We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Tchaikana

Save Saved
You added Dar Tchaikana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Tchaikana
25 Derb El Ferane, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Simply Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A haven of peace and relaxation in the midst of the joyful tumult of the Medina only a hop skip and not even a jump from the Jemaa el Fna place.
The hosts are extremely accommodating and helpful without being obsequious (the French touch) and they speak very good English so there's no worries on that front. The trips they proposed and organised were great value not only for money but also for the soul (We especially recommend the desert stay). The rooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet (something I wouldn't have thought possible in the middle of the Medina!) The meals are a great lot better in taste and quality than most of the meals you find in the restaurants nearby (real honest to goodness Moroccan home cooking) and are a bargain to boot!
All in all you feel like an honored guest and not just a tourist with money for the take, and that, is worth more than everything.
We recommend this Riad to anyone looking for the REAL Morocco in the best conditions.
Caroll and Gary from Manly, Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
94
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

In February this year we spent five intense days in Marrakech, soaking up its crowded alleys, buzzing souks, chaotic traffic and shouting hagglers.

...And if it hadn't been for Riad Tchaikana, our peaceful oasis in the midst of all that craziness, we may not have hacked the fast pace! Breakfast on the roof terrace with a view across rooftops to the Atlas Mountains. Romantic dinners cooked by the riad's own Bushra with market produce of the day, served under the orange trees in the beautiful courtyard. And the rooms, the balconies, the stylish decor, the colours, the lighting! Everything was perfect - simple yet intricate, contemporary and fresh yet unmistakably Moroccan.

Barbara and Jean-Louis were brilliant, on hand every day to provide advice, book restaurants and hammams, and even helped organise our trip to the Atlas mountains. Their lovely staff were just as faultless, drawing maps for us and even talking us through their Tagine recipes with the most personal service imaginable.

I simply can't recommend this place enough!

Please note that we had to transfer a deposit ahead of our visit, and pay the rest in cash. Don't be put off by this - they're genuine!

I wrote a blog post about Tchaikana - follow the link to see my photographs of it...
http://urbanconfidential.blogspot.co.uk/2012/09/riad-tchaikana.html

Vicky & Greg

Room Tip: We loved Kinshasa - it is above the courtyard so gives you more privacy. However, all the rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived in Marrakech after traveling in Fes and Casablanca and had experienced some ups and downs when it came to our accommodations. We arrived at Tchaikana after wandering through the old medina and we were not sure what to expect. When the doors opened and we stood among the orange trees and heard the birds chirping I knew that I was not going to want to leave this little slice of paradise. We knew ahead of time that the smaller room we intended to book was not available but Barbara was extremely easy to work with and offered us one of the large suites for the same price. Both rooms, the large suite and the room for 2 were beautifully decorated and amazingly cool (we slept under blankets) even though it was quite hot during our stay. We enjoyed a dinner by Tchaikana on our first night, it was excellent. One of the best deals in Morocco! Everyone was extremely kind and helpful. Marrakech is such busy bustling place it was a great comfort to be able to return home to such a peaceful eden. There is no question that I will come again to Tchaikana!

Room Tip: The suites are enormous and while they are a bit more expensive, they are quite afforable if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

What a superb riad. It really felt like a home away from home. Barbara and all the staff were very welcoming and helpful with advice on Marrakech and surrounding areas. The rooms are all incredible, the breakfast each morning was always a delight and the dinner cooked for us on our first night remained the best meal we had throughout our time in Morocco. We have been and will continue to recommend Tchaikana to anyone planning on travelling to Marrakech.

Room Tip: The Kinhasa room was by far our favourite and value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I really loved my stay at the Dar Tchaikana. Barbara who owns the hotel takes each new arrival through the Medina and shows them around. This is a very lovely personal touch. All the staff are warm and help where they can. They know all the cool places in Marrakech and helped us figure out what do do while we were there. All their suggestions were gold. The breakfast on the roof terrace is yummy and the rooms are chic, large and beautifully decorated. A quiet oasis in a bustling town. It is run by an all female team and feels very secure and safe.

I happened to forget my phone and the staff deftly helped send it back by hand via a trusted friend. I can't say enough how grateful I was with how this was resolved. It topped off what was a fantastic stay. Even though I was back home they still treated me like an honored guest and made sure that my phone also got home safely. A very special touch.

I strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were staying 2 nights & we enjoyed every bit of it! Wounderful relaxing atmosphere. Barbara and her husband have not only made sure that we felt comfortable but in fact helped us tremendously to plan our trip - calling hotels and checking web sites for us. Thanks again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We booked this riad on a friend's very strong recommendation, based on his experience under a previous manager.

Thank goodness we did! It was our first trip to Morocco and we were not very well prepared, but the owners, Barbara and Jean-Louis, and thier manager Bouchra saved us with amazing help and advice during our five-night stay with them. Nothing was too much trouble. As well as day-trips, transfers and local restaurants, they arranged and booked for us a wonderful six-day onward trip across the Atlas mountains and in to the desert, complete with overnight stops and meals. We have no direct experience of the previous manager, but I can't imagine anything better than the new top-team.

The Riad itself is lovely: a cool, quiet, comfortable and relaxed oasis in the heart of the medina. Barbara gave us a guided tour to the main square with very clear (and essential) pointers to landmarks so we could find our way back, and we had an excellent meal in the riad on our first night (highly recommended). All the staff are excellent; there's a lovely breakfast each day either in the courtyard or on the roof terrace, and we were welcomed with tea, cold drinks and nibbles when we arrived back from the heat and bustle of the medina in the evening.

Thank you Barbara. Thank you Bouchra. Outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Tchaikana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tchaikana

Address: 25 Derb El Ferane, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dar Tchaikana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Tchaikana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Tchaikana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.