We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wonderful time in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Mouassine

Save Saved
You added Dar Mouassine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Dar Mouassine
148 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #349 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Really wonderful time in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This riad has a genuine hospitality. David and Guy did everything possible to make our holidays confortable and relaxing. They have reccommended nice places to visit and all their recommendation were truly good. The service is really personalized.

The riad itself is clean. There is a nice terrace for sunbathing. This is genuin morrocan riad with a soul. The location is wonderful. It is near the souks, medina and the famouse square and not far from the new city.
We have spent wounderful time. Thank you David and Guy.
Anto and Ali

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were pleased to find this Riad hidden down a small alley of the medina.

The narrow entrance hallway opens up to a beautiful 3 story courtyard with large plants and a beautiful bougainvillea which reaches all the way to the roof. The rooms are cozy and tastefully decorated.

What we enjoyed most was the fact that the owner preserved many of the original elements of the riad including some original tiles, doorways and painted ceilings. This was refreshing since so many of Marrakech's renovated riads lose their original charm.

There is also a library and a little pool. There are several charming common spaces. We were not charged for afternoon tea which we had most days or for laundry. The staff was very generous.

If you are looking for classic Moroccan charm and western comforts, it doesn't get better than this.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

I was there in the month of November and found a beautiful athmosphere! Great deal and best service! Rooms are very well kept, all in Marochian style. Perfect getaway from the confusion of the city. Also, included in the price, they offered me a very nice continental breakfast with fresh local fruits and lots of nice things. On the rooftop there's a nice balcony where you can stay for a nice moment of relax.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

8 people, 2 families with two 12 year olds and 2 college aged, and a first time visit to North Africa and Marrakech. Erick was very helpful via email prior to trip, and his staff made it feel like home. Dinner if you want ( the best one we had during our 5 day stay) for a reasonable charge, and breakfast included in price with food that everyone loved. Tea was served if we requested it. An oasis of quiet in the chaos of the city. Our group loved the rooms, and we took up much of the riad, but we might have done better without the really private room off the back of the roof terrace, which a parent- unit took. It was a little far away from the action. Super staff who took a liking to us and our family. Bring your French skills, as Erick was not always available for English. We were there in cold weather, so small pool not needed for cooling off. Pool is really for cooling off, not really for lounging by, so use roof top terrace.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

This was our first riad in a 3 week stay in Morocco and we had read some good reviews so were expecting a lot. We were led to the riad by a man who then demanded a lot of money for his services, he started to get aggressive and the riad actually led him inside so he could hassle us in there! It is not easy to find on your own as it is down a lot of small alleys. Not a good start to the stay. We stayed in the Letchine room which was OK although the plug in the shower was blocked with so much hair it created a bath under our feet as we showered. When settling the bill in the smoke filled office they tried to overcharge us. The staff were not particularly helpful or attentive, very underwhelmed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

Compared to a fancy spa and resort catering to tourists, this place falls short. For someone wishing to have a more authentic, less pampered experience, this was perfect. We stayed two nights, despite the lack of effective air conditioning (one unit all the way across the long room from the bed). Breakfast was simple (juice, coffee/tea, some fruit, yogurt, and a bread/carb) but did the job. It was served in the open air interior courtyard with plants all around. The plunge pool was clean and surprisingly crisp and cool. It was available 24 hours a day, and we used it both late night and late afternoon and had it to ourselves both times. The best attribute for this place (other than its authenticity) is its location, just minutes from the main plaza/souk). One problem is that it is fairly difficult to find. The taxi that dropped off could not enter the winding neighborhood. One hires a guy with a push cart who then delivers you (and your luggage) to your destination. Our guy didn't really know where the Dar Mouassine was located. After asking several locals for directions, we got there just fine and were warmly greeted by the English-speaking owner/manager Eric. The rooms are varied; we saw one that was enormous, but with no advance reservations, we were grateful for space at all. Our room had no lock on the door (none did), no in-room safe, no fancy bathroom, and a ceiling fan above the bed that squeaked. Having said that, I'd still recommend staying here for its proximity and simple reflection of Marrakesh.

  • Liked — Its location.
  • Disliked — The lack of an air-conditioned room when returning hot, sweaty & exhausted!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2007

The pre-booked taxi either didn't show up or left early - probably not helped by the fact that it took 1 hour for passport control to let everyone though. Luckily, a taxi driver, whose fare didn't show up took us to the Riad, which was very good because it is down an impossible to find alleyway.

As soon as we entered, we were very impressed by the entire place and our room, the cardamon was very beautiful, ornate ceilings, well furnished. Towels and dressing gowns, whilst clean and fresh, looked a bit "tired" and worn.

Both my wife and I had booked a massage and that was truly wonderful, quite clearly given by a trained masseur, who turned out to be the manager of the riad.

On our last night, whilst I had just started my massage, suddenly the lights went out and the masseur disappeared. Moments later there was an awful lot of screaming and banging. I got dressed and discovered that there was a fire and the staff were into panic mode, shouting incomprehensibly in their mother tongue. No English and only one of them could speak French. It turned out that they wanted us on the terrace roof (for a possible escape to next door buildings). In the end the fire turned out to be an electrical fire just inside the entrance. It completely burnt out the electrics and could have been a lot worse. An electrician spent 4 hours re-wiring and trying to resolve the problem. He only partially did so, clearly there was more deeper problem somewhere else.

We had booked dinner in the riad that evening but our clothes smelt of smoke, my wife could not finish drying her hair, so whilst the food (cooked by Latifa) was excellent and the atmosphere in the dining room was cosy, it just didn't go as well as it could have done, with all the drama that had occurred.

We were not charged for our bottle of wine with our meal and the evening finished off fine (with partial electrics!)

I have read other reports about this riad and quite a few suggest that it requires a bit of TLC and that with the owners being away, the service is not perhaps as good as it might be. I think we would echo this. Communication was terrible and the fire showed how bad this was. It could have been worse. They were friendly, but could have gone that extra bit after the drama, to make their guests feel abit more comfortable.

This place could be great, as it is we would give it an average review.

  • Liked — Character, right in the middle of the Medina, decor
  • Disliked — Could have been a bit cleaner, could have been better communication
  • Tips/Secrets — Check it out first, perhaps things may have changed, in which case it'll be magical
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Mouassine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Mouassine

Also Known As:
Dar Mouassine Hotel Marrakech
Dar Mouassine Hotel
Address: 148 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Mouassine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Mouassine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.