We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar Hanane - a tranquil oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Hanane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar Hanane to your Saves list
Dar Hanane
9 Derb Lalla Azzouna | Kaat Benahid, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Dar Hanane - a tranquil oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Dar Hanane is a beautiful riad just a stones throw from all the sights. A very traditional moroccan oasis. Bathed in the golden sunlight which is cast through a small grove in the centre, it was heavenly. We were warmly welcomed and looked after fantastically. The attentive staff were always willing to help and everything seemed possible.

I noticed some stunning paintings all over the walls of Dar Hanane - they added to the beauty of the place.

A flawless stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    28
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
128
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a really lovely 3 days in Dar Hanane. It is a delightful riad, an oasis of calm, quiet and beauty in the midst of the 'madness' of the Medina. The administration and organisation of our booking was excellent, we were met very efficiently at the airport and transported to within a short walk of the riad - our bags were moved from the taxi to the riad through the narrow alleyways in a large barrow, a first taste of life in the Medina! We were made to feel extremely welcome and we were very well looked after by Mandy, the charming Aziz and the other staff throughout our visit; nothing seemed too much for them in their desire to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Our room was very comfortable, the food was excellent and we could not fault any aspect of our stay. We loved staying in such delightful surroundings and being able to step out into the alleyways to enjoy the souk and everything else that the Medina had to offer. Good value and strongly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you are lookingn for a cool, calm, clean & beautiful place where you feel safe & secure, visit Dar Hanane. The staff will greet you warmly & guide you to the riad which is in a small alley off a bigger alley 5 minutes walk from a taxi pick-up point ont he edge of the old city. Everyone was concerned to ensure that we had a good time, saw all the sights but didn't do too much! They warned us we would get lost but made sure we could find our way back eventually!
I could go on but there are several other reviews saying the same thing: go & see for yourself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We initially came for 2 nights and end up spending 4 nights at Dar Hanane which was all of our time in Marrakech. The Riad is itself is beautiful with white walls and powder blue trimmings. We ate breakfast on the roof terrace most days. The meals prepared on site are excellent and you won't be left hungry.

The staff will provide you a hand drawn map as well as a standard Marrakech map, you will need it in the Medina, but once you get your bearings it is remarkably easy to get around. The staff will help with what ever you want to do and are very friendly, genuine, and professional. English is spoken. This is a well run Riad with staff genuinely interested in the getting the best out of their city for you. We found Aziz a delight in particular during the time he escorted us around.

Gary and Meg

Room Tip: A good tip is to get a Taxi to El Moukef, which is a far as you can go by car and have a staff membe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This raid made our trip!It was the kindest staff I have ever met. They arranged a large amount of our trip, arranged driver, drew us a map of the souks as to not get lost, I cannot say enough kind words about the staff. The location was superb, in the middle of the medina but quiet and comfortable as soon as you step inside. The food was great, breakfast with the room fee and ask them to make you the beef and date tangine! The rooms was perfect, clean, airy and plenty of room to move around. The ambiance was the best part for me, It was absolutely amazing and we felt so safe. Thank you Mandy, Aziz and Mohammad!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The riad Dar Hanane is perfect in every way and is run by Stuart Redcliffe. You are looked after to the highest standard by a professional trained team. What ever your request is at any time of day or night is carried out quietly and efficiently. Most lovely of all is the central courtyard with natural growing Seville orange trees. You start your day of with a most enjoyable breakfast under a tented roof outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was fortunate enough to sample not one but two tagine at Dar Hanane. My first tagine (ever) was the traditional lemon chicken with Moroccan green olives. I had never heard of, much less tried preserved lemons before this meal. It did not disappoint. In fact this tagine became my favourite during my stay and I would go on to sample it at different locations and in different cities. However my first try at Dar Hanane remained the most flavourful.

I also had a beef tagine that had been prepared with nuts, dates and figs. The result was a sweet, rich meal that I will attempt to duplicate at home. Both meals were served with freshly made bread, and wonderful salads. Fruit with cinnamon capped the lunches. These were also so abundant that I found I wasn't hungry for dinner.

Finally the service was friendly, welcoming and warm. I'd happily return for a meal in this lovely place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Hanane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Hanane

Address: 9 Derb Lalla Azzouna | Kaat Benahid, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Hanane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Hanane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Hanane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.