We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some TLC” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Rhizlane

Save Saved
You added Dar Rhizlane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dar Rhizlane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Jnane El Harti | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Stayed at the Dar for 2 nights having read some reviews and looking at the websight. We had intended to stay 3 nights, but left early for a better location.... This isnt a terrible hotel, and I have mixed feeling about my ratings, but there are better values elsewhere, and overall we just felt that it needed a bit of TLC for the high $$ . Plain and simple, it just needs a facelift. The buliding itself is very nice, but just a bit run down here and there. For example, the fountain in front was not working, the other ponds in front are a bit overgrown and the water was really murky. The bedrooms, at least the "deluxe" rooms that we were in were OK, but as another rater commented, very very small. When we were shown to our room, it had two single beds. When i asked why, i was told "that was ewhat you reserved sir". that was not the case, and since they were not full, they offered us a similar, but smaller room across the terrace w/ a king sized bed. The beds were indeed comfortable, but the bathrooms, and the common area (4 rooms share a common living room) were just run down and well, dirty -- for instance we ran our fingers across the walls, sills, etc, and had a pretty nice coating of grime on our fingers. The bathtub was a bit dusty and a few hairs here and there - you'd expect a hotel of this caliber and price to be spotless. When we mentioned these problems to the staff, house cleaning was sent up, and was told that it was likely that b/c we had left our window open that the dust and grim had accululated. Look, I live in New Yoek City, so i know about grime and soot. and dust , etc....trust me , that at amount of grime on the walls can NOT accumulate in a few hours, The common balcony railing overlooking the pool ( we were on the 3rd floor I guess) was overgrown with a thicket of wild flowering branches, that are pretty to look at from the pool are, but are a haven for pigeons and sparrows, and as a result, the balcony was pretty coatred with bird feces, which again, I understand happens, but to look up and see the rafters and railings coated with it was pretty disgusting. The furniture in the common area which has a few chairs, couchs, and a TV, desk etc were all sort of old and worn, and very dusty. If you smacked the cushions (we did just to see) you get a big dust cloud...the red rugs were a bit frayed. The pool area and grounds were decent, the place at night is very breath taking with all the lighiting and the candles floating in the pool. So there certainly are some things about this hotel that are OK, but for the $$ i just can't recommend it. The service was slow, and since we didnt speak much French, we found that added to our frustrations with the place. In terms of location, there isnt much in walking distance to the hotel - the Djma el Fnaa square is at least a 5 mintue taxi ride, which runs 50dhs, so you are sort of stuck in the outskirts of town - if the Medina is where you are looking to spend your time, this is NOT a good location. In terms of our leaving early, they initially resisted and said they because we had committed to 3 nights via the "Hotels & Riads" websight that we would be charges for the 3rd night regardless. The manager said that charging us for only two nights was "impossible" as she, the other staff, etc would all end up paying for the unused room. Given our issues with cleanliness as detailed above, we threatened to fight the third night on our credit card and insisted that we speak to the manager. After several minutes, probably closer to 20, the assistant mgr came back and said that usualy they do not make exceptions, but in theis instance, they would grant an exception and not charge us for the 3rd night. Good riddence, we couldnt wait to get out of there, and onto the more enjoyable part of our trip to Marrakech...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    22
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
64
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

We have stayed a long weekend at the Dar Rhizlane and had high expectations after the rave reviews here on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately, our expectations were not quite met.

However, good things first, the hotel is very nice, a beautiful old property with several nice touches. An extensive use of roses across the hotel, candles and arabic lights in the evening, nice smells everywhere.

We travelled with some friends and booked two deluxe rooms. We were surprised however that the two rooms were eventually part of a large suite with a shared living room. Even though it was nice, we were not told about it in the first place and certainly did not ask for it.

The rooms itself were fairly small, however with separate bath and separate extremely small toilet. The bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately, the room was completely overheated and the heating could not be adjusted. Despite a complaint and someone pretending and claiming to have fixed it, it stayed hot in the room which made sleeping difficult.

Even though there were a few good exceptions, the service in general was very slow and poor, in particular in the restaurant. I am understanding when the staff are under a lot of pressure but less so when they are chatting among each other and we have to ask three times for a drink. The food however was in general very good.

Since the hotel has no spa, we asked for a nice traditional hammam somewhere else. The hotel arranged it including pickup, it was called '1000 et un soin' and cannot be recommended. The place is in an office building about 20 minutes car drive away, hardly anything traditional about it, though the scrub in the steam room was good.

