We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Soukaina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Soukaina to your Saves list
Dar Soukaina
19, Derb El Farrane, Riad Laarouss, | Marrakech Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Marrakech is a crazy city, so it is key to have a quite and clean place to stay and this riad provided that. The location was great... only a 15 min walk to Jemaa el-Fnaa and a 3 min walk to the taxi area. It is tucked away down a few small streets away from the noise and madness of the main streets. The riad arranged a driver to pick us up at the airport and escort us to the riad which was wonderful. Of course we had to pay extra for it but it was worth it bc it would have been difficult to find the riad on our own on the first day.

The staff was awesome! They are polite and easy to talk to and without their guidance we would have overpaid for taxis, food... pretty much everything. They made us tea or coffee at any time of the day and the breakfast was always on time. The only thing is that the door to our room did not have a lock, so we brought all of our valuables (i.e. passports and money) with us everywhere. There is always someone at the front desk area 24/7, but the no lock thing was a bit strange. Rule of thumb... don't bring anything valuable to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    32
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
65
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this Riad for 5 nights, and absolutely loved it. It has an authentic Moroccan feel, and is located in the heart of the medina - about 15 mins leisurely stroll to the main square. However, it is also very peaceful and quiet inside the Riad, which is a definite advantage when you've spent all day in the crowds of the medina!

We arrived at Marrakech airport and had previously asked the Riad to arrange a transfer for us (15 euros). The taxi drove us to a location ~5mins walk from the Riad, and from there the driver arranged for a local with a cart to guide us to the Riad (as the “roads”/alleys in the medina are too narrow for cars…but still be aware of mopeds and motorbikes!) You could probably get a local taxi for cheaper – however the Riad is pretty difficult to find on a first attempt (and particularly in the dark!) as it’s located down a narrow side alley, so I am definitely pleased we chose this option!
On arrival we were greeted with mint tea and provided with an annotated map to ensure that we would find our way back to the Riad the next day!

Our room was fairly small – but there was enough space for us and our bags! Plus plenty of other spaces in the Riad to sit and relax in the evenings. All the décor is traditional Moroccan, so the place has a very authentic feel. It’s not exactly luxurious (e.g no TV, only a curtain to separate bedroom and bathroom!) but that kind of adds to the atmosphere + charm of the place. Breakfasts were good + plenty of food was provided.

One point to note is that the rooms don’t have lockable doors – when was asked about this, we were told that this was to make it feel like we were staying in a Moroccan home rather than a hotel. We found it a bit unsettling at first – but actually the Riad itself is very secure from the outside, and always staffed, so we soon stopped worrying about it!

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

we stayed at dar soukaina for three nights in mid feb on a two week trip around the country. it was our first stop and as such we were very impressed with the beautiful interiors, excellent service (attentive, friendly, and very helpful), and relaxing atmosphere. breakfast was hot and hearty, the room was clean and wonderfully decorated. as such it was very good value for money, and I do not hesitate to recommend it.

if i had left morocco after staying here, it would probably have got 5 points from me. however, i have to say that we did stay in riads in other cities that were even more impressive and really rolled out the red carpet. plus something went wrong with the drains in our toilet on the second day so the room smelled quite badly unfortunately. to their credit, the staff tried to fix it, and i cant blame them for what was just bad luck, but it did spoil our stay a bit... I feel bad docking a whole point for that, because as i said it really is a lovely place with lovely staff, and it wasnt their fault per se, but there are a lot of riads in marrakesh and i have to admit i would have preferred a stay at one without this drainage problem...

but a strong 4 out of 5 nonetheless, in every other respect!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Dar soukaina for a whole week, initially we were only booked in for 3 days but we liked it so much we negotiated a deal for the entire week.
The staff are delightful and very helpful and attentive and made us feel extremely welcome.
The breakfast was great and the mint tea on demand was one of the highlights.
The Dar Soukaina is perfectly situated just 10 minute walk from the main square, Jemaa el Fna, but is incredibly peaceful and quiet just tucked off one of the main streets.
All of the staff spoke French and both Rashid and Jamal spoke good English also so communicating was not too much of an effort.
The rooms are all very clean and there is wifi internet access throughout the building.
All in all this was a great place to stay, incredibly good value for money and would not only recommend to any friend but will stay there again should we visit Marrakech in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambly, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed 3 night instead of 4 as planned in Marrakech, at Dar Soukaina. The place is very hard to find, you'll need a local that'll guide you to the door. I paid 20mad. The riad situated a couple alley from a main street in the heart of the medina, it is completely peaceful and quiet. The rooms and ambiance is very local and beautiful. Internet is good. The breakfasts are good. The only downside is that I expected the staff to give us more advise on what to do, where to buy, etc in the Medina. (Which is a big labyrinth full of people trying to sell things at excessive prices). But they barely spoke English and couldn't help up. That's the place you want if you want to stay in the heart of the medina in a quiet and charming place, but don't expect any advice from the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The staff at Dar Soukaina are the sweetest people and although we spent so little time with them given our early mornings and late nights, we really appreciated their attention to detail.

This is a wonderful and reasonable riad with very nice and clean rooms and bathrooms. The breakfast was wonderful! Both Rashid and Jamal were great.

We were able to get a few things laundered (and we just tipped the housekeeper for her trouble)

We had a wonderful and cosy sitting area outside our room (Menthe) where we enjoyed unwinding after a few hectic days with some tea :)

Only improvement - although there was a heater and radiator we were not able to get the room adequately warm - it got quite chilly during the November nights we were there. To be fair, we were only there 3 nights and got in so late in the evenings that we didnt really bother the staff to help us try to get it working properly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

As soon as we stepped into the riad, Fatima and her staff made us feel at home. The tranquil setting meant that after each day out in the Medina, we really did feel all the hustle and bustle just melt away. We had a intense 3 days in Marrakesh and Dar Soukaina was the perfect antidote to a busy day. The riad was surprisingly quiet given how close it is to the Souks and Jemma el fna. Even when we spent an afternoon sunbathing on the terrace, no noise filtered the air from the square. Our room was clean and simple and overlooked a quaint little courtyard a washed with white walls and a banana tree in the centre. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Let's be honest it wasn't the plaza, but the given how cheap it was we were treated like we were at a five star hotel. I almost want to keep this place a secret.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Soukaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Soukaina

Address: 19, Derb El Farrane, Riad Laarouss, | Marrakech Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merely 10 minutes by foot from the famous Jemâa El Fna square, 3 minutes from the souks, in the heart of the prestigious Dar Bacha district and near a parking guarded day and night, Dar Soukaina invites the traveler in search of tranquility and of authenticity to savour the peace and refinement of a elegant old traditional ryad, in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. The discreet but thoughtful service of Omar and his team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Soukaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Soukaina Marrakech
Dar Soukaina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Soukaina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.