We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great riad!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Limoun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar Limoun to your Saves list
Dar Limoun
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   25 Derb Ben Amrane | Riad Zitoun El Qdim, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #662 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great riad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Myself and my sister stayed in the Dar Limoun in March 2011, and in April 2012 I returned with my husband. It's a lovely, quaint riad, clean and so near to everything, the location is perfect.

Whilst in Marrakesh we went on the tourist bus which was very good, and we visited Tombeaux Saadiens (the entrance fee is very cheap).

We booked two day trips with the Dar Limoun riad owner to Essaouira and Ourika Valley. A very nice young Moroccan man came to the riad to take us to the mini bus. A tip for Ourika Valley: make sure you wear trainers / walking boots, and wear shorts or jeans, not a skirt or dress as there's lots of climbing, so make sure your footwear is decent for climbing! There's quite a lot of walking up rocks, sometimes walking through shallow water, and walking over dodgy / uneven bridges. The trip isn't dreadfully good for the unfit, elderly people or people with walking difficulties. I was going to wear a maxi dress and sandals, but thank goodness I didn't, I wore shorts and borowed a pair of my husbands trainers!

Breakfast in the Dar Limoun is basic, but very nice. There are towels in the bathroom, the bed is comfortable, an there's spare blankets in the wardrobe. The owner of the riad is very nice, and very helpful.

I would definately return to this riad when I next return to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Billund, Denmark
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had the nice room up on top with easy access to the roof terrace. the room was nice, the duvet excellent. breakfats was okay - the last day we had morroccan bread/pancakes - that helped. service is okay, the woman during the day doesn't speak other than morroccan and didn't want to give us toilet paper when we ran out but the guy that speaks french and some english is very helpful. it is centrally located and the street nearby has shops, small kiosk and in the evening a good cake vendor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmanDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel owner was very nice and friendly and even upgraded us to a better room in our second night without charging extra. I think the location was perfect as we were only a couple of minutes walk away from the main square. I really enjoyed my weekend in Marrakech, so much in fact I'm staying here again next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traceyterrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This was a nice place. The owner was very friendly and came to a meeting place to pick us up on time. We only stayed for on night. The room was good but there quite a few ants. We had coffee and orange juice given to us for breakfast. He told us he was going to make us eggs but that never happened. I would go again because of how good the location is. You are virtually a few steps from the square. It is a 1 minute walk through a seemingly safe alley and you have arrived.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed here with friends in a triple room (a double and a single bed). The room was simple, but very clean and had a really nice vibe. The riad was small but also had a good vibe. The courtyard was a great place to hang out and to enjoy the free breakfast.

The location was grand - easy to find and close to Djemaa el Fna. And the value for money seemed really good compared to other riads that we stayed at. Although others were a bit posher (more tiling, indoor fountains etc), this really had everything we needed.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Me and my sister stayed at the Dar Limoun in March 2011 and had a lovely time. The Dar Limoun is clean, comfortable, and is very central, only taking a few minutes to walk to the square and the souks. We went on two trips whilst staying in Marrakesh, one to Essaouira which was lovely, and Ouarzazate another day, which was lovely, but it's a long, long way to travel and no good for people who don't travel well!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

We stayed here twice, at the beginning and end of a ten day stay in Morocco. Typical small Riad with rooms around a courtyard, a sunny roof top terrace and friendly and helpful staff. The room was clean and tidy and though the shower room was in need of a bit of "refreshment" it also was clean and worked well-lots of hot water and fresh towels each day.
By no means a luxury destination but fabulous value with a decent breakfast included and,of course, a brilliant location literally two minutes from the Djemm el Fna which is where you want to be in Marrakech.
Will I stay here again? Certainly

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skyhigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#180 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#182 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#164 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#124 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#128 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Limoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Limoun

Address: 25 Derb Ben Amrane | Riad Zitoun El Qdim, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #662 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Limoun 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Limoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Limoun Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing