We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Riad in a good location near Medina.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Rhizlane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Rhizlane to your Saves list
Dar Rhizlane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Jnane El Harti | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming Riad in a good location near Medina.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We wanted relaxing, high standard accommodation with a Moroccan feel. This is exactly what we found. The Riad had good space, a beautiful pool area, high standard room with character, a good pool, good restaurant and staff that could not do more to make our staff comfortable. We were accompanied by our 21/22 year old children who also found the Riad a great experience. The location was a 15 minute walk to the centre of the Medina or a short, well priced taxi ride. We were pleased that we chose Dar Rhizlane just being outside the Medina because of the extra space compared with Riads located in the Medina and having the benefit of getting away from the noise, bustle and traffic. Dar Rhizlane is also well located for the new town and good restaurants located there. We also had great assistance in hiring a tour guide for the Medina (essential for new comers) and for out of town tours to the Atlas Mountain area.

Bear in mind Marrakech is a noisy city and total silence is almost impossible to guarantee. You will hear some traffic noise from within the hotel area but not intrusive and it is certainly quieter than Medina locations. Also, Morocco does not have European smoking restrictions therefore guests may smoke. This is the case throughout the city and we did not have any experiences at Dar Rhizlane that we, as non-smokers, found intrusive.

We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Choose room on first or second floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim F, Directeur général at Dar Rhizlane, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Thank you Joe for these great words and testimony towards Dar Rhizlane. It is certainly the cherry on top of the cream for all our staff when our esteemed guest go back home with such feeling.

Being a typical urban boutique hotel and not a riad in the most exclusive district 'Hivernage' gives our guest the privilege to discover a different side of the city and of course, the chance to discover the main attraction easily as it walking distance only.

You have today a second home here in marrakech and you can contact me directly as i will honored to organise your next trip here.

With warm regards

Karim Fehry Fassy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    26
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
75
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my husband this past August. This hotel is beyond amazing. Where do I begin, the location, the rooms, the staff and how much they care. Every time we left the room even if it was for 10 min, we d come back and the bed is done, the clothes arranged. Loved every day and every night. Will def go back again. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim F, Directeur général at Dar Rhizlane, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Such a pleasure reading your feedback!

The entire team was delighted to welcoming you and offering you an unforgettable experience.

Please do contact me directly to organise your next trip to Marrakech

With warm regards

Karim Fehry Fassy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

We didn't want neither a big club all included, neither western type of hotel, so this is the place. Even compared to famous Mammounia hotel, personaly I'd prefer Dar Rhizlane. Every morning, you have breakfast besides the pool. We also tried the dinner; they normally serve already set full menu, but as we couldn't finish our dinner the first night, the chef could arrange us a la carte dinner the next night. We loved so much that, we came back for dinner,instead of having in town.
If you don't stay here, at least come for dinner!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim F, Directeur général at Dar Rhizlane, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Thank you for giving such justice to Dar Rhizlane!
We are so honored you enjoyed every moment and you had such an enjoyable experience.
We certainly hope you will consider our house as your second home here in Marrakech and rest assured, we will do our utmost to make your next visit even better.

With warm regards

Karim Fehry Fassy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We'd just come back from an amazing but exhausting trip to the Morocco desert and spent our last two nights in the country in an amazing ... city Oasis called Dar Rhizlane. A stunning hotel in beautiful Marrakech with lovely rooms and great facilities. On the downside, the service (excepting the front desk staff) was just adequate and the dinner was overpriced for what it was. The reception is great at suggesting restaurants to go to and at finding great drivers to get you there and back to boot! Altogether, a beautiful hotel that is close to perfect.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim F, Directeur général at Dar Rhizlane, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your views about Dar Rhizlane.

I wont stop at the great comments but will for sure focus on the other elements you mentioned.
We had done a full survey regarding our restaurant prices to include the competition, food cost and other components such as the big success it has since 13 years. We are always analyzing the market and the rates has never been brought up.

