We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Doukkala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Dar Doukkala to your Saves list
Dar Doukkala
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   83 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #425 of 1,066 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Paradise in the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We Stayed in room five for 3 nights, the room was spacious and beautifully appointed. The staff were extremely friendly and obliging. The breakfast was simple but good. Based in the Medina, close to everything and the price was fair.
We can definitely recommend this Riad.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Lovely hotel but the food is so very bland, we are vegetarian and I had vegetable couscous and my wife, vegetable tagine. Both had very little flavour and a side salad was lacking any seasoning, the wine was OK but very diappointing

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

great location easy to visit all the sights. friendly staff will help book taxis and trips nothing to much trouble.suite 6 excellent the best bed i have ever slept in and the private terrace outstanding. Peaceful clean surroundings, relax in style in this spacious mini palace. Good value for money, try the evening meal great atmosphere in the evening no need to go out every night.

Room Tip: all rooms looked great but go for suite 6 and spoil yourself. A bath the size of two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

There are so many Riad's to choose from, in so many different price ranges, it's very difficult to decide. The Dar Doukkala is a little gem of a Riad for a very good price. The rooms are beautiful, spacious, and authentic. Some with little fireplaces (complete with logs and matches) that we didn't use in May because the weather was very hot. We spent two nights here in the triple room (there are 6 to 8 in all, with a large Suite that is perfect for families) and my children absolutely loved it. There is a cute little pool on the second story, the house looks like an old mansion, and we were able to use the hammam and get scrubbed, washed with traditional black soap and massaged. The breakfast is absoutely excellent, large, with home made jams and honey, traditional moroocan style "pancakes" and bread and toast, yougurt and eggs. It's very well situated and close to where many taxis and horse carriages wait or pass by. Would highly recommend for any type of traveler wanting high quality but on a budget as well. You can also ask to have dinner in a courtyard and the cook will come and make a home made traditional Moroccan dinner if ordered in advance in the morning.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are simply lovely, look on the website to choose the one best adapted to your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Fascinating ryad in a most convenient location, extremely nicely furnished. Excellent cuisine. Nice though sometimes not totally efficient personel. Very good prices for the true beauty you get.
Be aware that they do not accept AmEx cards, but they forget to tell you until you produce the card for check out ( even though it is the same card you used to secure your reservation !).
And remember that they only have one key to each room, so do not take it with you for the day or they would not be able to clean your room.
All the above we learned at our expenses, but would gladly forgive in consideration of the fact that everybody was extremely kind. I would go back tomorrow !

Room Tip: In summer, the suite with private balcony on the first floor. In winter, the suite with private ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

loved this tranquil space - spent 9 nights there while shopping in Marrakech last year . Each room has a style of its own . Value for money . Loved the location . Enjoyed the zellij swimming pool . Spacious Rooms .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

A very beautiful and spacious riad with lovely courtyard and two sunny roof terraces. The food was stunning and the service very friendly and patient (our French and Arabic was limited!). They even offered to post our postcards as we forgot to find stamps while shopping!
We like to try different places but think it'd be hard to pass up Dar Doukkala for our next trip to Marrakech.

Room Tip: From what we saw all the rooms were beautifully fitted out and very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Doukkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Doukkala

Address: 83 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #425 of 1,066 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Doukkala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Dar Doukkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Doukkala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.