We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience that we would recommend to anyone.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
POOL SUITE DEAL
Ranked #12 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Hampshire, UK
1 review
“A fantastic experience that we would recommend to anyone.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

My wife and I travelled to Marrakech for a four night break. We were picked up by the hotel staff at the airport and taken to Dar Ayniwen. When the road turned to a track we wondered where we were headed but little did we know....

From the moment the big wooden doors at the entrance were opened, we were welcomed and made to feel at home. We were amazed by the surroundings and even more impressed with our suite. The hot tub in our own private outdoor area was particularily impressive.

During our stay Aziz and his staff were very friendly and helpful; nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and available at times of our choosing. The free shuttle bus service into the centre of Marrakesh was available at our convenience. We enjoyed days out seeing the sights of Marrakech, a day trip to the foothills of the Atlas mountains (arranged by the hotel at our request) and evenings soaking in the hot tub. Overall, a fantastic experience that we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    33
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
139
383
22
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Dar Ayniwen used to be the private residence of the family that now run it. It has lost none of the charm and privacy that you would expect from a large, well-maintained family house. We were treated as if we were part of the family.
There are a small number of rooms and villas and a large garden with citrus trees and paths alongside the aviaries. Although we went to Marrakech in early January to avoid the hordes of tourists that cram the city in the peak season, we felt that Dar Ayniwen could never lose any of its tranquility or privacy.
The staff are courteous, discreet and helpful. Our experience of Dar Ayniwen was faultless and to be able to say that about any hotel is astonishing, really. Maybe a tiny part of that is luck, but the rest is definitely hard work. You must have to work really hard to make everyone this relaxed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

It is with great pleasure that I provide a glowing review for this exceptional villa. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Aziz and the best mint tea and delicate cookies, we were treated like royalty AND like family. A quick tour was like a glimpse into the past when this was a family home, and now it opens its doors and arms to welcome travelers to this exotic land. We stayed in the separate villa just off the pool (with jacuzzi!!) that included a wide veranda and lush surroundings. It was perfect. As a family of 5, we had plenty of room to spread out and relax. The villa was comfortable, clean and wonderfully decorated, and this villa had two washrooms, which was a huge bonus! The beds were sumptuous and comfortable! The staff was extremely attentive and seemed to know what we needed before we did! Aziz was a wealth of knowledge and guided us to all the main attractions in Marrakech and arranged for the car to drop us off and pick us up to coincide with our sightseeing. He even arranged for camel rides for us right from the front gate! As well, we took full advantage of the chef at the villa. We let the staff pick different dishes for us to try, and we were never disappointed, as each meal outshone the next! As well, we were able to have our meals on our veranda, or in the main villa or even by the pool. We still talk about the fresh yogourt (best we've ever had) and the chicken sandwiches, and especially the lamb tangine! And of course, the mint tea. Now, how did the kids like the villa? They loved it! They still call it 'paradise' and want to go back!!! They took full advantage of every corner of the lush grounds to play, explore and visit the birds. They loved the pool and the grounds and our room also came with an entertainment centre so that after a long day of sightseeing in the medina, they could crash and watch one of many movies available from the front desk. My two younger girls became fast friends with the sweet ladies on staff, and we all loved Zack. He was so resourceful, courteous, friendly and discreet, we really enjoyed getting to meet him and will always remember his warm Moroccan hospitality. We highly recommend Dar Ayniwen and would definitely return! Thank you Aziz, Zack, Stephan and staff for a wonderful vacation experience!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

This was a hotel, hard to judge. On the one hand the rooms are a dream and so is the park surrounding it. And the willingness to give good service is always there. So we only 4 points, not 5. First of all, small things are just not 5 Star, the madrass in our room had seen better days, some days there was no warm water in the morning, water leakage in the bath was only repaired when pointed out after three days; and the service in the restaurant was some time more Faulty Towers then Mamounia-Style. Still¨, it is an oasis of quiet that is really helpful when you are exposed to the noise of Marrakesch the rest of the day. The cooking (some earlier reviews complained) we found very good, although portions were always to large; and the cooking was only good when local receipies wee used, not when they tried to cook international style.
The pool never reached the promised 28 degrees and was too cold to enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darayniwen, Owner at Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Dear Hedgeman 63,

Thank you for your comment.
I do apologize for our failure to offer you the best stay ever, I am aware of the reasons for the problems you pointed out and understand that they are unacceptable on you end.
As you have written "the willingness to give good service is always there" and we will definitely take action to improve and fix our weaknesses.

Let me just point out to points for our readers:

We do change matresses quiet regularly and if this one has missed out of our control it will be now changed of course. (we do have matresses in stock and could have changed it right away on your request) It will of course be changed now.

Regardind the pool, this one is heated by a solar system coupled with a gas system... in short if there is no or little sun like it was in december, the 28° on a big pool like this are hard to reach ... However we did had an average of 26° C on our month pool records sheet.

Please remember,
I do live on the property and always try to offer the best service to our guests, I do wish you had told be about your problems and I would have naturally tried to find a solution.

Thank you again, your comments are highly important to us.

Regards
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Stephane, Aziz and the entire hotel staff provide flawless service. We travel very frequently - this property and staff provided one of the nicest experiences we've had in years. The rooms are spacious and beautiful, the grounds are lovely and pampered care is given to all the guests. The hotel restaurant was excellent. You could enjoy your meals in the garden, by the pool or in the villa - they would set the table with white linen, china and flowers anywhere you wanted. The staff has been with Stephane for years. Their experience and training shows in everything they do. The car and driver make the trip into the medina very simple. It is a great service provided free of charge. We used it frequently.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We are discerning travelers who travel abroad frequently with and without our three young children. We researched Marrakech on Trip Advisor and Google for quite sometime before choosing our hotel. We chose Dar Ayniwen based on the web photos, location, positive reviews as well as the raving write ups for Aziz, who manages the hotel. We were not disappointed: from a last minute room change at our request to camels brought to the hotel for a family excursion, to dinner beautifully prepared and brought to our room, to a special broth made after hours for our 4 year old who was feeling unwell. All of this was consistently delivered with a genuine smile, most of the time by Zacarias, who works with such joy and dedication. Our family looked forward to interacting with him and Aziz as well as the rest of the staff who made our stay feel as though we were home. We would definitely return to Dar Ayniwen.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights with my girlfriend, mother, sister, and 8 year old nephew a few weeks before Christmas and had a wonderful time at the hotel and exploring around Marrakech. The hotel was absolutely idyllic and the staff were the most friendly, helpful and welcoming I have ever come across when traveling. Aziz the manager was incredibly helpful with any of our arrangements and will definitely be traveling back for another stay soon. Thank you ever so much.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Address: Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel is a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity. Built as the owner's family home, in the Oriental-Andalusian style in a 5 acres park, 28 years ago, this majestic old residence with its charming and peaceful garden stands in front of the Atlas Mountains. This Villa-riad was turn into a luxury eight en-suites guesthouse in 2000, all of the very highest quality, is now run by the owner children, Anne & Stephane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ayniwen Marrakech
Dar Ayniwen Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.