We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Tchaikana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Tchaikana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dar Tchaikana to your Saves list
Dar Tchaikana
25 Derb El Ferane, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Thank you Tchaikana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My partner and I spent an amazing 9 days in Tchaikana. The team behind this wonderful riad were nothing but welcoming, helpful, kind and friendly. This really is a fantastic riad that I highly recommend to everyone I know. Only after a couple of days of staying there it really becomes a home away from home. The rooms are lovely, the atmosphere is calming and true to Moroccan style. The food is moreish and the service is always with a smile. If you want a great place to stay - look no further.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
106
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Tchaikana is wonderful! Barbara (the hostess) and her staff of lovely ladies couldn't do enough to make our stay perfect. The Riad is beautifully decorated, a haven of tranquillity. Arriving in the hall, the walls are hung with stunning black and white portraits of Moroccans, taken by Barbara's husband. The hall opens up to a central courtyard of orange trees, a plunge pool, tables for dinner and big relaxing white chairs and sofas. Soft drinks and nibbles were always available and tea and coffee on request. Breakfast was served on the fabulous roof terrace where we sipped freshly squeezed orange juice in the sun whilst looking at the snow covered Atlas mountains. Each day the breakfast was a little different - all home cooked and absolutely delicious. Barbara joined us every morning to chat, check that everything was Ok and see if she could offer us any advice. She had already, on the first morning, escorted us through the souks to the main square, Jemma El Fna, pointing out 'visual clues' on the way so we wouldn't get lost. The riad is very close to the the main square, so we didn't. Our evening meal at the riad was the best we had in our four day stay. Our room, a suite, was very spacious and fitted with ceiling fans. The beds were wonderfully comfortable and the bathroom large. As we were there in March, in the evening Habib lit the fire in our suite - we spent a wonderful late evening chatting in comfy chairs enjoying the warmth. All in all we had a wonderful stay at Tchaikana and I would definitely return. Thank you to Barbara and all her fabulous staff.

Room Tip: I stayed in a suite with two other friends. There was a large double bed and the staf made up two si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Tchaikana

Arriving at Tchaikana, after reading an amazing review, exceeded expectations . I didn't expect a Riad located within the main souk to be so light, & peaceful. Tchaikana manages to maintain the authenticity of a traditional riad, with warmly scented orange tress providing a shady canopy within the heart of the riad,home made cakes, mint tea and gentle friendly smiling staff. With its stylish minimalist designs of carved dark wood objects against, cool stone white washed walls covered with beautiful photography, all goes to provide a complimentary chic contrast and a feeling like you have stumbled accidentally across some bohemian place to be.

Make sure you stay in for Attika's amazing cooking and spend a lazy afternoon in the sunshine on the terrace.

Tchaikana is a place I would recommended although I wish I could keep it as my secret getaway :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've just returned from an amazing week long stay at the Rhiad Tchaikana over the february half term break. We consisted of a group of 4 girls in their twenties. We were really impressed with the traditional yet modern decor, spacious rooms and beautiful touches throughout the hotel. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and the bathrooms had beautiful touches like the black morrocan soap, orange blossom moisturiser and this dry mud stuff which you could mix with water to make a face mask or body scrub.
From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for Barbara to organise for us. We arrived to a delicious 3 course meal in the evening for 15 euros, consisiting of soup, lamb tagine (with the most gorgeous stuffed peaches with almonds and dates) cous cous and freshly baked bread, followed by creme caramel.
In fact, we ended up eating at the Rhiad 4 out of the 7 nights we stayed simply because the food was so beautiful. (They would take hours to prepare and cook the meals during the day, unlike the restaurants who make even the tagines as quickly as possible) We also ate at the Cafe Arab and the night market.
Barbara organised for us to take a day trip to the coast, a trip to the Atlas mountains to eat in a Berber village, a camel trek near the mountains, a traditional Hamman nearby and an amazing cookery class at Le Maison Arabe. The cookery class was 600 Dirham, but well worth it, as we went to a spice shop and were taught so much, then ate our dishes, recieved the recipes and best of all were given a gift at the end- A TAGINE FOR 2!!
We were all incredibly sad to leave, especially as we'd grown incredibly fond of Bushra. (I hope I spelt her name correctly) She's been working there for 8 years or so, and made us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Yuba room with a friend. It was beautiful. There was a double bed and a single bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Tchaikana for 3 days this February. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by a lady called Baboush who was fantastic and very helpful. She gave us some great advice and walked us to the restaurant so that we would not get lost on the first evening. The owner (Barbara) helped us navigate our way around Marrakech and was more than happy to drop everything if we got lost in the Souks!! Barbara was also a great source of knowledge for restaurants, highlights in Marrakech and local spa's. I would highly recommend this Riad to anyone and have already recommended to my close friends. We loved it so much that we are taking our family back there next year and have already booked!!

Room Tip: We thought the rooms upstairs in the Riad were lovely but to be honest, all of them were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We arrived at Dar Tchaikana in the middle of the night after weeks of traveling and as soon as we walked in we knew that we came to the right place. The moment we stepped into the Riad there was a instant sense of calmness. We stayed in the Yuba room and were not disappointed! The room was immaculate. The owner Barbara has exceptional style which is seen throughout the riad (the pictures don't lie).

Beyond the room we enjoyed the daily breakfast which included delicious homemade chocolate cake, traditional pancakes, jams and freshly squeezed orange juice. We also had dinner at the Riad several nights and all I can say is - delicious! We ate outside the riad but hands down nothing compared to the home cooked meals prepared by the wonderful staff of Tchaikana. That coupled with the beautiful surroundings of the riad made each meal memorable.

But what really set Tchaikana apart was the attention and service provided by Barbara and her staff. From day one Barbara met with us to help plan out our trip/activities. She even walked us into the Souk on our first day to make sure we knew the way. She also met with us each morning to help make reservations for that day or just to ensure that we were finding things alright. Her recommendations were flawless - everything from lunch to hammamas to museums to day trips - everything was spot on and well organized. She was even so kind as to give us a recommendation of a restaurant in Toulouse France which was our next stop and was even willing to call and make the reservation. Even that meal was outstanding!

We can't say enough about Dar Tchaikana, it was the perfect place to come back to after a hectic day in the Souks or just exploring Marrakech. The staff was extremely helpful and kind and Barbara was a fantastic host. We can wait to go back and will be dreaming of our return until then.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Understated elegance in this authentic renovated hotel. An oasis from hectic medina with lovely staff and fresh mint tea anytime.
As with every riad in the medina, it is hard to find, however staff have been helpful and could pick you up from restaurants or take you to the main square. Rooms are very unique and individual so it feels more like staying in someone's house rather than a hotel, which was great to experience. I did not try the food there but it did look delicious, however we did get recommendations for the best restaurants in town.
Good value for money as well. Breakfast was lovely, Fatima's pancakes and fresh coffee. BOOK now.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Tchaikana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tchaikana

Address: 25 Derb El Ferane, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Tchaikana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Tchaikana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Tchaikana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.