We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, difficult to access” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel to your Saves list
Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Sidi Mimoun Derb Sidi M'Barek 151, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #475 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place, difficult to access”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

The riad is lovely, quiet. Staff very friendly, we were carefully attended to.

The taxi drops you near the hospital. (There's no sign of the riad at this point.) Before we were out of the taxi, loitering young men had our bags in hand to take us to the riad. They took us to a nearby riad with a similar name, then back to the correct one. They wanted Euros right away (we had no small bills to pay with - awkward). We paid him in dirham the next day. The same young man and his friends were at the exit to the laneway the entire trip. Best to make friends quickly.
Once we knew where we were, the narrow lane seemed friendlier and more accessible, but the first trip up the lane is very daunting. The massive door opens, and a beautiful riad awaits.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
14
54
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

i never write on these things but really felt the need too. Scary when the taxi droped us off walking down dodgy backstreets, but welcoming host beautiful clean, hard beds but i think thats just how it is there, we got beer on arrival, lovely breakfast, and soon got use to the streets outside we didnt have any bother, great price, would go again.

Room Tip: pool is useable to cool down in but not to swim
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed here only one (1) night. We originally had the room booked for three (3) nights. I want to first say that the hospitality here is very welcoming. The host is very nice and attended us to every need and answered any questions we had. The Riad is beautiful with its traditional design. The upstairs patio is very relaxing and peaceful. The rooms are good. The bedroom was about 200 square ft. The bathroom is small about 25 sq ft. But, here is the downside. Please keep in mind that the taxi cannot drop you off in the front door. You have to walk down the narrow street with minimize lighting in the evening. The street is about a quarter mile long till you get to the Riad on a corner. The front of the narrow street where the taxi drops you off there seems to be a group of kids and young adults that hang out day and night. These particular locals harrassed us both the day and followed us to our Riad at night. We just ignored them at all times hoping they would go away. But they did not. It was enough for us to change hotels while our stay in the city. There are limited options to do in the area as far as entertainment.The closest restaurant is in the plaza and its about a 15 minute walk. I would not recommend walking that route at night. If you are a tourist expect to be harrassed along the way. Women please keep your eyes open. But if you seek adventure and want to risk safety for economy maybe this place is for you. We were really excited in booking this Riad but were sadly dissapointed. Its too bad some locals have to ruin a travellers experience. We travel around the world as much as possible and do our best to blend in with the local customs and respect the culture. But, we tried our best here with the area and it simply was not possible. **If this Riad was in another area. Yes, we would stay again.**

Room Tip: Quiet and peaceful. Get a 2nd floor room. If you walk at night to the Riad. Have your keys in hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed for a week in this lovely Riad, like many properties in this region the outside belies what is behind the door. The interior is clean and very well presented and very representative of the typical decor of the area. It's position is really good being fairly central to many attractions and tourist areas. The staff are really helpful and friendly and will certainly go the extra mile to help if needed, we were more than happy with all aspects of our stay and would recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Marrakesh

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My partner and I were looking for a calm oasis in Marrakech that was both comfortable and welcoming to gay couples.

We found Riad Dar Mimouna to be an ideal choice.

The rooms are spacious enough and well decorated (especially the bathrooms). The central courtyard is traditionally laid out and makes for a brilliant first impression. The free wi-fi access was incredibly useful too.

We had an action packed itinnery and the staff there went out of their way to help us. From restaurants to Hammams and excursions, they were full of helpful suggestions.

We only had dinner at the Riad one night and we were very impressed with the calibre of the food served (meat and veggie options).

The only slight criticism is that the air conditioning in the room (named Rabat) wasn't the most efficient but we didn't mention this to the manager so they didn't have the option of sorting this out for us.

We'd highly reccommend this Riad to any couple, gay or straight looking for an affordable, comfortable place to stay in the Medina (old town).

If you are staying here do make sure to arrange an airport transfer to the Riad though (as we did) as you might find it hard to find otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I would recommend Riad dar Mimouna. This is a traditional riad in the Medina (old town). It is not accessible by car, you need to walk in from the main road, about a 2 minute walk. However this adds to the character of the visit and your experience of life in Marrakech. It is very safe walking about, even at night as it is located in a street right next to the palace, which always has guards around. The riad is beautifully decorated and the rooms are comfortable. There is a lovely rooftop terrace where breakfast is served. It also has a hammam, where you can have a body scrub and massage. My skin never felt so smooth after the body scrub. The staff were only too willing to help. We were taken sick as a result of eating nuts at the market...warning do not eat nuts unless they are packaged. The staff member gave us a treatment to help us and offered to go to the pharmacy for us. On a positive food note, we ate lunch at Riad Omar, which was very traditional and also dinner at the Grand Hotel. We also ate at the food stall at the night market in Jemaa El Fna which was fine. I would also recommend having a drink or food in one of the cafes upstairs which overlook Jemaa El Fna as you get great views. The riad is about a short 10 minute walk to the main square Jemaa El Fna and Koutoubia Mosque. Off Jemaa El Fna are the wonderful souks which give you a true taste of Marrakech, full of bargains of all kinds...lanterns, leather slippers, tagine pots, jewellry, spices and more. Jemaa El Fna comes alive at night time with food stalls and entertainers. Also very close to the riad is the most beautiful gate in Marrakech-Bab Agnaou about a 5 minute walk. I would recommend doing a horse and cart ride, also the hop on hop off bus as this gives you a perspective on both the old and new towns. We also had a camel riding experience which we enjoyed. This was located near the Menara Gardens. As a female I was very concerned about what clothing I should take given the high temperatures and this being a Muslim country. I want to reassure females that tourists do wear singlet tops and some even wore shorts and there were no issues. On the whole I loved the Marrakech experience, it was like stepping back in time into another world. I will look forward to exploring other parts of Morocco in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms are decorated in a traditional style with shower and toilet. We had a room on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Nothing but good words for Riad Dar Mimouna.
My boyfriend has stayed in various 5 star hotels all over the world through work and said he has never felt so welcomed as we did at this Riad.

Very hospitable and helpful staff. After checking in, maps of the area are provided along with mint tea and biscuits on the terrace. It was raining the first night we arrived and an umberella was ready and waiting for when we went out! At one point did not have small change to pay something and one of the staff lent us 20dirhams till we could break up larger notes, these small gestures really made us feel welcomed.

Beautiful and well looked after, the whole Riad is clean and tidy with very authentic decor the whole way through.

The Hamman is a must, my skin has never felt so nice!

Like other comments at first you wonder what is in store the first time you walk down the pathway to the Riad, but do not let this worry you - I felt safe the whole time as there are always locals walking around.

Riad Dar Mimouna is only a short walk from most attractions in Marrakech,
Would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel

Address: Sidi Mimoun Derb Sidi M'Barek 151, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #475 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Mimouna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.