We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pefect retreat'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Soukaina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Soukaina to your Saves list
Dar Soukaina
19, Derb El Farrane, Riad Laarouss, | Marrakech Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Lincolnshire
1 review
“A pefect retreat'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

My husband and I had a four day break in Marrakesh and found the holiday an 'interesting experience'. The guys in the Dar could not have been more helpful and attentive. The accommodation was so peaceful and cool after spending time in the square and soukes, it became our haven to relax away from the hustle and bustle. They showed us round the Riad, across the 'road' (also owned by the same person) and wanted to converse to practice their english. We would recommend this place to anyone thinking of visiting Marrakesh. Excellent, a perfect retreat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    32
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
65
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

This is a super Riad in the heart of the city. It is a tranquil haven amidst the frenetic bustle of Marrakech!
Staff are very attentive and speak some foreign languages.
We were fortunate to be able to choose our rooms and chose Cannelle and Curry. Both were en-suite, and beautifully decorated throughout. Cannelle looks out over the serene courtyard which has a small pool and varied options of places to sit. The courtyard is full of plants - bananas in particular which are fruiting - but not ready to eat when we were there!
Thre's a resident tortoise too, who loves tomatoes!
If you wish dinner you have to book in the morning of the evening you wish it otherwise you have to go out and scout around but there's plenty of choice. Try to eat in small restaurants that the locals use - you will not be disappointed with the couscous!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Dar Soukaina has 3 houses. We stayed in 2 of the houses both beautiful and peaceful. We had issues with flight delay and staff went out of their way to help us; calling the airport etc.

We have enjoyed our stay in Marrakech but the hustle and bustle is not to be underestimated: therefore staying in a peaceful riad with friendly staff and fresh orange juice on demand was wonderful. It is amazing that just a couple of turns off a main street can result in such quiet. The roof terrace is nice to relax in and the huge quantity of bread rolls for breakfast are delicious; I particularly enjoyed seeing the sparrows come down to nibble the crumbs.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

The riad is in a very good location. About 15 minutes walk from the main square. Lovely and cool after the bustle of the medina and the souk. Very helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable rooms and good breakfast.

One minor criticism is that we were asked on the last morning to pay in cash for our stay which we were unprepared for.

We would definitely recommend it to others and would return there ourselves. Jenny

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

After overcoming the initial challenge of locating Dar Soukaina after dark it became a home from home, a tranquil refuge from the frenetic activity of the Souks. Omar and his staff took good care of all our needs and gave good advice on places to eat. Breakfast in the riad was an excellent start to each day. The location is very good for exploring the souks to the north of the main square which itself is 15 minute walk (longer if you pause to barter) away. if you want meals other than breakfast then you must advise the staff in good time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Dar Soukaina is very cozy. The service is good and the staff is very kind. However, not all the personnel speaks English. We had a lovely stay and got very nice help and advices when organizing our stay in the city. However, the Riad is quite small and there is a lack of privacy: it was not possible to close and lock the door of our room and since the riad is very small we could hear everything was going on inside the house.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Myself and 2 friends have just come back after 3 night say at Dar Soukaina. Everything was fabulous...friendly staff, lovely food ...breakfast and dinner (the best meal we had while we were there) and comfortable rooms. The staff were so helpful, making recommendations on trips etc to make our visit a truely memorable one! Lovely roof terraces & lounge area with open fire in Sophia (building across the alley from main building).......great venue for night in with a few drinks (you can bring your own in). If you are thinking of staying, the best rooms are Marjolnime & Guofle (spell check!) in the main the riad.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Soukaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Soukaina

Address: 19, Derb El Farrane, Riad Laarouss, | Marrakech Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merely 10 minutes by foot from the famous Jemâa El Fna square, 3 minutes from the souks, in the heart of the prestigious Dar Bacha district and near a parking guarded day and night, Dar Soukaina invites the traveler in search of tranquility and of authenticity to savour the peace and refinement of a elegant old traditional ryad, in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. The discreet but thoughtful service of Omar and his team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Soukaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Soukaina Marrakech
Dar Soukaina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Soukaina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.