We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel to your Saves list
Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Sidi Mimoun Derb Sidi M'Barek, No 151, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #547 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“excellent place to stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this Riad. Everyone was so helpful and very nice. We feel we have new friends in Marrakech. It's decorated quite lovely and very clean. You'll doubt this as you wait outside the door when you arrive, but have faith! It's located in a quiet neighborhood but still inside the Medina so you're close to the grand plaza, the souks, great restaurants, and the oldest Mosque. In fact there is a small mosque close to the hotel which helps eager visitors to rise early! :)~

This Riad also has it's own Hammam (self service, but private) which is quite nice at the end of your busy day. We recommend on your busiest tour day to reserve in advance along with dinner from the Riad kitchen for a nice quiet romantic night in.

DO:
*Consider renting a scooter for a day to tour outside the Medina (~200 dirham/day)

*Take an excursion (with a guide or with your rented scooter) to Atlas Mountain - there are many fun shopping stops there, small mountain villages, great views, and lunch along the river (and a waterfall (or 6) at the end of the road)

*The only store to sell wine and spirits is the big supermarket (ACIMA or s'thing like this) in the new part of town. It's easier with a scooter, but walkable (likely 60 minutes round trip). It's nice to share a bottle of wine in the Riad Hammam or for an afternoon break on the sun patio.

*there are a few small little shops in the Riad neighborhood or off the main plaza that sell cheap shampoo, shaving cream, etc. (you don't have to do to the big supermarket for this)

*The spices we bought have been fabulous as we've already been cooking at home recreating some of our favorite Tangines. We found the best prices in the Spice Souk.

*Take a Hamman spa visit in your first day as you'll likely want to do this every day of your visit. You can find several that provide couples services -private just for you two - or many traditional that are women only in the AM and men in the PM.

*Our favorite points of interest were the Palace Bahia, the old school Ben Yousef, and the garden of Yves St. Laurant. The museum store there also had the nicest earrings I think.

*The Opera theatre in the new part of town is worth a visit and may be restored when you visit. We missed seeing Moroccan independent films, but I understand they have some talented works.

*Plan 3 or 4 nights max in Marrakech as it's quickly discovered. It's a 2 hour train ride to Casablanca and the souks of FES (along with it's historic Medina) are highly recommend.

*We had no health issues tasting the food in the main plaza. It's recommend to eat with your fingers and the bread (they only rinse the utensils there we're told). Try to eat where you see locals, we feel the food is better and cheaper there :)

*We dined at some great places.. we found a great Lebanese place on our way west from the Palmerie, CozyBar in the Jewish square was excellent (we actually had sushi there) and Mama Ti Lee near the large Hamman Z... something near the Palace Bahia on the east side of the Medina is not to be missed!

Note - Mama Ti Lee is hard to find, but worth it!
We also enjoyed a few lunches at the Cafe d' espice (this is in a small plaza by the carpet souks. There are two tall restaurants here with sun decks great for people watching and sunsets).

*Touring the tanneries is also very interesting though hopefully you'll get led to one with nice leather goods to choose after your visit (it's nice to buy s'thing and they will try to sell you hard) - a nice tip for the tour is also a good substitution for purchase)

*Best to get a ride from the airport from the hotel - you can request when you confirm your reservation. It is half the price (or less!) verses random taxi from airport. The car will drop you at the entrance to the alley which is also very close to the hospital (it's too narrow for cars to bring you all the way to the Riad door). Follow the alley down and around past the mosque then straight for many steps. Don't turn right - the door to the Riad is just past that right alley then. It seems far when you first arrive, but it's not bad when you know where you're going.

The Riad will give you advice on where to change money and almost everything else. They are wonderful. Great place to stay close to the action in the old city yet on the edge so it's quiet at night.

Thank you very much!
"the newlyweds"

Room Tip: they all seemed lovely! The largest room was nice as it had an extra bed and two chairs to relax in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    52
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
14
62
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

The riad is lovely, quiet. Staff very friendly, we were carefully attended to.

The taxi drops you near the hospital. (There's no sign of the riad at this point.) Before we were out of the taxi, loitering young men had our bags in hand to take us to the riad. They took us to a nearby riad with a similar name, then back to the correct one. They wanted Euros right away (we had no small bills to pay with - awkward). We paid him in dirham the next day. The same young man and his friends were at the exit to the laneway the entire trip. Best to make friends quickly.
Once we knew where we were, the narrow lane seemed friendlier and more accessible, but the first trip up the lane is very daunting. The massive door opens, and a beautiful riad awaits.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

i never write on these things but really felt the need too. Scary when the taxi droped us off walking down dodgy backstreets, but welcoming host beautiful clean, hard beds but i think thats just how it is there, we got beer on arrival, lovely breakfast, and soon got use to the streets outside we didnt have any bother, great price, would go again.

