We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquillity in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zarraba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Zarraba to your Saves list
Dar Zarraba
Douar Akarra | Tassoultant, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #301 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sherborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tranquillity in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We have just returned from staying for 4 nights in the above hotel. It is situated about 20 minutes outside Marrakech en route to the Atlas Mountains. It is set in amongst olive trees and has a very Berber feel about it all. The staff could not have been more helpful and were wonderful with children. The Patron, Michel, organised a great trip for us to the Atlas Mountains and provided us with an excellent English speaking guide and driver. After the hectic atmosphere of Marrakech it was wonderful to stay there - it was not a modern resort but had a wonderfully authentic atmosphere. The food was very good and you could have all your meals there, mostly served outside or sitting in Arabic tents. We can thoroughly recommend Dar Zarraba.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed much of a muchness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    28
    2
    7
    3
See reviews for
55
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heemstede, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We felt so lucky with this location and experience. The wheater was beautiful, like spring/summer, even breakfast in the sun. And everywhere we looked it was beautiful; flowers, birds, wonderful food, citrustrees. Everyday we walked around and found new details. Except for exceptional sunsets you see the mountains als a nice decor.The service was more than excellent, nothing to much and really enthousiastic. We stayed there with our son of two years old, he loved the donkey en fed him every day with leaves. The place is near by the city, complete contrast, really quiet and if you walk outsite the gate you see more of an authentic village.
We did some trips, the owner has a fine nose for people and also the driver was very nice and trustworthy. Anyway we stayed for a week, it felt like a month and if we have the change we definately come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I travelled to marrakesh on our honeymoon and being our first time we were slightly apprehensive about the stay. So we were pleasantly surprised with our choice of dar zarraba which was perfect for what we were looking for and made our honeymoon even more special. The location is beautiful, just on the outskirts but not far from marrakesh. The owner and staff were very friendly and polite despite the communication gap with english, french and arabic. The food was delicious and added to the authentic moroccan experience we were looking for.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

What a wonderful hotel. Quite surroundings (apart from the 4am call to prayer, which is quite relaxing after a few days) set in amazing gardens. The rooms are just the right size and very chic. Ours faced the pool with a small terrace area where you had a little privacy. The hotel manager and staff could not do enough for us. I decided to propose to my girlfriend on the roof terrace so Michele and the waiters prepared a romantic banquit for me and helped me arrange a few other things. I wish all hotels were like the Dar Zarabba.
Its a fair way out of town but after a day in the souks its paradise. The breakfasts are also somethign quite special. Its a quite place so if your into stella and egg 'n chips stay away.
Liam + Emma

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

I went for 4 nights to Dar Zarraba with my husband and daughter of 16 months.
All the days we had lunch and diner at Dar Zarraba, the food was fresh, simple often but delicious. The taxidriver Jemel who was arranged by the hotel was really good. He was flexibel what we really appreciated because we were with our little girl. The drive to Marrakech was 10 euro. The staf of Dar Zarraba (Khalid and his co workers) were really friendly and there service was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

A really lovely place to relax at the beginning of our Holiday before moving to the Medina. The gardens and pool are beautiful and it is so quiet and peaceful - the only thing to wake you is the call to prayer from the local mosque - but you can't avoid that anywhere in Morocco. The food is also lovely.

Michel and the staff were really friendly and helpful in organising taxis etc. I would suggest you don't try to do your whole trip to Marrakech from here but use it as a beautiful getaway in the countryside.

If you go in February then take a warm jumper as the weather was hit and miss for us and it would have been nice to have the pool warm enough to use - it would be fine from March - October though. However we can't blame the hotel for the weather!

We were already talking about going back before we had left.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

I'm often tentative about booking hotels outside of the city I intend to visit, but since staying at Dar Zarraba, I'm very glad I did! Everything about the place was perfect, from the staff, to the food to the place itself. Having breakfast outside your room, the pool being a handful of steps from your room and the attentiveness of the staff are all little luxuries you can enjoy, and at good value too. It should be noted that breakfast, lunch and dinner are all additional costs, as well as the bottle of water they'll provide you with each meal. There is also the option of a bottle of wine if you ask for it. If I return to this part of Morocco again, I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Zarraba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zarraba

Address: Douar Akarra | Tassoultant, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zarraba is a guest house where we do our best to create a hearty and familyatmosphere in the genuine tradition of the guest houses in MarrakechFacing the Atlas mountains, among the olive trees with Marrakech just a few minutes away, this is authentic Morocco in Berber countryDar Zarraba is a plce where we shall try, discreetly, to share with you our love of this country and its inhabitants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Zarraba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zarraba Marrakech
Dar Zarraba Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Zarraba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.