We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location & great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Limoun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Limoun to your Saves list
Dar Limoun
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   25 Derb Ben Amrane | Riad Zitoun El Qdim, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #665 of 1,134 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Eldoret, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location & great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

There are many fancier, plush (and less Moroccan) places to stay for more money, but Dar Limoun really is close to Djemaa El Fna, is comfortable, super clean, has great staff, has proper bathrooms and cost us ~$40/night for a double B&B. We were pleased with the choice!

Although difficult to find the first couple of times (like everything in any Moroccan medina), it was an island of peace and serenity. The week we were there, the temperatures topped out over 50degC (that's in excess of 120degF), but we were still very comfortable with only a small tabletop fan in our room. The caretaker is very friendly and takes his job very seriously - he let us in and showed us our room, allowing us a shower and a 2 hour nap before we found him to fill out the mandatory forms and pay him for our stay. Once you learn your way around a bit, Djemaa El Fna is less than 5 minutes walk and the alley back the Dar Limoun is easily found in one of the corners leading out of the square.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bromley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

i went to dar limoun with my daughter and her friend and right frm the begining we were made to feel welcome nothing was too much trouble for the young man who was the manager his name was Fouad.he made sure our stay was happy his friend Nagem of Tidrarine tours who picked us up at the airport went to great trouble to make sure we enjoyed our 4 days there, he took us to Chez Ali one evening which we enjoyed a great venue which looked like a palace with local entertainment of music dancing and berber horsemen, with a four course meal and another day he took us to the atlas mountains where we saw a berber market and a berber village and many other interesting things, they also have a friend abdel who has a leather shoe shop just round the corner where we bought some lovely camel leather slippers while drinking mint tea and laughing at his funny antics. in all we had a very enjoyable and interesting time made special by fouad and nagem and friends the riad was clean and comfortable and homely but it was the freindlyness of these young men that made it great. Nagem looked after me like i was his mother,(i am 72 ) i certainly would love to go back.The location of the riad was very quite but only a short walk from place jemaa el fna which was very enteraining in the evenings and the souks which was for 3 ladies free from their husband for a few days fasinating.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Lovely Riad only 5 min walk to the main square. Lovely rooms, clean and well maintained. The manager was very helpful and nothing too much trouble e.g. picking up and dropping off at airport. Lovely roof and excellent mint tea! Trips attached to the Riad, excellent and easily organised. All in all a fab Riad!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

We booked 1 night at Dar Limoun via hostelworld.com. We booked the cheapest room (a twin) but were given a couble at no extra cost. The room was lovely - excellent value for the price bracket; it was clean, warm, and the water hot. The breakfast was simple and tasty (as good as you'll get in most cheaper hotels in Morocco). We wanted to stay there more nights but couldn't get a room for the nights we needed - the staff were really helpful in arranging alternative accom that (whilst not quite as good) was still good value for our budget.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

Beautiful little place, 2 minutes from the main square and off one of the most well known streets, Riad Zitoun el-Qedim. We stayed 2 nights during February and found the staff to be very friendly (and patient with our complete lack of French speaking skills). We found the Riad to be very cool and relaxing and the decor clean and nice. The bathroom was basic but clean and well-working.

The easiest way to find Dar Limoun is to either get a cab to Riad Zitoun el-Qedim or the maiin square, Jemma el Fna and then pay somebody nearby to show you the way. There are 2 small, orange signs about halfway down Riad Zitoun el-Qedim which point the way if you want to do it yourself. Ring the doorbell once there and the manager/owner will let you in. The manager appears to be the only person who speaks english and is there from about 6pm-11am each day. The rest of the time, French and Arabic speaking staff look after the place and are more than happy to communicate with English speaking travellers by gestures and the aid of a French phrasebook.

All in all, we would recommend Dar Limoun to anyone travelling to Marrakech. In such a hectic town, it was a great, hassle-free place to escape to.

  • Liked — Price, location, staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

i was pretty unpleased with dar limoun. although we had a 3 double bedroom booking, we got there (tired and eager to rest!) only to find 2 double bedroom where they fit us in! (and then trying to make us pay triple rooms, pffff). Anyway we were not the unluckiest ones as a couple of more people arrived behind us with bookings and no rooms availabel! that's a real shame to be so badly organised because otherwise, the hotel is indeed very well located in the heart of la medina and quiet too, although very simple (towels had a funny smell too... but can't be too picky for the price it offers which is very competitive)

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — smallness and lasck of rooms!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2005

We arrived four of us in Marrakech by car via the Tizi n' Test without having booked anything, in the middle of the full season. We were redirected there by the hotel Sherazade that we knew from earlier trips but that was full. We found a "great" house, although modest and simple, where we got two of the four very comfortable small double rooms (showers and toilets) with the best taste decoration (very nice moroccan objects and photographs). It was calm even though locvate in the heart of the medina. The walk to get there is pleasant. The place looks remote because you have to pass a few arcades as if as many protective doors. The small patio and the salon that opens in it are protective too. Friendly and discrete hospitality, over abundant breakfast. Very modest price for the riad -like quality and privacy enjoyed here. A very pleasant and simple place.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dar Limoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Limoun

Address: 25 Derb Ben Amrane | Riad Zitoun El Qdim, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #665 of 1,134 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Limoun 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Dar Limoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Limoun Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Limoun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.