We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Calm in a Mad Mad City!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel to your Saves list
Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Sidi Mimoun Derb Sidi M'Barek 151, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #454 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Oasis of Calm in a Mad Mad City!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We were a bit concerned when we stood outside a very scruffy dusty door to this Riad but when it was opened it was exactly like the pictures showed...charming.
The staff were very helpful the breakfast was more than enough eaten out on the roof terrace it was most enjoyable.We booked a meal on the Sunday as we had been told that the food in Riads was on the whole very good in this case it was a mistake the meal was poor and compared to the eating places outside expensive-maybe the cook had an "off night"
Aside from that do stay here if you want a traditional Riad you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    48
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
53
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saugatuck, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this Riad. Everyone was so helpful and very nice. We feel we have new friends in Marrakech. It's decorated quite lovely and very clean. You'll doubt this as you wait outside the door when you arrive, but have faith! It's located in a quiet neighborhood but still inside the Medina so you're close to the grand plaza, the souks, great restaurants, and the oldest Mosque. In fact there is a small mosque close to the hotel which helps eager visitors to rise early! :)~

This Riad also has it's own Hammam (self service, but private) which is quite nice at the end of your busy day. We recommend on your busiest tour day to reserve in advance along with dinner from the Riad kitchen for a nice quiet romantic night in.

DO:
*Consider renting a scooter for a day to tour outside the Medina (~200 dirham/day)

*Take an excursion (with a guide or with your rented scooter) to Atlas Mountain - there are many fun shopping stops there, small mountain villages, great views, and lunch along the river (and a waterfall (or 6) at the end of the road)

*The only store to sell wine and spirits is the big supermarket (ACIMA or s'thing like this) in the new part of town. It's easier with a scooter, but walkable (likely 60 minutes round trip). It's nice to share a bottle of wine in the Riad Hammam or for an afternoon break on the sun patio.

*there are a few small little shops in the Riad neighborhood or off the main plaza that sell cheap shampoo, shaving cream, etc. (you don't have to do to the big supermarket for this)

*The spices we bought have been fabulous as we've already been cooking at home recreating some of our favorite Tangines. We found the best prices in the Spice Souk.

*Take a Hamman spa visit in your first day as you'll likely want to do this every day of your visit. You can find several that provide couples services -private just for you two - or many traditional that are women only in the AM and men in the PM.

*Our favorite points of interest were the Palace Bahia, the old school Ben Yousef, and the garden of Yves St. Laurant. The museum store there also had the nicest earrings I think.

*The Opera theatre in the new part of town is worth a visit and may be restored when you visit. We missed seeing Moroccan independent films, but I understand they have some talented works.

*Plan 3 or 4 nights max in Marrakech as it's quickly discovered. It's a 2 hour train ride to Casablanca and the souks of FES (along with it's historic Medina) are highly recommend.

*We had no health issues tasting the food in the main plaza. It's recommend to eat with your fingers and the bread (they only rinse the utensils there we're told). Try to eat where you see locals, we feel the food is better and cheaper there :)

*We dined at some great places.. we found a great Lebanese place on our way west from the Palmerie, CozyBar in the Jewish square was excellent (we actually had sushi there) and Mama Ti Lee near the large Hamman Z... something near the Palace Bahia on the east side of the Medina is not to be missed!

Note - Mama Ti Lee is hard to find, but worth it!
We also enjoyed a few lunches at the Cafe d' espice (this is in a small plaza by the carpet souks. There are two tall restaurants here with sun decks great for people watching and sunsets).

*Touring the tanneries is also very interesting though hopefully you'll get led to one with nice leather goods to choose after your visit (it's nice to buy s'thing and they will try to sell you hard) - a nice tip for the tour is also a good substitution for purchase)

*Best to get a ride from the airport from the hotel - you can request when you confirm your reservation. It is half the price (or less!) verses random taxi from airport. The car will drop you at the entrance to the alley which is also very close to the hospital (it's too narrow for cars to bring you all the way to the Riad door). Follow the alley down and around past the mosque then straight for many steps. Don't turn right - the door to the Riad is just past that right alley then. It seems far when you first arrive, but it's not bad when you know where you're going.

