We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful place to stop and stay at.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Soukaina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Soukaina to your Saves list
Dar Soukaina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No19 & No24, Derb El Farrane, Quartier Riad Laarouss | Marrakech Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful place to stop and stay at.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

It was our first time I made a right and a wonderful decision choosing the right place where to stay, Dar Soukaina at Marrakesh was our first destination during our arrival, I don't really know where to start, but you guys made our journey went well, and also as we haven't expected it to be. Thank you Omar for scheduling our pick up at the airport, also many thanks to the driver who spent his time waiting for our landing, because our flight was a bit delayed, (Mustapha) the driver has been so nice to us since our first minutes, he also helped us carry our heavy bags through a the magical place of Dar Soukaina. Moreover, we been welcomed by the stuffs with a great and warmth welcoming. Thank you guys for the Moroccan mint tea, for the breakfast for the smile on your face as well.

This traditional hotel is absolutely as it is been described. It is located in the center of the Medina, where everything is so close to you.
You can just walk 10minutes to the lively square of Jamaa Elfena where every kinds of performances starts to be shown each and every single time.

Thank you and thank you Omar Fatima, Fatiha, Rachid, Aziz for your warmth welcoming.

I really recommend this traditional hotel, and I am coming back for a visit next time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamalvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Dar Soukaina is well located, near to the square nice and friendly staff, the room were clean and calm. it is quiet and peaceful i & my wife had a beautiful vacation there. thanks AZIZ you were so nice. certainly we will back to this Riad.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this Riad to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We opted for a deluxe room and asked to be picked up from the airport. We met a driver at the airport and arrived on the other side of the souk just by Dar Soukaina, where a member of the team named Aziz met us and showed us to the hotel.
Upon arrival at the hotel in the evening, we were offered tea and cakes and Aziz briefly went over a map giving a few tips, we dropped our bags in our room and went off to explore the Souks. About the room - the rooms are misleading in the pictures and made up better than what they are, there are no curtains around any beds for a romantic feel or vases with flowers as shown. The deluxe room is advertised with fireplaces, ours didnt have one but that was okay because it was hot so didnt bother asking about it.

There are no locks on the doors and I was not comfortable with this however there was nothing we could do. Luckily we did not have any issues with this in the end, just a psychological worry when leaving valuables behind. However, access to the actual riad is secure via a code so not anyone can wonder in. The location of the Place is just off a busy souk although dead and a little scary at night the area is safe. It is close to the square and some of the main

On our first night back after going out, we found the AC was not working, it was about 11:30 pm and nobody around to tell, the next morning I complained about it after having an extremely stuffy and uncomfortable night. The worker named Aziz came to our room a few hours after breakfast whilst my husband and I were getting ready to go out - he told us he will come back, we clearly told him we would leave and he could come in and check the problem with the AC but he insisted otherwise and said he didnt want to come in and disturb us. Later that night it was still not fixed to which Aziz blamed us for being in the room!! How ludacris! He claimed we had to wait until tommorow and we argued that we left shortly afterwards and he had the entire day to get it fixed! He didnt quite understand that it should be working in the first place! Anyway he agreed to change our room, however, this was to the other part of the riad across the alley.
The room he gave us was defo not deluxe, it was standard but when i questioned him about it he lied as if i was stupid and told me it was. I did not entertain arguing further.
On checkout we ended up paying more than advertised, we left our suitcases and went out to kill time. When we came to collect our suitcases we found Aziz there who we hadnt seen in a few days. He was the only member of staff there. He did not say hello, ask us if we needed anything or for a glass of water even, did not even say goodbye. He sat right infront of us and ignored us. Poor poor service. He let the whole place down. The rest of the staff were very nice.
The breakfast is repetative but nice. The wifi is Crap and you will find yourself in the lobby or near a window trying to connect. For what we paid we could have had something better that I am sure of.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FahAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed here as a family of 6, with our 4 grown up children.
This Riad is in a great location, near one of the gates to the Medina and easy walking to the markets and the square. A great breakfast was served every morning by helpful and attentive staff.
The rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean and simple. Suggest you get a driver from the airport to find the place but once you are here it offers everything.

Great "street food" is available close at hand. Marrakech is a busy place so its great to have a quiet clean place to return to.
Would recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyImp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Dar Soukaina was lovely. Its decor was seeped in Moroccan tradition but quite simple. Very, very clean and nice breakfast served daily. The staff was attentive and helpful though English was a tad limited. Credit cards were not easily accepted so plan to pay with cash and note that there's an ATM limit of 2000 Dirham per day.

The location is wonderful - close to a gate if you need to catch a taxi to other parts of Marakesh but an easy walk to all of the highlights of the Medina.

This Riad is tricky to find and like most, down a windy and fairly dark medina alleyway. Dar Soukaina has a coded lock so that you can come and go on your own time. Definitely have a driver meet you at the airport, seriously. Staying in the medina is a must but your first moments are daunting.

We kept some belonging as the Dar while we traveled to other parts of the country and felt that our things were very safe.

I would stay at Dar Soukaina again. Perfect for the adventuresome traveler who appreciates an authentic experience but some comforts.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30-somethingexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We spent 8 nights here and loved the peace and quiet and good service. The manager and his wife were charming, with nothing being too much trouble, and the position of the riad is ideal for accessing the medina. The room was comfortable, truly Moroccan, clean and quiet (except for one night when a group arrived back late and forgot there were others asleep!). Towels were changed regularly. Breakfasts were tasty with delicious pancakes and preserves, but take a travel kettle if you like a hot drink in your room. We asked the manager to write a name reference for the nearby square so that taxis knew where to deliver us as we kept ending up in the wrong drop off place. We thoroughly recommend this riad.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room for quiet and a view over the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Marrakech is a crazy city, so it is key to have a quite and clean place to stay and this riad provided that. The location was great... only a 15 min walk to Jemaa el-Fnaa and a 3 min walk to the taxi area. It is tucked away down a few small streets away from the noise and madness of the main streets. The riad arranged a driver to pick us up at the airport and escort us to the riad which was wonderful. Of course we had to pay extra for it but it was worth it bc it would have been difficult to find the riad on our own on the first day.

The staff was awesome! They are polite and easy to talk to and without their guidance we would have overpaid for taxis, food... pretty much everything. They made us tea or coffee at any time of the day and the breakfast was always on time. The only thing is that the door to our room did not have a lock, so we brought all of our valuables (i.e. passports and money) with us everywhere. There is always someone at the front desk area 24/7, but the no lock thing was a bit strange. Rule of thumb... don't bring anything valuable to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaDi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#125 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#148 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#162 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#271 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#254 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#198 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Soukaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Soukaina

Address: No19 & No24, Derb El Farrane, Quartier Riad Laarouss | Marrakech Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Soukaina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merely 10 minutes by foot from the famous Jemâa El Fna square, 3 minutes from the souks, in the heart of the prestigious Dar Bacha district and near a parking guarded day and night, Dar Soukaina invites the traveler in search of tranquility and of authenticity to savour the peace and refinement of a elegant old traditional ryad, in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. The discreet but thoughtful service of Omar and his team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dar Soukaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Soukaina Marrakech
Dar Soukaina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing