We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel......Great Find!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
03=02
Ranked #11 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Cheshire
1 review
“Great Hotel......Great Find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Just far enough out of Marrakech and lovely and peaceful after the din of the Medina.Breakfasts wonderful with great local pancakes and crumpets,restaurant dinner also very good,although food and drinks prices quite high.
Kids loved the pool and the safe enviroment within the walls of the hotel.
The hotel is a real treat,with great service coming from Aziz and his waiters,waitress',drivers and maids.Thanks very much.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    558
    29
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
124
330
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We had the most wonderful stay at this incredibly peaceful and welcoming Riad. Aziz and his colleagues could not have been more welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. From breakfast by the pool every morning listening to the wonderful bird song to candle lit dinners at night. Aziz stressed that this was our home whilst we were there and he meant it....it was just so relaxing and peaceful. Being about fifteen minutes from Marrakesh meant complete calm whilst at Dar Ayniwen but the complementary cars made journeys out easy and stress free. A wonderful experience and one we will repeat. Thank you Aziz for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Absolutely stunning villa and gardens. We travelled with our 14 month old who was made extremely welcome. He enjoyed toddling around the gardens, chasing the tortoise and watching the parrots. I agree with the reviewer who said that it felt as if we were in a private villa rather than a hotel. Service is extremely personal and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is a 10/15 minute drive from Marrakech, but use of the car meant that this was no problem, and we actually enjoyed staying slightly away from the hustle of the centre.

We found it difficult on ocassion to find staff to order drinks from, and it seems a shame this was the case when it would be so easy to fix. We also had a few misunderstandings caused by language issues which is worth bearing in mind if you visit (only so that you make doubly sure everyone understands what you're asking for, this happened a couple of times, but as an example, we asked dinner to be served as soon as they were ready, whilst the staff thought we said we'd tell them we were ready - an hour and a half later, we realised the mistake). This said, it really did seem insignificant because the staff really are extremely helpful and friendly and we were so happy to be staying in such a wonderful place. We would undoubtedly return and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We had a wondeful stay at Dar Ayniwen on our first trip to Marrakech. The staff could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble, we would definitely stay there again, it felt as if we were in a private villa rather than a hotel. Aziz could not have been more heplful in organising our various trips.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

This was a second trip to Dar Ayniwen and it still managed to impress us and tick all the right boxes! All the previous reviews are so spot on....it is magical! You can't quite imagine what the fuss is all about until you’ve actually stayed there! On both trips we had chosen to stay for the first few days in the medina at two very chic and contemporary designed riads. Dar Ayniwen is quite a contrast in design with mix of antique and beautiful paintings and a bit of quirkiness thrown in! The gardens are simply stunning and in my view better than a trip to the Majorelle gardens which is full of tourists....don't bother, just stay here! Lying by the pool, surrounded by the wonderful birds, tortoises, guinea fowl and resident cat whilst reading a good novel is the best form of relaxation you could wish for. We were taken into town at the drop of a hat, but chose to have breakfast, lunch and dinner here as the food was excellent!
The staff are all exceptional; Aziz, Lamais and Zack were faultless and nothing was too much trouble. They seemed to glide and float around the house always with calmness but effortless efficiency which goes beyond all the 5 star hotels we have experienced. Not forgetting the tireless work which goes on around the beautiful gardens where the upkeep is impeccable and the staff always smiling! Thank you Stephane for a truly wonderful stay in your beautiful grand house..we shall be back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

This is an exceptional hotel, indeed. Located far enough from dusty, noisy and polluted Medina of Marrakech, surrounded by a wonderfull garden with a big heated pool, it was for us a quiet, relaxing and really luxuriuos run-away. Oriental interiors are all originals from 1819, when this villa was built. It is like a museum full of antique items (not for those who prefere modern interiors). Service is great- very very attentive and kind staff. Transfers are very well organised and in general a great service (which is included in the price). Marrakech Medina is just 20min drive and next golf course is 5min drive. It is recommended to have at least some basic french knowledge, because not all service people talk english, but all are great in french.
This hotel was a paradise for our kids- playing in this beautiful, big garden was a reall "slow life" experience, which is unfortunatelly not possible for so many city kids. Playing soccer, ping-pong, bathing in the pool, swinging in a hammac, observing little animals in the garden (parrots, turtles, gold fishes, butterflies), discovering smells and colours of trees and flowers- these were the delights for small ones. Our kids (3.5 and 1.5 years old) were treated like royalty; the staff was so kind with them, spoiling them with deliciuos menus and ice-creams. It was also possible to arrange baby-sitting when me and my husband went for dinner in Marrakech.
I also tried body massages and facials, it was a very relaxing experience.
Kitchen was open all day long, so there was a possibility to get food at any time of the day. Breakfast was splendid- deliciuos maroccan pancakes, very fresh pastries and lots of freshly pressed orange juice. For lunch and dinner hey offer a traditional moroccan and a french cuisine menus. Food was simple, of good quality, made from really fresh products. However, it wasnt a gastronomic top-end and therefore, a bit too expensive (to our opinion).
The only negative thing was that the babychair was never being cleaned. However, because all the rest was so great, we didnt mind not to complain and clean it ourselves before every meal.
We will definitely come back to this exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Have recently returned from the most amazing stay at this fabulous hotel. The biggest complement I can give it is that it felt you were staying with friends in the most amazing surroundings.

We went to Marrakech to chill out, and we hardly left the suite for the stay, let alone the hotel.

Stephane and Aziz are so friendly, and wil arrange anything.

We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Address: Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel is a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity. Built as the owner's family home, in the Oriental-Andalusian style in a 5 acres park, 28 years ago, this majestic old residence with its charming and peaceful garden stands in front of the Atlas Mountains. This Villa-riad was turn into a luxury eight en-suites guesthouse in 2000, all of the very highest quality, is now run by the owner children, Anne & Stephane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ayniwen Marrakech
Dar Ayniwen Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.