We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Atta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Atta to your Saves list
Riad Dar Atta
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   28 Rue Rmila | Derb Raouia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #752 of 1,066 Marrakech B&B and Inns
london
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“great staff, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of November.
Things we liked -
1. Andy and the rest of the staff - all very friendly and happy to chat and give tips of what to do. Offered us use of their internet and booked excursions for us. We didn't even mind being woken up by guitar and singing late at night because it was all part of the atmosphere and made me feel like I was on my gap year again (and thus 20 years younger!)
2. the homemade coffee - bought 1kg and it tastes good even when drinking outside of Morocco.
3. the location - easy walk to main square, attractions etc
4. breakfast - although after 4 days we were ready for a change
5. day trip arranged through Splash Morocco to a Berber house, wobbly bridge, herb farm/shop, trek to waterfall, restaurant and including a camel ride. Great day out of the city.

Not so good
1. decor - is all a bit tired, although the mice seemed to like it. rooms were ok, clean but basic. towells were rough.
2. costs - £20 from airport feels like we were being taken advantage of not knowing it is less than a 10 minute journey. £10 back to airport is still on the high side compared to taxis and when the driver also went in to pick someone else up...£30 for a 20 min round trip...!
3. carpet shop on the day trip - could do without stopping here as it was quite a "salesy" place and the only time where we felt pressurised.

Overall this accomodation is "good" but made very good by the friendly staff..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Dar Atta. We had a lower room the first night and were then moved to a quieter room near the top of the riad which was beautiful! The rooms were spacious, clean, and very comfortable.
We really enjoyed the hamman and the staff are amazing. Andy and Marcie are extremely helpful and made the stay enjoyable and entertaining.
The riad is located very close to the main square and souks which was very handy.
Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

we had a fabulous time staying at Dar Atta - we all thought the rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable and the Riad itself was peaceful and relaxing. We had no complaints - the breakfasts were fine (could have had fresh orange juice though). The riad is in a great location, close to the square but still quiet. The best bits were the hammam and the staff - Andy and Marcie were very welcoming and really went out of their way to welcome us and help us with our trip.
We would all definately go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The great staff and friendly service make this comfortable Riad feel like your own home. Located just on the edge of the Medina means you can loose yourself in the souks within minutes but still easily find your way back home at night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I cannot stress how helpful Andy and the team were during our stay at Dar Atta. From the very first they looked after us and made us feel at home in the beautiful surroundings. We had booked the 3 night kgb deal, however Andy had no problem with us changing our plans and splitting our stay into 3 single nights rather than 3 consecutive. They were very knowledgeable about Marrakech and the rest of the country, and gave us some very good advice about where we should head to next.

The rooms were large and well finsihed, and there is a great chill out area downstairs or a roof terrace for a bit of sun bathing. The breakfast is very bread based, but once we told them my friend was gluten intolerant they provided fruit and yogurt for her. The only tiny niggle is that the towels and robes provided were a bit scratchy, but this seemed to be the same everywhere we stayed in Morocco.

Once again, thanks to Andy, Ismail and Ali for being such great hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had an awesome 3 days in Marrakech thanks to Andy, Ismail and Ali! We found the well located Riad very easily and were greeted by the very friendly and helpful Andy who upgraded us to a a massive suite! The riad itself ticks all the boxes - well located, small enough to be personal but not too small, amazing staff, clean and quiet. It is not a super high end luxury boutique hotel ( and doesn't claim to be) so as a mid to high range Riad I cannot fault it one bit. The staff go out of their way to help you ( so far as helping us track down camera equipment) and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts ( standard Morrocan pancake, bread, coffee and juice) were lovely each morning and the in house hammam is highly recommended! Andy was an awesome host and made us feel very much at home and we would gladly go back. Thanks guys!!

Room Tip: Book the Hammam - it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

10/10 to the professional photographer who took the promotional photos of Riad Dar Atta, as the reality is nothing like them. We found it to be very tired and dirty. The bathrobe, towels and bed linen were of a very poor standard, with stains and tears. Many facilities in the room did not work, and this was normal. We had the "Grand Suite" and paid £140 extra for not much extra. The riad was like hostel accommodation and the KGB "deal" of 73% off was in fact what the riad should be, although you can find many better riads and hotels far cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Atta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Atta

Address: 28 Rue Rmila | Derb Raouia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #752 of 1,066 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Atta 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Atta is a traditional house, located in Médina de Marrakech very close to the Jamaa-el-fna place and the minaret of Koutoubia. Dar Atta is composed of 3 shifted stages where 8 rooms are double (or triple) and 2 continuations which open on pleasant a patio. All these rooms are equipped with bathroom and offer to the visitors a real comfort in a style inspired of the Moroccan South. Moreover, 6 of these rooms profit from air-conditioner, or to fully benefit from the long sunny days. Inside Dar, a very beautiful hammam traditional as well as a room of massage is at the disposal of the hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Atta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Atta Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Atta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.