We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect retreat from the hustle & bustle of the city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Soukaina

Save Saved
You added Dar Soukaina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Soukaina
19, Derb El Farrane, Riad Laarouss, | Marrakech Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat from the hustle & bustle of the city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Rashid & Fatima made us feel very welcome during our 1 week stay. The riad is utterly gorgeous, the rooms are beautiful & comfy, the terrace is such a bonus & we would go back there in a heartbeat.
Great value for money and only 10mins walk to Jmar el Fnaa square through the streets of the medina.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    31
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

There are no words to discribe how injoyable our stay was at Dar Soukaina, The kind staff and beautiful surroundings offered a welcome oasis from the chaos of the medina. We have had a magikal time in this gorgeous Riad.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Fourth time in 7 years we visited Marrakech and for the fourth time we stayed in Dar Soukaina.
I can not see a single reason why we should change by our next visit.Hospitallity,service, bed quality, breakfast all of high standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

What a great time. The staff was super friendly, I the rooms spacious and luxurious, always clean and cool. Some rooms had more privacy than others, but the other guests were very friendly too. The courtyard is beautiful, well equipped for resting and even better for chatting with friends. All in all, a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Some rooms have more sound insulation than others so ask about it if that's a concern; the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, MA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

In the midst of the busy souks of Marrakech, Dar Soukaina was a wonderful find for my father and I on our first trip to Morocco.
Greeted every time you walk in by the exceptionally friendly, courteous and knowledgeable staff (who spoke fluent English)- enjoy afternoon tea in the lovely calm, quiet courtyard or cool off by dipping your feet in the (small) wading pool, or enjoy a book on the rooftop lounge under traditional Moroccan tents.
The staff (Rashid and Abdullah) catered to our every need- offering drinks and snacks when we arrived back in the afternoon, arranged tours, ran errands and offered wonderful suggestions to make our trip well rounded and enjoyable.
A full breakfast was made to order every morning and served in the courtyard.
Our room featured high ceilings, exposed beams, overlooked the courtyard with a comfortable window seat to lounge. The heated bathroom floor was a unexpected treat! Beds were very comfortable and were made up each day with fresh, ironed linens.
Overall the room and entire riad felt extremely safe and secure.
Noticing my slight disability (due to a healing broken foot) Omar, the manager, was thoughtful and arranged a special excursion with my limitations in mind.
We recommend Dar Soukaina without hesitation and will certainly be back!!
THANK YOU!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My friend and I were two women traveling on our own in Morocco. This place provided a safe, warm (in care), and relaxing environment after long days of negotiating the streets of the Medina. They were very helpful and friendly, providing good travel advice and relaxing mint tea at any hour. Sure there are luxury hotels in the new city - but Dar Soukaina really lived up to the tradition of the Riad. It felt like you were staying in a pristine family home with the best of hosts!

Room Tip: They serve early breakfast inside to avoid the noise that other Riads struggle with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My giirlfriend and I stayed at Dar Soukina for 7 nights over a period of 14 days. We were delighted by the peace and calmness of this traditional Moraccan house. The staff were wonderfully helpful and made us feel welcomed guests. We travelled out of Marrakech on a number of occasions, always leaving kit ( and laundry) at the Dar. On our return our room had been readied, our laundry put away and we were welcomed back like family.

Breakfast was a joy, especially the fresh bread rolls, baked every day, the orange juice and the coffe (the best we had during our stay in Morocco).

Our room was warm during the chill nights and cool during the warm days. And the shower took care of the Marrakech grime.

A lovely experience, one we are already looking forward to repeating.

Room Tip: Forget the airport transfer -go by taxi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Soukaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Soukaina

Address: 19, Derb El Farrane, Riad Laarouss, | Marrakech Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#142 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merely 10 minutes by foot from the famous Jemâa El Fna square, 3 minutes from the souks, in the heart of the prestigious Dar Bacha district and near a parking guarded day and night, Dar Soukaina invites the traveler in search of tranquility and of authenticity to savour the peace and refinement of a elegant old traditional ryad, in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. The discreet but thoughtful service of Omar and his team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dar Soukaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Soukaina Marrakech
Dar Soukaina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Soukaina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.