We hope we will have you stay with us again to notice the service upgrade we have worked on recently.

With kind regards

Karim Fehry Fassy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Unbelievable, magical, peaceful, beautiful interior design...there are many ways to describe the Dar Rhizlane. We stayed for 7 nights and enjoyed every minute we were there. It is a 5 minute taxi ride to the souks yet away from the hustle and bustle so that an afternoon by the pool is quiet and chilled. You cannot fault the attention to detail in the room service, with bottled water left each evening, a mixed dried fruit platter when we arrived and flowers each day.
The food is faultless, individual meal options done for us when we weren't hungry enough for the full 4/5 courses of a traditional set menu.
Karim is a delightful General Manager, making personal time to greet us when we arrived and always there to ask how we were.
We would love to stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim F, Directeur général at Dar Rhizlane, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for such lovely words towards Dar Rhizlane. We simply make sure on a daily basis to respect the property by offering a service similar to what we would offer to you if you come to my private home. For us, Luxury is simplicity in our words (we talk from our hearts), acts (whenever we can make you happy, we will do it), cuisine (light but rich in flavor and embodiments) and I only make sure every day we respect this rules.
We loved having you with us and we really look forwards to welcome you again

With warm regards
Karim Fehry Fassy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Dar Rhizlane is definitely one of the top addresses in Marrakech. The friendly and efficient staff made us feel like royalty. They were courteous and attentive without being intrusive. One can tell that they're properly trained. I ran into the GM, Karim, and i was impressed with how involved and hands-on he is. He also comes from a background of ultra luxury which he's inculcating to his staff. The rooms were comfy and of a good size and the food was varied and delicious. We would have preferred a hotel next door to the famous Jamaa Lfna place but they've arranged for a horse carriage to take us there, which was simply MAGICAL. All that was missing was a flying carpet to take us back home :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim F, Directeur général at Dar Rhizlane, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words towards our property. We all here have a unique goal: Be at the image of this amazing property and also offer a service matching our guest expectation.
We all here believe that Tourism is synonymous to EXPERIENCE, therefore, "Attention to detail", "Perfection","Go the extra mile" are our daily motto.
Until, we have the pleasure to welcome you back, I will work personally on creating our first flying carpet:)

Ramadan Moubarak Saeed
Karim Fehry Fassy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel was fantastic. It is in an excellent location, and I found it to be very spacious and comfortable. I loved how close it was to many amenities (food, entertainment, etc.), and the place itself is super quiet. I would absolutely stay here again, and I highly recommend it to anyone in the area

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim F, Directeur général at Dar Rhizlane, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Such a pleasure reading such comment when we all here at Dar Rhizlane do our utmost to offer each guest a unique experience. The location but more importantly the human size of the property with its 15 rooms and 5 suites, the gardens, the organic food coming from own farm help us indeed being different and unique in our industry.
Now, you have a second home in Marrakech and we all look forwards welcoming you again
With kind regards
Karim Fehry Fassy
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Rhizlane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Rhizlane

Address: Avenue Jnane El Harti | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#79 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#79 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#119 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#163 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Rhizlane 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of the Hivernage residential district, Dar Rhizlane stand as private charming house for those looking for peace, serenity and more importantly to see without being seen. walking distance from the ancient historical wall of the red city, Jamaa el fan square and the Koutoubia mosque, you can enjoy from both day and night life. Composed of 15 rooms and 5 suites in two different buildings one built in 1999 and one in 1942, separated by a great landscaping full of lemon, orange, palm trees as well as bassins you can relax in a human size pool and enjoy the magic light. For those looking for a culinary experience, you will be charmed by our Executive Chef Zakya who created over 13 years a real moroccan cuisine with a little twist making of your diner a real "carnival", not to mention that we use our own organic products from our own farm. What else! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Rhizlane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Rhizlane Marrakech
Dar Rhizlane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Rhizlane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.