We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best Riad ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Soukaina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Soukaina to your Saves list
Dar Soukaina
19, Derb El Farrane, Riad Laarouss, | Marrakech Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best Riad ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Dar Soukaina is well located, near to the square nice and friendly staff, the room were clean and calm. it is quiet and peaceful i & my wife had a beautiful vacation there. thanks AZIZ you were so nice. certainly we will back to this Riad.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    32
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
63
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this Riad to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We opted for a deluxe room and asked to be picked up from the airport. We met a driver at the airport and arrived on the other side of the souk just by Dar Soukaina, where a member of the team named Aziz met us and showed us to the hotel.
Upon arrival at the hotel in the evening, we were offered tea and cakes and Aziz briefly went over a map giving a few tips, we dropped our bags in our room and went off to explore the Souks. About the room - the rooms are misleading in the pictures and made up better than what they are, there are no curtains around any beds for a romantic feel or vases with flowers as shown. The deluxe room is advertised with fireplaces, ours didnt have one but that was okay because it was hot so didnt bother asking about it.

There are no locks on the doors and I was not comfortable with this however there was nothing we could do. Luckily we did not have any issues with this in the end, just a psychological worry when leaving valuables behind. However, access to the actual riad is secure via a code so not anyone can wonder in. The location of the Place is just off a busy souk although dead and a little scary at night the area is safe. It is close to the square and some of the main

On our first night back after going out, we found the AC was not working, it was about 11:30 pm and nobody around to tell, the next morning I complained about it after having an extremely stuffy and uncomfortable night. The worker named Aziz came to our room a few hours after breakfast whilst my husband and I were getting ready to go out - he told us he will come back, we clearly told him we would leave and he could come in and check the problem with the AC but he insisted otherwise and said he didnt want to come in and disturb us. Later that night it was still not fixed to which Aziz blamed us for being in the room!! How ludacris! He claimed we had to wait until tommorow and we argued that we left shortly afterwards and he had the entire day to get it fixed! He didnt quite understand that it should be working in the first place! Anyway he agreed to change our room, however, this was to the other part of the riad across the alley.
The room he gave us was defo not deluxe, it was standard but when i questioned him about it he lied as if i was stupid and told me it was. I did not entertain arguing further.
On checkout we ended up paying more than advertised, we left our suitcases and went out to kill time. When we came to collect our suitcases we found Aziz there who we hadnt seen in a few days. He was the only member of staff there. He did not say hello, ask us if we needed anything or for a glass of water even, did not even say goodbye. He sat right infront of us and ignored us. Poor poor service. He let the whole place down. The rest of the staff were very nice.
The breakfast is repetative but nice. The wifi is Crap and you will find yourself in the lobby or near a window trying to connect. For what we paid we could have had something better that I am sure of.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed here as a family of 6, with our 4 grown up children.
This Riad is in a great location, near one of the gates to the Medina and easy walking to the markets and the square. A great breakfast was served every morning by helpful and attentive staff.
The rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean and simple. Suggest you get a driver from the airport to find the place but once you are here it offers everything.

Great "street food" is available close at hand. Marrakech is a busy place so its great to have a quiet clean place to return to.
Would recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Dar Soukaina was lovely. Its decor was seeped in Moroccan tradition but quite simple. Very, very clean and nice breakfast served daily. The staff was attentive and helpful though English was a tad limited. Credit cards were not easily accepted so plan to pay with cash and note that there's an ATM limit of 2000 Dirham per day.

The location is wonderful - close to a gate if you need to catch a taxi to other parts of Marakesh but an easy walk to all of the highlights of the Medina.

This Riad is tricky to find and like most, down a windy and fairly dark medina alleyway. Dar Soukaina has a coded lock so that you can come and go on your own time. Definitely have a driver meet you at the airport, seriously. Staying in the medina is a must but your first moments are daunting.

We kept some belonging as the Dar while we traveled to other parts of the country and felt that our things were very safe.

I would stay at Dar Soukaina again. Perfect for the adventuresome traveler who appreciates an authentic experience but some comforts.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We spent 8 nights here and loved the peace and quiet and good service. The manager and his wife were charming, with nothing being too much trouble, and the position of the riad is ideal for accessing the medina. The room was comfortable, truly Moroccan, clean and quiet (except for one night when a group arrived back late and forgot there were others asleep!). Towels were changed regularly. Breakfasts were tasty with delicious pancakes and preserves, but take a travel kettle if you like a hot drink in your room. We asked the manager to write a name reference for the nearby square so that taxis knew where to deliver us as we kept ending up in the wrong drop off place. We thoroughly recommend this riad.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room for quiet and a view over the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Marrakech is a crazy city, so it is key to have a quite and clean place to stay and this riad provided that. The location was great... only a 15 min walk to Jemaa el-Fnaa and a 3 min walk to the taxi area. It is tucked away down a few small streets away from the noise and madness of the main streets. The riad arranged a driver to pick us up at the airport and escort us to the riad which was wonderful. Of course we had to pay extra for it but it was worth it bc it would have been difficult to find the riad on our own on the first day.

The staff was awesome! They are polite and easy to talk to and without their guidance we would have overpaid for taxis, food... pretty much everything. They made us tea or coffee at any time of the day and the breakfast was always on time. The only thing is that the door to our room did not have a lock, so we brought all of our valuables (i.e. passports and money) with us everywhere. There is always someone at the front desk area 24/7, but the no lock thing was a bit strange. Rule of thumb... don't bring anything valuable to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this Riad for 5 nights, and absolutely loved it. It has an authentic Moroccan feel, and is located in the heart of the medina - about 15 mins leisurely stroll to the main square. However, it is also very peaceful and quiet inside the Riad, which is a definite advantage when you've spent all day in the crowds of the medina!

We arrived at Marrakech airport and had previously asked the Riad to arrange a transfer for us (15 euros). The taxi drove us to a location ~5mins walk from the Riad, and from there the driver arranged for a local with a cart to guide us to the Riad (as the “roads”/alleys in the medina are too narrow for cars…but still be aware of mopeds and motorbikes!) You could probably get a local taxi for cheaper – however the Riad is pretty difficult to find on a first attempt (and particularly in the dark!) as it’s located down a narrow side alley, so I am definitely pleased we chose this option!
On arrival we were greeted with mint tea and provided with an annotated map to ensure that we would find our way back to the Riad the next day!

Our room was fairly small – but there was enough space for us and our bags! Plus plenty of other spaces in the Riad to sit and relax in the evenings. All the décor is traditional Moroccan, so the place has a very authentic feel. It’s not exactly luxurious (e.g no TV, only a curtain to separate bedroom and bathroom!) but that kind of adds to the atmosphere + charm of the place. Breakfasts were good + plenty of food was provided.

One point to note is that the rooms don’t have lockable doors – when was asked about this, we were told that this was to make it feel like we were staying in a Moroccan home rather than a hotel. We found it a bit unsettling at first – but actually the Riad itself is very secure from the outside, and always staffed, so we soon stopped worrying about it!

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Soukaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Soukaina

Address: 19, Derb El Farrane, Riad Laarouss, | Marrakech Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merely 10 minutes by foot from the famous Jemâa El Fna square, 3 minutes from the souks, in the heart of the prestigious Dar Bacha district and near a parking guarded day and night, Dar Soukaina invites the traveler in search of tranquility and of authenticity to savour the peace and refinement of a elegant old traditional ryad, in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. The discreet but thoughtful service of Omar and his team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Dar Soukaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Soukaina Marrakech
Dar Soukaina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Soukaina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.