We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used the Hammam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Mogador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jnane Mogador to your Saves list
Jnane Mogador
116 Riad Zitoune Kedim | Derb Sidi Bouloukat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #604 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Used the Hammam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This rating is based on the hammam, not the hotel!

Unfortunately, there was no room left in this quaint hotel, so we stayed down the street at the Hotel Essaouira, which was cheap and clean, but not as nice as this hotel. The staff here were friendly and we enjoyed a drink in the hotel restaurant.

We did go the hammam here and it was...well, scary. The staff person basically threw water on us from a bucket several times, then proceeded to scrub us down with a used scrubbie, same one for all three of us (and who knows who before us). She also washed our feet before our face, which was totally gross. it was not a hygenic experience at all. I had to wash my face and shower afterward because i felt dirty. The assistant was very rough and it was not at all a relaxing experience, although it was interesting. I recommend bringing your own scrub glove (they sell them all over the place in the souk) or go to a higher rated hammam.

My rating is based on the hammam and NOT the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    140
    43
    20
    19
See reviews for
45
110
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

As other reviewers have said, this riad is beautifully designed and decorated, and the staff are incredibly helpful and welcoming. The restaurant up top serves affordable and very tasty traditional Moroccan cuisine. Our room was very comfortable, and the hot showers were great. I have no hesitation in recommending Jnane Mogador, and I would definitely stay again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Beautifully decorated Riad 2 minute walk away from Jnane Mogador. The staff are friendly and very welcoming, and the rooms are cozy and very affordable. The showers have lovely hot water! The restaraunt on the patio offers a nice view of the area, and offers both indoor and outdoor seating. The food is typical Moroccan (Tagines etc) and is very tasty. We stayed twice during our trip to Morocco, a week apart, and enjoyed ourselves greatly.
My only complaint is that the rooms have no insulation and you can hear the goings-on outside, and you must keep pretty quiet yourselves!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is only a short walk from the main square in Medina (Jamel Fnaa) making it an ideal location to explore the key sites on foot. It is a typical riad style with a pretty central courtyard and rooms off. Our room was an adequate size (not big, but not too small to be cramped either) and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Lovely riad very close to Jemaa el Fna and the souks. Though we stayed at Hotel Aday, we frequently came to Jnane Mogador for dinner and tea as the prices are very reasonable (about 100 dirham (10 euros) per person for a 2 course meal and drinks), the service is great and staff are friendly & helpful. We also used the Hammam here one night which I recommend to anyone visiting! I would definitely stay here on my next visit as its a beautiful riad and has all you need.. as well as being very close to all the main spots of the city!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ano Siros, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

For those of you interested in Jnane Mogador: next to the word "hospitality" in the dictionary you will find a picture of this Ryad. This small palace can show the world how a good tourism business must be run.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This really excellent value riad is extremely conveniently located near the southeast corner of Medina. The rooms are comfortable and the staff is extremely courteous and helpful. Very typical riad configuration, the rooms are comfortable, not large, but a fantastic value. We never ate there since it is conveniently located to many cafes and restaurants directly on the Riad Zitoune Kedim or in the Medina itself. I'd definitely come back here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#263 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#251 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad et Palais des Princesses
Riad et Palais des Princesses
#169 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#177 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Layla Rouge
Riad Layla Rouge
#233 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
#594 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Mogador

Address: 116 Riad Zitoune Kedim | Derb Sidi Bouloukat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #604 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old imperial city, 70 metres from Djemaa El Fna Square, Riad Jnane Mogador offers a Moroccan restaurant, a spa and wellness centre. It also has a furnished terrace with views of the Medina and Atlas Mountains. All of the rooms at Riad Jnane Mogador are decorated in a Moroccan style. They all include a satellite TV and a private bathroom with free toiletries. A Moroccan breakfast is available every morning. Dishes such as Couscous or Pastille de Poulet can be sampled in the restaurant on site. After lunch, you can use free Wi-Fi access. It is 300 metres from Musee Marrakech and 1.7 km from the train station. The airport is 4 km away from the riad. There is a public car park at a location nearby, available at a surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jnane Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Mogador Marrakech
Jnane Mogador Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnane Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.