The Riad will give you advice on where to change money and almost everything else. They are wonderful. Great place to stay close to the action in the old city yet on the edge so it's quiet at night.

Thank you very much!
"the newlyweds"

Room Tip: they all seemed lovely! The largest room was nice as it had an extra bed and two chairs to relax in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

The riad is lovely, quiet. Staff very friendly, we were carefully attended to.

The taxi drops you near the hospital. (There's no sign of the riad at this point.) Before we were out of the taxi, loitering young men had our bags in hand to take us to the riad. They took us to a nearby riad with a similar name, then back to the correct one. They wanted Euros right away (we had no small bills to pay with - awkward). We paid him in dirham the next day. The same young man and his friends were at the exit to the laneway the entire trip. Best to make friends quickly.
Once we knew where we were, the narrow lane seemed friendlier and more accessible, but the first trip up the lane is very daunting. The massive door opens, and a beautiful riad awaits.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

i never write on these things but really felt the need too. Scary when the taxi droped us off walking down dodgy backstreets, but welcoming host beautiful clean, hard beds but i think thats just how it is there, we got beer on arrival, lovely breakfast, and soon got use to the streets outside we didnt have any bother, great price, would go again.

Room Tip: pool is useable to cool down in but not to swim
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed here only one (1) night. We originally had the room booked for three (3) nights. I want to first say that the hospitality here is very welcoming. The host is very nice and attended us to every need and answered any questions we had. The Riad is beautiful with its traditional design. The upstairs patio is very relaxing and peaceful. The rooms are good. The bedroom was about 200 square ft. The bathroom is small about 25 sq ft. But, here is the downside. Please keep in mind that the taxi cannot drop you off in the front door. You have to walk down the narrow street with minimize lighting in the evening. The street is about a quarter mile long till you get to the Riad on a corner. The front of the narrow street where the taxi drops you off there seems to be a group of kids and young adults that hang out day and night. These particular locals harrassed us both the day and followed us to our Riad at night. We just ignored them at all times hoping they would go away. But they did not. It was enough for us to change hotels while our stay in the city. There are limited options to do in the area as far as entertainment.The closest restaurant is in the plaza and its about a 15 minute walk. I would not recommend walking that route at night. If you are a tourist expect to be harrassed along the way. Women please keep your eyes open. But if you seek adventure and want to risk safety for economy maybe this place is for you. We were really excited in booking this Riad but were sadly dissapointed. Its too bad some locals have to ruin a travellers experience. We travel around the world as much as possible and do our best to blend in with the local customs and respect the culture. But, we tried our best here with the area and it simply was not possible. **If this Riad was in another area. Yes, we would stay again.**

Room Tip: Quiet and peaceful. Get a 2nd floor room. If you walk at night to the Riad. Have your keys in hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed for a week in this lovely Riad, like many properties in this region the outside belies what is behind the door. The interior is clean and very well presented and very representative of the typical decor of the area. It's position is really good being fairly central to many attractions and tourist areas. The staff are really helpful and friendly and will certainly go the extra mile to help if needed, we were more than happy with all aspects of our stay and would recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Marrakesh

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My partner and I were looking for a calm oasis in Marrakech that was both comfortable and welcoming to gay couples.

We found Riad Dar Mimouna to be an ideal choice.

The rooms are spacious enough and well decorated (especially the bathrooms). The central courtyard is traditionally laid out and makes for a brilliant first impression. The free wi-fi access was incredibly useful too.

We had an action packed itinnery and the staff there went out of their way to help us. From restaurants to Hammams and excursions, they were full of helpful suggestions.

We only had dinner at the Riad one night and we were very impressed with the calibre of the food served (meat and veggie options).

The only slight criticism is that the air conditioning in the room (named Rabat) wasn't the most efficient but we didn't mention this to the manager so they didn't have the option of sorting this out for us.

We'd highly reccommend this Riad to any couple, gay or straight looking for an affordable, comfortable place to stay in the Medina (old town).

If you are staying here do make sure to arrange an airport transfer to the Riad though (as we did) as you might find it hard to find otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel

Address: Sidi Mimoun Derb Sidi M'Barek 151, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #454 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.