We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and tranquil hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Flash sale
Ranked #8 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing and tranquil hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We spent four wonderful nights in this amazing hotel and enjoyed everything about it .The food the service ,the suites and the peaceful ambiance are perfect .
Stephane and Aziz and all the staff made us extremely welcome .
We loved the gardens with exotic birds and plants and the swimming pool was very inviting .
The car and driver was ready whenever we wanted to go to the Medina or dinner but we loved eating in the hotel grounds and the wonderful surroundings of this paradise .
We would like to go back again next year .

Room Tip: The Galaxy suite was perfect for February because The sun rises in time for breakfast on the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    530
    29
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
117
317
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Superb accommodation - all suites, with very good housekeeping and splendid unobtrusive service. Food of good quality, extensive well-kept gardens, friendly frequent shuttle service, fine breakfasts by the pool or in suite. Hotelier Stefan, splendidly supported by Aziz, welcome residents as houseguests.

Room Tip: No poor rooms although Mucha has a private bathroom across a landing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Staying at Dar Ayniwen is rather less like staying at a hotel, and more like staying with friends (albeit friends with luxurious guest rooms and a full complement of staff). The decor is very un-corporate - antiques are incorporated into the guest rooms in a very personal style, which only adds to the charm of the place. The aviary provided us with the highly amusing sight of the four guinea fowl parading around the grounds, looking for insects and seeds in the lawn - the birds were certainly much more interested in eating than they were at ogling the guests. In all, a most delightful stay at a most charming property.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Perfect location to escape and relax. Stephane, Aziz and the team made us feel extremely welcome. Every detail has been thought of and nothing is too much trouble.
The Mucha suite we stayed in has a nice feel, a great view of the gardens and a private terrace. The breakfasts were very relaxing, served by the pool. Homemade yoghurt, different styles of pancake each day, eggs, toast, fruit and fresh orange juice.
Lunch and dinner is prepared to order, every dish was extremely tasty. Favourites being the pigeon pastilla and lamb tagine but we enjoyed every meal. Portions are generous!
The spa treatments are excellent; the hammam scrub is invigorating and the facial and massages were the best we'd experienced in a long time.
The friendly drivers collected us from the airport and will drop you in the souks or new town if you want a day of hustle bustle.
The gardens are amazing and tranquil, with a wonderful collection of colourful birds, fish and tortoises. No need to visit the majorelle gardens when you're staying here.
The atmosphere created here is unique - it was a pleasure to spend a week here, we will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous holiday with very attentive service from Stephane and Aziz. The rooms and location are stunning and the free shuttle into the city is wonderful. The breakfasts were lovely and my only slight negative was the cost of dinner when eating in. Not a problem for us as we prefer to explore and eat out but still worth noting.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in Jan as a family with our toddler. The room was beautiful with a private terrace and hot-tub and palatial bathroom. Once we'd reorganised some of the ornaments, it was also relatively childproof! A proper wooden cot was provided for our son, not just a travel cot, and he was made to feel like a little prince by all the staff. The food was lovely, and the baby could have his tea brought to our room early. Stephan and Aziz were incredibly helpful and welcoming, it was reassuring that the owner is actually there 90% of the time. Kadija the beauty therapist (and babysitter) was also an absolute delight, the treatments we had in the little spa/hammam were great.
We had mixed weather whilst there, but managed a few days sunbathing by the pool. The grounds are so big and we felt the baby didn't bother any other guests as he had so much space to run around. All in all I would recommend Dar Ayniwen to everyone, great for a romantic break equally welcoming for families. We really hope to return next year.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darayniwen, Owner at Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Kitty,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment.
We are very grateful for all your compliments which are very motivating for us. Be sure that I will transmit to the staff.

Indeed, you do have mentionned something quite interesting, because if we have a lot of guests with children, I never thought if the idea of childproof suite. So, I would like to mention that if guests wants to comme with babies or small children, we would be happy to help them remove anything that may bother children or parents. We will store them away until departure. No problem for us.
We are also happy to set up baby cots free of charge, as well as baby bottle warmer, and a few other items that new parents may need.

We are looking forward to seeing you again at Dar Ayniwen.

Kind regards

Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Dar Ayniwen is a quirky, fascinating, almost museum-like experience. The early 20th century house and its contents enable guests to walk back in time to an affluent family's life on the outskirts of Marrakech. You're surrounded by the personal collections of the family: Over 200 champagne buckets; dozens of French travel posters; lamps, sculpture, etc. It's interesting but, for my minimalist tastes, sometimes a little over the top. The quiet gardens and poolside dining made for a serene break from the non-stop activity of the city, which was welcome. Aziz, the manager, was incredibly welcoming and knowledgeable. He went above and beyond the call of duty in taking care of details, big and small, for us. That said, some of the other staff faltered. We received breakfast at our requested time only two mornings of the five we were there. On the other mornings, we had to ask for breakfast a number of times and it finally arrived well after our requested time. Staff varied in their command of English and our French is limited, so a language barrier may have been part of the problem. That said, we enjoyed our stay and would see this complaint as minor in the face of an intriguing and probably unique experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darayniwen, Owner at Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at Dar Ayniwen villa hotel.

I am confident that on the overall you had a nice stay as we had chances to chat a couple of times. I truly appreciate your feedback regarding service and language issues.
Be sure that I will implement corrective measures to keep aiming at excellence in service. We definitely do not want to pass the opportunity to better serve our guests in the future.

Personaly, I really appreciate the fact that you have mentioned it as "Unlike anywhere else..." because that is really the experience we want to offer. A real confortable guest house, a museum like experience with a unique garden for a total relaxation. I like the idea as a "peaceful getaway" as a previous guest has said.

Thank you again for everything.

Kind regards

Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Also Known As:
Dar Ayniwen Marrakech
Dar Ayniwen Hotel Marrakech
Address: Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel is a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity. Built as the owner's family home, in the Oriental-Andalusian style in a 5 acres park, 28 years ago, this majestic old residence with its charming and peaceful garden stands in front of the Atlas Mountains. This Villa-riad was turn into a luxury eight en-suites guesthouse in 2000, all of the very highest quality, is now run by the owner children, Anne & Stephane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.