Perfectly situated just inside the Medina, on the same side as Place Jma el Fna. Very easy to walk to taxi stand. 2 minutes drive to The Place. They organise airport transfers. Rhislaine welcomed us into this hidden haven, and in her gentle way made sure we were comfortable at all times. We enjoyed a lovely traditional meal, cooked by Habiba, on the roof terrace...3 stories up for each course, thank you, Rhislaine! For info, prices are European, at Eur60 for our 3 course meal for two. But how much better than going to a restaurant. Great terrace overlooking Marrakech rooftops, with a plunge pool in which we spent Sundown hour with the champagne we took along with us. Comfy Teak loungers. Our 'luxury' room with split level was pretty, but if I returned to Riad 72 (which I would, happily), I would opt for the standard room or the suite on one level. Hmmm, bed was very hard, with just one pillow. Ask for a second one! Lovely, quality fittings in the big bathroom. Gorgeous public area, banana palms, cooling fountain, birds fluttering around. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: See my review before choosing your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
129
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

enjoyed:
- staff really made the stay
- rooftop bathing pool a pleasant relief
- great reservations the concierge made for us at Cafe Arabe - best seat in the house
- Fatima the chef - lovely motherly type and good cook
- greenery through the riad - large banana trees in the central court
- lovely design and style throughout rooms

bear in mind:
- decent walk in alley ways if you are concerned for safety at night (though we had no problems)

Overall recommended for great rooftop views, calm environment inside and staff who would do anything to please. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: the main suite is worth the extra outlay - we felt like royalty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Very beautiful, calm and tranquil space, wonderful staff- 0 Emanuela, azziz, Rashid, Jilal (please forgive me if my spekllings are wrong!)Thank you all!
Best Hammam in Morroco- tried many and loved this one- the wonderful lady Aisha provides the best Hammam ever- she works magic! I highly recommend all you ladies meet Aisha and try one of her Hammam sessions- she is absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Riad 72 and I must say that Marrakech would not have been the positive experience it had been without the warm and amazing staff of the Riad. Everything about the hotel, the design and the staff is perfect. The hotel director Emanuella is a pleasure to deal with and made everything in her power to make our stay stress free and fun,Rachid is so respectful, pleasant and kind and so is Aziz and the rest of the staff. In terms of food, well where do we start? After eating in several places in Marrakech, we can only confirm previous reviews where food is exquisite all due to the wonderful cook Fatouma who is not only adorable but has a quality of a 5 star international chef. An amalgamation of each individual, the perfect and serene decor made our stay one of the most memorable holiday. A sincere and endless thank you to all of you at Riad 72. Stephi and Nina

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We ate at the Riad on our first night which was delicious and huge portions. We stayed in Amal room which was a great size and the bath was amazing. The only slight problem was that it was 45 degrees and the air con wasn't very powerful - we managed ok with the use of a cold bath and had no trouble sleeping at night. Unfortunately it was too windy to use the roof terrace for meals but the courtyard was beautiful. The breakfasts were lovely and they catered for whatever we fancied. My boyfriend also proposed to me on our last morning there over breakfast so that confirms how lovely and romantic the place is!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I recently stayed in the Riad 72. I'd read some previous reviews and they were very positive. So I was hopeful, but that's the thing about a review, each individual will always have a different experience. I wondered whether mine would be as good. I need not have worried. From the friendly driver who picked us up from the airport, to the lovely Asiz who met us to wheel our luggage and escort us through the streets to the Riad, right through the stay and at every juncture; we were met with smiles and interest, wonderful service, helpful and willing staff, and all of our needs were accommodated.
On arrival we took a seat in the courtyard. Open roofed and with fully grown banana trees, it was peaceful and beautiful. A stream of running water leading to small fountain added to the relaxing atmosphere. We were bought mint tea and freshly baked biscuits, and, as our room wasn't quite ready, we asked if we could take to the roof terrace to sit out in the sun, and this was not a problem. The plunge pool was being freshly filled with cold water and there is a cold water shower up there too, along with a shaded gazebo with comfy low sofas and tables in case you fancy lunch and the view.
The room had been prepared for a couple, and when we advised the staff we were friends only, it was no trouble at all, the rooms were re arranged immediately to accommodate two separate beds, on two levels.The bathroom was beautiful, and even had a door which led out onto the staircase to take you up to the terrace. There were many original details throughout the Riad, with the double height doors and other wooden fret work fabulously maintained. We had a hammam there, which delivered me back to room as soft and clean as a new born baby. And was given by Aicha, a truly lovely lady. The food we had throughout our stay was delicious!! Breakfast was varied, freshly cooked and baked and different every day. Plus, it always included as much freshly squeezed orange juice as you wanted. I'm a vegetarian which is not usual in Morrocco, and yet Fatima, the chef, happily made us individually spiced and creative dishes that were divine.
We were assisted in anything we chose to ask for help with. Including booking restaurants, being picked up on one occasion after the meal, and escorted back through the medina as it was quite late. We were given advice on where to go in the Medina for different things, Jalil even accompanied us on one occasion, translating and assisting in shopping. So much kindness and hospitality were extended to us with such warmth and sincerity, that we were just blown away. A truly wonderful place to stay, a real safe haven from the hustle and bustle and chaos just a few steps from the front door. I will definitely return. No question. A blissful stay in a fantastic place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have just come back from 3 nights in Marrakech with my friend. We were picked up at the airport and driven back to the Riad. I was looking out of the window and crossing my fingers that my hotel was going to be lovely. There was so much poverty around me and everything was so different. I really wanted a peaceful surrounding for my short holiday. Well, I need not have worried! We were greeted so warmly. We were offered mint tea and biscuits while our rooms were sorted out. We went up to our room and it had everything you could hope for. It was so clean and very traditional. The courtyard was peaceful and it was lovely to sit there and have a drink and watch birds fly in and out. We ate in for the first night and Fatoumah cooked for us. We are vegetarian so I know it was unusual for her but she cooked us a delicious feast! The breakfasts she made were out of this world. I always waddled away from the table very satisfied. Then Aicha took me under her wing and gave me my first ever hammam. Wow! It was such an amazing experience. I was scrubbed and cleaned and then a wonderful mud mask. I have NEVER been so clean and soft. It was incredible. The service was like nothing I have ever had before. Nothing was too much trouble. I was able to eat when I wanted, where I wanted, they just wanted us to have a nice holiday. Jalal (I am not sure of the spelling) who was one of the waiters there helped us very much. He helped us with all the shopping, where to go, what spices to buy and translated everything for us. We were taken to restaurants and picked up afterwards in case we got lost. This is such a lovely place to stay and the staff are very, very nice. I really recommend this place to stay for tranquility and very helpful staff. What a wonderful place!

Room Tip: The rooms just vary in size. There is no good or bad location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad 72? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 72

Address: 72 Arset Awzel, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad 72 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad 72 is a romantic retreat that mixes the best of modern Moroccan craftsmanship with contemporary Moroccan design. It has its own private hammam and, thanks to its lushly planted patio, fountain and water features, songbirds are often found here serenading the guests. The terrace is one of the highest of the medina. It offers incomparable views over the old city and onto the majestic Atlas mountains: ideal for soaking up the sun or a sunset aperitif. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad 72 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 72 Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad 72, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.