We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beutiful retreat at unbeatable value in the heart of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Soukaina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Soukaina to your Saves list
Dar Soukaina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No19 & No24, Derb El Farrane, Quartier Riad Laarouss | Marrakech Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 478 Hotels in Marrakech
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beutiful retreat at unbeatable value in the heart of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Dar soukaina for a whole week, initially we were only booked in for 3 days but we liked it so much we negotiated a deal for the entire week.
The staff are delightful and very helpful and attentive and made us feel extremely welcome.
The breakfast was great and the mint tea on demand was one of the highlights.
The Dar Soukaina is perfectly situated just 10 minute walk from the main square, Jemaa el Fna, but is incredibly peaceful and quiet just tucked off one of the main streets.
All of the staff spoke French and both Rashid and Jamal spoke good English also so communicating was not too much of an effort.
The rooms are all very clean and there is wifi internet access throughout the building.
All in all this was a great place to stay, incredibly good value for money and would not only recommend to any friend but will stay there again should we visit Marrakech in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    33
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
68
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chambly, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed 3 night instead of 4 as planned in Marrakech, at Dar Soukaina. The place is very hard to find, you'll need a local that'll guide you to the door. I paid 20mad. The riad situated a couple alley from a main street in the heart of the medina, it is completely peaceful and quiet. The rooms and ambiance is very local and beautiful. Internet is good. The breakfasts are good. The only downside is that I expected the staff to give us more advise on what to do, where to buy, etc in the Medina. (Which is a big labyrinth full of people trying to sell things at excessive prices). But they barely spoke English and couldn't help up. That's the place you want if you want to stay in the heart of the medina in a quiet and charming place, but don't expect any advice from the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The staff at Dar Soukaina are the sweetest people and although we spent so little time with them given our early mornings and late nights, we really appreciated their attention to detail.

This is a wonderful and reasonable riad with very nice and clean rooms and bathrooms. The breakfast was wonderful! Both Rashid and Jamal were great.

We were able to get a few things laundered (and we just tipped the housekeeper for her trouble)

We had a wonderful and cosy sitting area outside our room (Menthe) where we enjoyed unwinding after a few hectic days with some tea :)

Only improvement - although there was a heater and radiator we were not able to get the room adequately warm - it got quite chilly during the November nights we were there. To be fair, we were only there 3 nights and got in so late in the evenings that we didnt really bother the staff to help us try to get it working properly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

As soon as we stepped into the riad, Fatima and her staff made us feel at home. The tranquil setting meant that after each day out in the Medina, we really did feel all the hustle and bustle just melt away. We had a intense 3 days in Marrakesh and Dar Soukaina was the perfect antidote to a busy day. The riad was surprisingly quiet given how close it is to the Souks and Jemma el fna. Even when we spent an afternoon sunbathing on the terrace, no noise filtered the air from the square. Our room was clean and simple and overlooked a quaint little courtyard a washed with white walls and a banana tree in the centre. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Let's be honest it wasn't the plaza, but the given how cheap it was we were treated like we were at a five star hotel. I almost want to keep this place a secret.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

When you first walk to the riad dont be fooled by its surroundings, once you go through the doors, this place is amazing, beautiful. I was instantly greeted with a piece of cake and traditional mint tea, staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are beautiful and spacious equipped with everything you would need. Wifi is available throughout every corner of the riad and the breakfast is very good. The riad is at walking distance to the square. Overall a very enjoyable stay, good value for money and i would definitely stay again!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansund, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We - ten norwegian friends - stayed seven days at Dar Soukaina. From the day we arrived to the day we left, we felt like home at this beautiful place. Everyone of the staff had a big smile on their face, and it was always yes, never no, to hear. This was like a dream in a very exotic Dar and city. Great value for the money in the heart of the Medina.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed in the Dar Soukaina with my boyfriend and three other friends at the end of September for four nights. When arriving to the medina with taxi, the taxi dropped us at the Place de Laarouss, which is as near the riad as you can come (the roads are too narrow for cars in the souk). We then had a rather unpleasant experience of being forced to "accept" the help of a bystander to show us how to get to Dar Soukaina -- it is down a few alleys and when we got there him and his friend forced money off us as payment. This is quite common in Marrakech, so watch out for anyone offering you "help".

After our very unpleasant first encounter in Marrakech, things only got better and the Dar Soukaina was a large part of that! The riad is beautiful -- it is centered around a courtyard which has lovely trees and plants in it, and a deep pond. Three very cute little turtles also live in the courtyard! All rooms are centred around the courtyard, and the rooms are beautiful -- all decorated in Moroccan style with exposed wooden beams and very nice bathrooms. Everything is spotlessly clean, and bottled water is refreshed every day. The breakfast was lovely -- Moroccan pancakes, jams, bread and orange juice, and very good coffee and tea. You could also get scrambled/fried eggs if you wanted.

There is a rooftop terrace in the Riad, which has a lovely Berber-style tent with cushions and rugs and stools where you can relax -- we spend one evening up there relaxing and enjoying the atmosphere, and we were allowed to drink our own alcoholic beverages there (there is no alcohol served in the riad). They even supplied us with ice and glasses! One evening we ate in the riad -- if you ask in time, they will cook you up a storm -- vegetable couscous, lamb couscous, salads, and so on! Fatima and her staff were unbelievably nice, so helpful and kind and they could not do enough for you, such as popping out with Moroccan mint tea when we were sitting in the courtyard relaxing after a day in the souks.

When we left, we arranged for a car to collect us and bring us to the bus station, so as to avoid any trouble like what we had when we arrived. Our friends (we all arrived at different times) had all arranged to get collected from the airport -- if you email the riad in time, Mustafa will collect you at the airport or wherever it is you are arriving -- I would strongly recommend this.

We spent two weeks in Morocco -- Marrakech was the highlight of the trip and the Dar Soukaina was definitely a part of that! I really can't recommend this riad enough -- it is an amazing place and Fatima and all the staff are as lovely as the riad is beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dar Soukaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Soukaina

Address: No19 & No24, Derb El Farrane, Quartier Riad Laarouss | Marrakech Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#95 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Soukaina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merely 10 minutes by foot from the famous Jemâa El Fna square, 3 minutes from the souks, in the heart of the prestigious Dar Bacha district and near a parking guarded day and night, Dar Soukaina invites the traveler in search of tranquility and of authenticity to savour the peace and refinement of a elegant old traditional ryad, in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. The discreet but thoughtful service of Omar and his team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Venere, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Dar Soukaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Soukaina Marrakech
Dar Soukaina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Soukaina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.