Room Tip: pool is useable to cool down in but not to swim
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed here only one (1) night. We originally had the room booked for three (3) nights. I want to first say that the hospitality here is very welcoming. The host is very nice and attended us to every need and answered any questions we had. The Riad is beautiful with its traditional design. The upstairs patio is very relaxing and peaceful. The rooms are good. The bedroom was about 200 square ft. The bathroom is small about 25 sq ft. But, here is the downside. Please keep in mind that the taxi cannot drop you off in the front door. You have to walk down the narrow street with minimize lighting in the evening. The street is about a quarter mile long till you get to the Riad on a corner. The front of the narrow street where the taxi drops you off there seems to be a group of kids and young adults that hang out day and night. These particular locals harrassed us both the day and followed us to our Riad at night. We just ignored them at all times hoping they would go away. But they did not. It was enough for us to change hotels while our stay in the city. There are limited options to do in the area as far as entertainment.The closest restaurant is in the plaza and its about a 15 minute walk. I would not recommend walking that route at night. If you are a tourist expect to be harrassed along the way. Women please keep your eyes open. But if you seek adventure and want to risk safety for economy maybe this place is for you. We were really excited in booking this Riad but were sadly dissapointed. Its too bad some locals have to ruin a travellers experience. We travel around the world as much as possible and do our best to blend in with the local customs and respect the culture. But, we tried our best here with the area and it simply was not possible. **If this Riad was in another area. Yes, we would stay again.**

Room Tip: Quiet and peaceful. Get a 2nd floor room. If you walk at night to the Riad. Have your keys in hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed for a week in this lovely Riad, like many properties in this region the outside belies what is behind the door. The interior is clean and very well presented and very representative of the typical decor of the area. It's position is really good being fairly central to many attractions and tourist areas. The staff are really helpful and friendly and will certainly go the extra mile to help if needed, we were more than happy with all aspects of our stay and would recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Marrakesh

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My partner and I were looking for a calm oasis in Marrakech that was both comfortable and welcoming to gay couples.

We found Riad Dar Mimouna to be an ideal choice.

The rooms are spacious enough and well decorated (especially the bathrooms). The central courtyard is traditionally laid out and makes for a brilliant first impression. The free wi-fi access was incredibly useful too.

We had an action packed itinnery and the staff there went out of their way to help us. From restaurants to Hammams and excursions, they were full of helpful suggestions.

We only had dinner at the Riad one night and we were very impressed with the calibre of the food served (meat and veggie options).

The only slight criticism is that the air conditioning in the room (named Rabat) wasn't the most efficient but we didn't mention this to the manager so they didn't have the option of sorting this out for us.

We'd highly reccommend this Riad to any couple, gay or straight looking for an affordable, comfortable place to stay in the Medina (old town).

If you are staying here do make sure to arrange an airport transfer to the Riad though (as we did) as you might find it hard to find otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I would recommend Riad dar Mimouna. This is a traditional riad in the Medina (old town). It is not accessible by car, you need to walk in from the main road, about a 2 minute walk. However this adds to the character of the visit and your experience of life in Marrakech. It is very safe walking about, even at night as it is located in a street right next to the palace, which always has guards around. The riad is beautifully decorated and the rooms are comfortable. There is a lovely rooftop terrace where breakfast is served. It also has a hammam, where you can have a body scrub and massage. My skin never felt so smooth after the body scrub. The staff were only too willing to help. We were taken sick as a result of eating nuts at the market...warning do not eat nuts unless they are packaged. The staff member gave us a treatment to help us and offered to go to the pharmacy for us. On a positive food note, we ate lunch at Riad Omar, which was very traditional and also dinner at the Grand Hotel. We also ate at the food stall at the night market in Jemaa El Fna which was fine. I would also recommend having a drink or food in one of the cafes upstairs which overlook Jemaa El Fna as you get great views. The riad is about a short 10 minute walk to the main square Jemaa El Fna and Koutoubia Mosque. Off Jemaa El Fna are the wonderful souks which give you a true taste of Marrakech, full of bargains of all kinds...lanterns, leather slippers, tagine pots, jewellry, spices and more. Jemaa El Fna comes alive at night time with food stalls and entertainers. Also very close to the riad is the most beautiful gate in Marrakech-Bab Agnaou about a 5 minute walk. I would recommend doing a horse and cart ride, also the hop on hop off bus as this gives you a perspective on both the old and new towns. We also had a camel riding experience which we enjoyed. This was located near the Menara Gardens. As a female I was very concerned about what clothing I should take given the high temperatures and this being a Muslim country. I want to reassure females that tourists do wear singlet tops and some even wore shorts and there were no issues. On the whole I loved the Marrakech experience, it was like stepping back in time into another world. I will look forward to exploring other parts of Morocco in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms are decorated in a traditional style with shower and toilet. We had a room on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Yasmine
Riad Yasmine
#249 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#115 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#156 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Les Lauriers Blancs
Riad Les Lauriers Blancs
#182 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad La Perle de Marrakech
Riad La Perle de Marrakech
#686 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Anya
Riad Anya
#189 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel

Address: Sidi Mimoun Derb Sidi M'Barek, No 151, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #547 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.