We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Riad with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Mouassine

Save Saved
You added Dar Mouassine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Dar Mouassine
148 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #356 of 1,032 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Riad with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Canelle Suite. It was so beautiful. The owners and staff were lovely and very helpful. Breakfast each morning was delicious and the roof top sitting area was lovely. We chose to spend our last day jsut relaxing at the Riad enjoying the calm. It is so well situated for exploring the old city and the Place Jamaa el Fna. The food is incredible and the dinner we had at the hotel was the best we had the whole trip. It was also surprisingly quiet, especially for something so close to all the action. I would absolutely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We booked this reasonably priced and could not have been happier with our stay. Though its perfectly positioned for immediately dipping into the souks, its location and the way it is run makes
it an oasis of calm within the extraordinary intensity of the medina. The room (Salle Cardamon) was beautifully decorated as is the whole riad (the courtyard and roof terrace are great places to eat and relax amongst lush foliage). The staff are very friendly, attentive and charming while the evening meals we had were definitely amongst the best food we had in Morocco. Will return, for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked four nights in the Room "Berbère" at this Riad at the end of Aug 2012.

At first we struggled to find something in Marrakech, as there is a countless choice of Riad in this City. However we chose Dar Mouassine thanks to some friends and we didn't regret It any minute. Our Stay was just great !

To sum up:
- This is an old Riad but It is perfectly maintained. It feels good just to stay in the Patio and look at the details on the Walls, the Doors, and with trees just there in the middle.
- Rooms are nicely decorated, big and clean. The washrooms are amazing and beautiful as well. And by the way there is aircon in the Room (newly installed as far as I understood)
- Well located at 5 mns walk from Jemaa el Fna, and very close to the Souks. And stil very quiet.
- Service was good and very helpful. Very well managed.
- There is a small swimming pool, located in the corner of the Riad. If you need to relax and cool down, this is perfect.

Points to improve:
- Breakfast was a bit light and was lacking of imagination.

I would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This riad has a genuine hospitality. David and Guy did everything possible to make our holidays confortable and relaxing. They have reccommended nice places to visit and all their recommendation were truly good. The service is really personalized.

The riad itself is clean. There is a nice terrace for sunbathing. This is genuin morrocan riad with a soul. The location is wonderful. It is near the souks, medina and the famouse square and not far from the new city.
We have spent wounderful time. Thank you David and Guy.
Anto and Ali

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were pleased to find this Riad hidden down a small alley of the medina.

The narrow entrance hallway opens up to a beautiful 3 story courtyard with large plants and a beautiful bougainvillea which reaches all the way to the roof. The rooms are cozy and tastefully decorated.

What we enjoyed most was the fact that the owner preserved many of the original elements of the riad including some original tiles, doorways and painted ceilings. This was refreshing since so many of Marrakech's renovated riads lose their original charm.

There is also a library and a little pool. There are several charming common spaces. We were not charged for afternoon tea which we had most days or for laundry. The staff was very generous.

If you are looking for classic Moroccan charm and western comforts, it doesn't get better than this.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

I was there in the month of November and found a beautiful athmosphere! Great deal and best service! Rooms are very well kept, all in Marochian style. Perfect getaway from the confusion of the city. Also, included in the price, they offered me a very nice continental breakfast with fresh local fruits and lots of nice things. On the rooftop there's a nice balcony where you can stay for a nice moment of relax.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

8 people, 2 families with two 12 year olds and 2 college aged, and a first time visit to North Africa and Marrakech. Erick was very helpful via email prior to trip, and his staff made it feel like home. Dinner if you want ( the best one we had during our 5 day stay) for a reasonable charge, and breakfast included in price with food that everyone loved. Tea was served if we requested it. An oasis of quiet in the chaos of the city. Our group loved the rooms, and we took up much of the riad, but we might have done better without the really private room off the back of the roof terrace, which a parent- unit took. It was a little far away from the action. Super staff who took a liking to us and our family. Bring your French skills, as Erick was not always available for English. We were there in cold weather, so small pool not needed for cooling off. Pool is really for cooling off, not really for lounging by, so use roof top terrace.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Mouassine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Mouassine

Also Known As:
Dar Mouassine Hotel Marrakech
Dar Mouassine Hotel
Address: 148 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 1,032 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Mouassine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Mouassine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.