We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for your nice care” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Mouassine

Save Saved
You added Dar Mouassine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Mouassine
148 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #361 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Thank you for your nice care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This authentique riad was a highlight of our trip. The location in the aiceint Medina where you can see the real life of its citizens, chariot with donkeys, ladies passing buy to the local oven to bake their bread.. All is very interesting. I would like to say that the service in riad is very attentive, David and Guy were so nice to us, helping in every thing starting from restaraunt reservation ending with the spa activities. Thank you all the staff for the nice holidays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    12
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
48
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We estayed there for 3 nights.
It was a really nice and clean place and the owners or people in charge was really kind.
A beautiful place inside the Medina and quite close the markets (sokos) and the main square "Djemaa el-Fna".

Suggestion: Take the taxi that they offer you to pick you up at the airport or train station. It really worth it. To find a place in the old city (medina) the first time is very difficult and kind of risky if it is your first time.

Room Tip: I would suggest to stay at the upper floors because in the ground floor people have dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for the last 2 nights of our Morocco trip and wanted to finish on a high note. Its in a perfect location for souks and square, and central medina, and tucked away down a few alleys so really nice and quiet. The bedrooms were wonderful (we stayed in Suite Cardamone), and the courtyard very tranquil with lots of greenery. The dipping pool is lovely as its away from the central courtyard and down a passageway, giving privacy. Its also deep enough for a proper dip rather than just a toe dangle. Breakfast up on the terrace was delicious (one of the better we've had in Marrakech) and we ate dinner one evening which was cooked to perfection. The staff were friendly and helpful.

There were a couple of slight negatives. First, there was maintenance work going on each day, both up on the terrace and around the dipping pool. This meant that relaxing in these areas was just not really possible, although the workers were being as discreet as they could. There were piles of rubble everywhere, and it really spoiled the atmosphere. I do understand the difficulty of keeping these old buildings maintained, but it was still a shame. Perhaps it would have been nice to be forewarned.

Our room was also not the cleanest, with several hairs all over the place and other things that did not belong to us.

The other disappointing thing was the ambience. In other riads we've stayed in (5 more now) the public rooms are usually lit up nicely, inviting and sometimes with music in the background. At Dar Mouassine the public rooms (i.e. the salon, library etc) were kept totally dark, we didn't even know if we could go in them. And sometimes the place felt totally deserted with the usual 'house manager' not being around.

This is a shame as the place is lovely and has the potential to be up there with the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Canelle Suite. It was so beautiful. The owners and staff were lovely and very helpful. Breakfast each morning was delicious and the roof top sitting area was lovely. We chose to spend our last day jsut relaxing at the Riad enjoying the calm. It is so well situated for exploring the old city and the Place Jamaa el Fna. The food is incredible and the dinner we had at the hotel was the best we had the whole trip. It was also surprisingly quiet, especially for something so close to all the action. I would absolutely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We booked this reasonably priced and could not have been happier with our stay. Though its perfectly positioned for immediately dipping into the souks, its location and the way it is run makes
it an oasis of calm within the extraordinary intensity of the medina. The room (Salle Cardamon) was beautifully decorated as is the whole riad (the courtyard and roof terrace are great places to eat and relax amongst lush foliage). The staff are very friendly, attentive and charming while the evening meals we had were definitely amongst the best food we had in Morocco. Will return, for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked four nights in the Room "Berbère" at this Riad at the end of Aug 2012.

At first we struggled to find something in Marrakech, as there is a countless choice of Riad in this City. However we chose Dar Mouassine thanks to some friends and we didn't regret It any minute. Our Stay was just great !

To sum up:
- This is an old Riad but It is perfectly maintained. It feels good just to stay in the Patio and look at the details on the Walls, the Doors, and with trees just there in the middle.
- Rooms are nicely decorated, big and clean. The washrooms are amazing and beautiful as well. And by the way there is aircon in the Room (newly installed as far as I understood)
- Well located at 5 mns walk from Jemaa el Fna, and very close to the Souks. And stil very quiet.
- Service was good and very helpful. Very well managed.
- There is a small swimming pool, located in the corner of the Riad. If you need to relax and cool down, this is perfect.

Points to improve:
- Breakfast was a bit light and was lacking of imagination.

I would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This riad has a genuine hospitality. David and Guy did everything possible to make our holidays confortable and relaxing. They have reccommended nice places to visit and all their recommendation were truly good. The service is really personalized.

The riad itself is clean. There is a nice terrace for sunbathing. This is genuin morrocan riad with a soul. The location is wonderful. It is near the souks, medina and the famouse square and not far from the new city.
We have spent wounderful time. Thank you David and Guy.
Anto and Ali

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Mouassine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Mouassine

Address: 148 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Mouassine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Mouassine Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Mouassine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.