We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Rhizlane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Rhizlane to your Saves list
Dar Rhizlane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Jnane El Harti | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #188 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

We have stayed a long weekend at the Dar Rhizlane and had high expectations after the rave reviews here on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately, our expectations were not quite met.

However, good things first, the hotel is very nice, a beautiful old property with several nice touches. An extensive use of roses across the hotel, candles and arabic lights in the evening, nice smells everywhere.

We travelled with some friends and booked two deluxe rooms. We were surprised however that the two rooms were eventually part of a large suite with a shared living room. Even though it was nice, we were not told about it in the first place and certainly did not ask for it.

The rooms itself were fairly small, however with separate bath and separate extremely small toilet. The bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately, the room was completely overheated and the heating could not be adjusted. Despite a complaint and someone pretending and claiming to have fixed it, it stayed hot in the room which made sleeping difficult.

Even though there were a few good exceptions, the service in general was very slow and poor, in particular in the restaurant. I am understanding when the staff are under a lot of pressure but less so when they are chatting among each other and we have to ask three times for a drink. The food however was in general very good.

Since the hotel has no spa, we asked for a nice traditional hammam somewhere else. The hotel arranged it including pickup, it was called '1000 et un soin' and cannot be recommended. The place is in an office building about 20 minutes car drive away, hardly anything traditional about it, though the scrub in the steam room was good.

All in all, it would have been acceptable but for the price, there must be better!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    26
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
75
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

If you are looking for the perfect boutique hotel in Marrakech… look no further! My husband and I have traveled the world for years and this was by far one of the loveliest places we were given to stay. This majestic house is set in the Hivernage area which is so calm and peaceful but only 15 minutes walk from the Djema El fna in the meantime. Marrakech at its best ! And if you like this type of place where one really feel special we would also recommend "restaurant Riad Monceau". By far our best restaurant experience in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. There was lots of attention to details such as the flowers, rose petals, candles, incense and generally every effort made to make it look breathtaking at most times. The hotel is a large house and this also adds to it's charm. It has several communal areas rather than one large lobby/reception area so it feels like a home from home. The staff were generally very attentive but sometimes you were left waiting for long time at breakfast or at the bar.

Our room was lovely. Very large, spacious, clean and traditionally decorated but also comfortable and with a sumptious feel.

Breakfast was good but did not offer enough variety if you were there for a few days. The restaurant was as good too but did not offer anything different to other restaurants we'd visited.

The best thing for us however was its location. Near enough to the Medina to walk but far enough to get away from it all when it gets unbearable. This is the perfect place for first time visitors to Marrakech because of its location, you can dip in and out of the chaos! It is also a great hotel to just relax and lounge by the pool and not do any sights. And definitely recommend it for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Even for spoiled guests like we are, this riad - the best in Marrakesh - is an astounding experience. Lovely romantic rooms, a superb decorated courtyard, with lovely grand white, yellow and red bougainvilles make this an exceptionally beautiful riad/ chambre d'hotes. With a friendly and professional staff having an excellent eye for detail, your stay will be remembered as one of the best you had in recent times. The room we stayed in (on the top floor, a suite) has a terrasse, with soft white pillows where you can enjoy the later afternoon and evening sun. The rooms are individually decorated with small but convenient bathrooms. From breakfast, lunch to a traditional Moroccan dinner, the food is excellent (if you like you can also eat spaghetti or your favourite western dish) this is what you expect from a hotel, a small but beautiful pearl in Marrakesh.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We are a family of 6 with four children ages 5 to 11 and we booked a 2 bedroom suite for 3 nights in this absolutely lovely Riad. It was our first trip to Marrakech and i cannot imagine a nicer way to visit this city. The grounds at the hotel are lush and fragrant with gardens, fruit trees and flowers everywhere. The rooms were beautiful and there were rose petals on our beds every night! The pool is so nice after a warm day of shopping in the medina. The staff is fantastic and the level of personal attention they give you from the moment you reserve until we checked out was outstanding. Everyone at the hotel was so helpful and they were great with our children. It is a very relaxing and elegant hotel and the food was also very good and they made us a reservation at a great restaurant on our las night as well. I would highly recommend this Riad to families with well behaved children or anyone who wants a beautiful and exotic trip to morocco! We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — it was just lovely in every way
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casablanca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

I recently had the opportunity to spend a couple nights in Dar Rhizlane, in Marrakech, and was very very satisfied with this Riad. I live in Morocco (Casablanca) and am always somewhat diffident about Riads "over marketing" themselves as being the best when in fact they are just OK (I have already had this experience in Marrakech). Dar Rhizlane was all the more a superbe surpise. We had two rooms and a joint living room with an ample terrace that overlooked the incredible garden and pool... the rooms were spotless and comfortable (and quite spacious, with huge beds!), the garden is absolutely stunning, and the pool was clean and well kept. The riad is very close to the center of Marrakech, yet very calm and quiet, and all the rooms are very private from one another, which I especially appreciated. It was like being at home... Only the breakfast, although ample, was not their best asset (more fresh fruit would be a welcome addition) and the airconditioning unit in certain rooms was slightly loud, but everything else was so pleasant, it will definitely become my preferred Marrakech destination, even if only for a quiet weekend by the pool.

  • Liked — Elegant, calm, stunning garden, central location
  • Disliked — breakfast, and wifi access only from pool and reception area (but free).
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

My wife booked a 5 night stay at this wonderful hideaway in Marrakech as a surprise for me. It certainly ticked all the boxes from what we were looking for from a hotel.

My wife had done a huge amount of research and learned that Dar Rhizlane is one of the best kept and well managed small properties similar to a riad in Marrakech which isnt too tired and in need of a lick of paint. It is seriously nice - go there!

The place is small only about 12 rooms which is ideal for us. A stunning pool to chill out in the afternoons after a morning of wandering around the awesome city of marrakech.

Breakfasts were great local morrocan breads and fresh OJ sat by the pool the ideal start to the day. We were lucky enough to have an lovely room at the top of the main building which over looked the pool and had a balcony next to it.

We ate dinner at the hotel on the 1st night and also lunch - it is a typical moroccan no menu set up so you are not sure how much you are paying for the local dishes but not stupidly expensive for this league of hotel.

We did a trip to the altas mountains and had a wonderful guide the hotel organised all and i would highly recommend this.

The good restuanrants we ate at included

Dar Moha
Comptoir
Le Square - lunch
Bo Zin

marrakech is a fantastic place to visit enjoy the souks and have a bit of sun at the same time - this hotel was perfect for us not in the medina but not far away. remember to bargain with everything in the souks by at least 50%!!

All in all a lovely and well deserved break and superbly organised by my darling wife!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Rhizlane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Rhizlane

Address: Avenue Jnane El Harti | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#79 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#119 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#161 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Rhizlane 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of the Hivernage residential district, Dar Rhizlane stand as private charming house for those looking for peace, serenity and more importantly to see without being seen. walking distance from the ancient historical wall of the red city, Jamaa el fan square and the Koutoubia mosque, you can enjoy from both day and night life. Composed of 15 rooms and 5 suites in two different buildings one built in 1999 and one in 1942, separated by a great landscaping full of lemon, orange, palm trees as well as bassins you can relax in a human size pool and enjoy the magic light. For those looking for a culinary experience, you will be charmed by our Executive Chef Zakya who created over 13 years a real moroccan cuisine with a little twist making of your diner a real "carnival", not to mention that we use our own organic products from our own farm. What else! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Rhizlane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Rhizlane Marrakech
Dar Rhizlane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Rhizlane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.