We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Riad in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Tchaikana

Save Saved
You added Dar Tchaikana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Tchaikana
25 Derb El Ferane, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Riad in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Tchaikana for 3 days this February. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by a lady called Baboush who was fantastic and very helpful. She gave us some great advice and walked us to the restaurant so that we would not get lost on the first evening. The owner (Barbara) helped us navigate our way around Marrakech and was more than happy to drop everything if we got lost in the Souks!! Barbara was also a great source of knowledge for restaurants, highlights in Marrakech and local spa's. I would highly recommend this Riad to anyone and have already recommended to my close friends. We loved it so much that we are taking our family back there next year and have already booked!!

Room Tip: We thought the rooms upstairs in the Riad were lovely but to be honest, all of them were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
94
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We arrived at Dar Tchaikana in the middle of the night after weeks of traveling and as soon as we walked in we knew that we came to the right place. The moment we stepped into the Riad there was a instant sense of calmness. We stayed in the Yuba room and were not disappointed! The room was immaculate. The owner Barbara has exceptional style which is seen throughout the riad (the pictures don't lie).

Beyond the room we enjoyed the daily breakfast which included delicious homemade chocolate cake, traditional pancakes, jams and freshly squeezed orange juice. We also had dinner at the Riad several nights and all I can say is - delicious! We ate outside the riad but hands down nothing compared to the home cooked meals prepared by the wonderful staff of Tchaikana. That coupled with the beautiful surroundings of the riad made each meal memorable.

But what really set Tchaikana apart was the attention and service provided by Barbara and her staff. From day one Barbara met with us to help plan out our trip/activities. She even walked us into the Souk on our first day to make sure we knew the way. She also met with us each morning to help make reservations for that day or just to ensure that we were finding things alright. Her recommendations were flawless - everything from lunch to hammamas to museums to day trips - everything was spot on and well organized. She was even so kind as to give us a recommendation of a restaurant in Toulouse France which was our next stop and was even willing to call and make the reservation. Even that meal was outstanding!

We can't say enough about Dar Tchaikana, it was the perfect place to come back to after a hectic day in the Souks or just exploring Marrakech. The staff was extremely helpful and kind and Barbara was a fantastic host. We can wait to go back and will be dreaming of our return until then.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Understated elegance in this authentic renovated hotel. An oasis from hectic medina with lovely staff and fresh mint tea anytime.
As with every riad in the medina, it is hard to find, however staff have been helpful and could pick you up from restaurants or take you to the main square. Rooms are very unique and individual so it feels more like staying in someone's house rather than a hotel, which was great to experience. I did not try the food there but it did look delicious, however we did get recommendations for the best restaurants in town.
Good value for money as well. Breakfast was lovely, Fatima's pancakes and fresh coffee. BOOK now.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Tchaikana is a peaceful retreat from the busyness of the streets of Marrakech. Barbara was a very welcoming and helpful host - she helped us navigate the medina and also helped us with our travel arrangements. The rest of the staff were also very welcoming and helpful.

If you are staying at a good Riad in Morocco, do yourself a favour and eat in. Not only is it quiet and peaceful, but you can taste delicious traditional food cooked by locals. We had dinner twice at Tchaikana and it was fantastic. Breakfasts, served on the rooftop, included fresh orange juice and local breads.

We hope to return some day. It was a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this haven of tranquility in the midst of the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Barabara, the owner, her husband Jean - Louis and the team of staff go out of their way to provide an exceptional standard of service, which is discreet and very much led by the guest. The riad has been beautifully and tastefully renovated, with simple but stylish rooms, a cool courtyard with orange and tangerine trees where you can relax on comfortable couches and evening meals are served and a roof garden with stunning views to the Atlas mountains where breakfast is served. The website is accurate and gives an real 'feel' for the atmosphere and facilities, down to the fabulous cakes which were served each day. We are already planning a return visit with friends - what more can I say!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Tchaikana takes pride in offering a great service tailored to individual needs. A real desire
to understand a clients interests is hard to find and the owners and staff at the Tchaikana simply make it all work for you. Relaxed, friendly and knowledgable - the team provides a great support in a challenging city. Clean modern design and simple home cooking are further additions that make this Riad a quality solution in Marrakech. Thanks to you all for making our visit a successful one.

Room Tip: Although all of the rooms are very nice, the suites are more special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent here 3 nights. Everything was well managed, transportation, dinner, rooms, excursions... Barbara, the owner, and all entourage at the riad is special in helping you to really enjoy the time there. Since the first contact by e-mail to make the reservation and to arrange the trip Barbara was very kind in giving all the information and the reassurances we needed, then once arrived she showed the key point of references to visit the souk without getting lost. The only single weak point is the tiny allay to reach the riad...once inside is really a beautiful and peaceful place!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Tchaikana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tchaikana

Address: 25 Derb El Ferane, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dar Tchaikana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Tchaikana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Tchaikana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.