We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Mogador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jnane Mogador to your Saves list
Jnane Mogador
116 Riad Zitoune Kedim | Derb Sidi Bouloukat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #593 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Jnane mogador is a very nice riad in the heart of marrakesh's old medina and only like 3 min away by foot of djeema ef na.

The terrace on the roof offers the possibility of taking a break from the noisy business on the streets and enjoy breakfast, coffee, tea, etc. at reasonable prices.

Service is super friendly and always willing to help.

Rooms are nice, clean and offer enough space and comfort to find a good night sleep.

The hammam (berber) was very nice and afterwards we got some real taint.

Only the rooms on the first floor maybe a little bit noisy in the morning due to the architecture of the riad.

But even without oropacks we had no problem.

Since we didn't make a reservation we had to move to their sister riad essaouira 50 meters down the alley. It was not that nice as in mogador but instead of 480dirham we only had to pay 380mad and the room was bigger.

Mogador is highly recommended for all sorts of people except shady drug tourists.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    143
    43
    20
    19
See reviews for
48
110
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After a day getting lost in the souks, a familiar face, a serene roof and a mint tea is what you need to come home too! We made a home in the Jnane Mogador Riad during our 8 day stay in Marakesh!

Great locations and accommodation for the price.

Start the day with a great breakfast, eggs set you up for the adventure that lies ahead!

You'll get lost finding the place, luckily we were greeted at the airport!

We organised an over night excursion through the friendly reception staff and highly recommend a sleepover in the Sahara!

Clean, simple, easy stay in an hectic city! A welcomed break from the chaos all around the place!

Thanks again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked at the last minute and there was one room left so we took that. the rrom was tiny, but it was clean, the staff was friendly and the restaurant staff very friendly. We only had breakfast there but it felt like th lunch and dinner could be great.

Also, they were gay-neutral, no hassle there (we were very quiet though).

The location is super central, hassling crowds but convenient to visit the main sights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very friendly staff, charming hotel with roofterrace with spectacular view over Marrakech, good value for money, 2 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna, Service excellent, they arranged a taxi from and to the airport. Very nice and fresh breakfast for 3,5 euro (35 dirham).
We really recommend this hotel. Only little negative point: beds are small and with metal frame (2 one-person's beds next to eachother, no double beds, allthough I don't know if it's like this in all the rooms. But still a very pleasant place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piemonte
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The riad is located in a very good place, very close to the square Djemaa el Fnà, it's but at a minute walk and from its terrace you'll hear the music and the voices rising up from the very square. To get to the riad becomes very complicated if you arrive from the opposite side of the medina: you won't get the way by yourself, as the taxi cannot enter the narrow streets there. The riad looks like a fortress from outside, while inside it offers a nice glance to the Moroccan architecture and furniture, at least in the patio. My room on the ground floor was rather dark, cold and not very clean and all the noise from the nearby street entered the room. The most disappointing issue was the unreliability of the personnel as I got the feeling of being cheated all the time. Eventually, I paid more than they offered me (and wrote me) when I booked the room, though I ignore the reason. Inside the riad there is a restaurant with cosy sofas and a nice terrace with a view on the medina of Marrakesh. The diner was ordinary, I expected much better dishes, while the breakfast was fair and rich.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this Riad. It was very central and all the major attractions of central Marrakesh were in easy walking distance. Loads of restaurants quickly available.However the food here is good too. Beautiful central courtyard and the rooms were basic but comfortable and large. Very nice courtyard on the 3rd floor if you wanted a quiet place to read, have a coffee or just relax. The wi fi worked!
Negatives. Our room was on the street and was noisy at night with the windows open. Close them and its too hot!
We had to pay cash. No visa or eftpos available

Room Tip: Away from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked this riad based on recommendations on Trip Advisor and price. From what I've seen and heard from other people it's a pretty standard riad - a handful of rooms surrounding a courtyard in traditional Moroccan style - but it's excellent value and the location, a couple of minutes' walk from the main square and within walking distance of most of the main attractions, can't be faulted. Booking was a bit of a hassle - an elaborate system of transferring money via Western Union and sending a series of anxious emails to check it had actually been received, then arriving in Morocco and wondering if we did in fact have somewhere to stay or had been the victims of a not-very-elaborate scam - but we needn't have worried! I personally wouldn't recommend pre-booking a taxi from the airport through the riad in advance, which dropped us off on the edge of the main square then handed us over to a chap with a wheelbarrow who wheeled our bags to the riad via an unnecessarily elaborate route as we trotted behind, before asking us for money. In fact the riad is very close to the square, down a little road in the corner, and fairly easy to find.

The rooms were pretty and perfectly comfortable, with good wifi access. The shower was also surprisingly good, given that, due to the layout of the bathroom, you practically had to perch on the edge of the loo to use it. Some reviews said it was noisy at night - we overlooked the street and yes, there was some noise, but we found it quite atmospheric, and we wouldn't have expected peace and quite in such a buzzing part of the city! We ate an evening meal in the restaurant which was very nice, though the service was a bit disappointing. I loved the breakfast, which was a strange collection of foods including pancakes with honey, croissants, yoghurt, orange juice and bread, bought in elaborate, tiny courses, but I wouldn't recommend eating on the terrace as the wasps drove us crazy! The view from the terrace in the early evening is stunning, with ample photo opportunities of the sun setting behind the Koutoubia Mosque.

One of the highlights of our holiday was a daytrip to Essaouira, booked through the riad. It was much cheaper than any of the big travel companies was offering, and great if (like us) you don't really want to be talked at all day. Far from being talked at and dragged around obligatory sites, we were dropped in the middle of Essaouira and asked when we wanted to be picked up again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#264 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#253 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#167 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#186 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#377 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Eden
Riad Eden
#266 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Mogador

Address: 116 Riad Zitoune Kedim | Derb Sidi Bouloukat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #593 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old imperial city, 70 metres from Djemaa El Fna Square, Riad Jnane Mogador offers a Moroccan restaurant, a spa and wellness centre. It also has a furnished terrace with views of the Medina and Atlas Mountains. All of the rooms at Riad Jnane Mogador are decorated in a Moroccan style. They all include a satellite TV and a private bathroom with free toiletries. A Moroccan breakfast is available every morning. Dishes such as Couscous or Pastille de Poulet can be sampled in the restaurant on site. After lunch, you can use free Wi-Fi access. It is 300 metres from Musee Marrakech and 1.7 km from the train station. The airport is 4 km away from the riad. There is a public car park at a location nearby, available at a surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jnane Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Mogador Marrakech
Jnane Mogador Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnane Mogador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.