All in all, it would have been acceptable but for the price, there must be better!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

If you are looking for the perfect boutique hotel in Marrakech… look no further! My husband and I have traveled the world for years and this was by far one of the loveliest places we were given to stay. This majestic house is set in the Hivernage area which is so calm and peaceful but only 15 minutes walk from the Djema El fna in the meantime. Marrakech at its best ! And if you like this type of place where one really feel special we would also recommend "restaurant Riad Monceau". By far our best restaurant experience in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. There was lots of attention to details such as the flowers, rose petals, candles, incense and generally every effort made to make it look breathtaking at most times. The hotel is a large house and this also adds to it's charm. It has several communal areas rather than one large lobby/reception area so it feels like a home from home. The staff were generally very attentive but sometimes you were left waiting for long time at breakfast or at the bar.

Our room was lovely. Very large, spacious, clean and traditionally decorated but also comfortable and with a sumptious feel.

Breakfast was good but did not offer enough variety if you were there for a few days. The restaurant was as good too but did not offer anything different to other restaurants we'd visited.

The best thing for us however was its location. Near enough to the Medina to walk but far enough to get away from it all when it gets unbearable. This is the perfect place for first time visitors to Marrakech because of its location, you can dip in and out of the chaos! It is also a great hotel to just relax and lounge by the pool and not do any sights. And definitely recommend it for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Even for spoiled guests like we are, this riad - the best in Marrakesh - is an astounding experience. Lovely romantic rooms, a superb decorated courtyard, with lovely grand white, yellow and red bougainvilles make this an exceptionally beautiful riad/ chambre d'hotes. With a friendly and professional staff having an excellent eye for detail, your stay will be remembered as one of the best you had in recent times. The room we stayed in (on the top floor, a suite) has a terrasse, with soft white pillows where you can enjoy the later afternoon and evening sun. The rooms are individually decorated with small but convenient bathrooms. From breakfast, lunch to a traditional Moroccan dinner, the food is excellent (if you like you can also eat spaghetti or your favourite western dish) this is what you expect from a hotel, a small but beautiful pearl in Marrakesh.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We are a family of 6 with four children ages 5 to 11 and we booked a 2 bedroom suite for 3 nights in this absolutely lovely Riad. It was our first trip to Marrakech and i cannot imagine a nicer way to visit this city. The grounds at the hotel are lush and fragrant with gardens, fruit trees and flowers everywhere. The rooms were beautiful and there were rose petals on our beds every night! The pool is so nice after a warm day of shopping in the medina. The staff is fantastic and the level of personal attention they give you from the moment you reserve until we checked out was outstanding. Everyone at the hotel was so helpful and they were great with our children. It is a very relaxing and elegant hotel and the food was also very good and they made us a reservation at a great restaurant on our las night as well. I would highly recommend this Riad to families with well behaved children or anyone who wants a beautiful and exotic trip to morocco! We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — it was just lovely in every way
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casablanca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

I recently had the opportunity to spend a couple nights in Dar Rhizlane, in Marrakech, and was very very satisfied with this Riad. I live in Morocco (Casablanca) and am always somewhat diffident about Riads "over marketing" themselves as being the best when in fact they are just OK (I have already had this experience in Marrakech). Dar Rhizlane was all the more a superbe surpise. We had two rooms and a joint living room with an ample terrace that overlooked the incredible garden and pool... the rooms were spotless and comfortable (and quite spacious, with huge beds!), the garden is absolutely stunning, and the pool was clean and well kept. The riad is very close to the center of Marrakech, yet very calm and quiet, and all the rooms are very private from one another, which I especially appreciated. It was like being at home... Only the breakfast, although ample, was not their best asset (more fresh fruit would be a welcome addition) and the airconditioning unit in certain rooms was slightly loud, but everything else was so pleasant, it will definitely become my preferred Marrakech destination, even if only for a quiet weekend by the pool.

  • Liked — Elegant, calm, stunning garden, central location
  • Disliked — breakfast, and wifi access only from pool and reception area (but free).
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Rhizlane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Rhizlane

Address: Avenue Jnane El Harti | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#124 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#183 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Rhizlane 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of the Hivernage residential district, Dar Rhizlane stand as private charming house for those looking for peace, serenity and more importantly to see without being seen. walking distance from the ancient historical wall of the red city, Jamaa el fan square and the Koutoubia mosque, you can enjoy from both day and night life. Composed of 15 rooms and 5 suites in two different buildings one built in 1999 and one in 1942, separated by a great landscaping full of lemon, orange, palm trees as well as bassins you can relax in a human size pool and enjoy the magic light. For those looking for a culinary experience, you will be charmed by our Executive Chef Zakya who created over 13 years a real moroccan cuisine with a little twist making of your diner a real "carnival", not to mention that we use our own organic products from our own farm. What else! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Dar Rhizlane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Rhizlane Marrakech
Dar Rhizlane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Rhizlane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.