We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely heavenly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
03=02
Ranked #14 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely heavenly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My mother and I just went on a holiday to Marrakech for 5 days and had the most amazing time. And what really made it was Dar Ayniwen and it's staff!! We were blown away. Only a 10-15 minute car ride away from the centre of Marrakech, which I have to add is complimentary, it is the perfect location. The centre although being wonderful and full of life can also become a bit hectic at times so to come back to Dar Ayniwen in the evenings was heavenly. It feels more like a home rather than a hotel. It is located in the Palmerie which is absolutely breathtaking and peaceful, palm trees everywhere you look! Our room was fabulous, great size, very comfortable and clean. We had the Sheherazade suite which we would definitely recommend, with a huge bathroom and doors right onto the garden and pool! But still with enough privacy. We had our room cleaned every day of our stay. The hotel's gardens are also beautiful, full of chirping birds and wildlife like turtles and frogs! And the pool is just the right size.The staff are absolutely amazing, they were so unbelievably helpful and kind I dont think I have been anywhere where the staff are so great. Even when I asked if it was possible to go camel riding in the area, the manager Aziz arranged for a camel and her keeper to pick me up from the front door, no problem at all he said, that was an amazing experience!The food is tasty, Moroccan specialities and affordable and will be ready for you whatever time you ask for it to be ready, however we did find the food in the medina to be a bit more authentic and price friendly. Khadija the masseuse is brilliant, the reflexology by the pool was a winner! What else can we say? It was absolutely amazing and we will definitely be going back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    31
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
134
356
21
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Dar Ayniwen in February and could not imagine a more wonderful stay: beautiful grounds and room, wonderful staff, perfect pool, excellent (though not spectacular) food, etc. etc. As others have said, it feels not like a hotel but a private estate to which you and a few select other guests have been invited, with a full staff at hand to meet one's needs. And with the private shuttle, things could not be more convenient: you are whisked into town as desired and picked up in a convenient spot precisely as is handy (not to mention being greeted at the airport on arrival). For us, with two kids in tow, this made all the difference: we could enjoy the Dar Ayniwen's lush, animal-filled grounds (and pool, perfectly heated in mid-Feb.) for half the day, and then explore Marrakesh for the rest, with a pre-arranged pick-up ready to take us home (and it really felt like home!) when needed. Perfect, really perfect--and Aziz, the manager, is a great help and host. We are already planning our return.

Lest this review be all positive, one spot for improvement: coffee in the mornings was on the weak side, and the option of an espresso would be wonderful!

Room Tip: The Romane Pavilion is large and gorgeous, both private (with secluded garden and jacuzzi) and conve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Dar Anyiwen is a truly wonderful oasis in Marrakech. We were picked up at the airport as promised, and the driver was very nice and made us feel at ease. Then we got to the hotel itself, and we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. We were greeted and shown to our suite by Aziz, the manager, and he started what we realized overt the course of the weekend was the effortless hospitality of everyone at Dar Anyiwen. We were traveling with our young daughter, and he offered to bring us some milk. A few minutes later it arrived. It was such a wonderful surprise. The hotel offers free shuttles to the Medina and anywhere else you want to go. They have wonderful food as well. A breakfast feast is included, but lunch and dinner are also delicious and quite reasonable for the quality of the meal.

The suite we were staying in was also heavenly. A very comfortable and spacious living room, great patio, hot tub, separate bedroom, and a huge bathroom. Good wi fi as well. Stepping outside, we were surrounded by palm trees and chirping birds and utter splendor. We had asked for a baby cot in advance, and it was waiting for us as promised when we got there. Our daughter was extremely comfortable and happy throughout the stay.

Absolutely everything about the hotel and the service was wonderful. I haven't even gone into the gorgeous grounds, but they are wonderful. Perhaps the best part was how comfortable we felt the whole time. The entire staff, from the owner Stephane on down, was friendly and helpful and never, ever wanted more than to make our stay comfortable.

I would highly recommend it for any traveler!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mfuwe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights in the middle of February and enjoyed a wonderful break from winter in the UK. The staff were outstanding - on call whenever you needed them but never intrusive. They couldn't do enough for us, making sure that we had whatever we needed.

Pros - so many but here are the highlights:
Helpful staff
Beautiful lodge with wonderful grounds
Close to town, with hourly free transfers to Medina walls.
Staff can arrange trips to Atlas Mts etc.
Aziz, one of the managers, was very kind to us and even posted something to UK that we had left behind!

Cons - only a couple, and only mentioned to help future travellers:
The Mucha suite is lovely, and has a private outdoor courtyard where you can have breakfast every morning! Perfect. But just keep in mind that the beautiful tiled bathroom is across a short corridor which provides access to another room, so is not entirely private. It's not a big issue, but it's not that clear on the website that you need to go out into a public area to get to your bathroom. However, once we'd got used to this, we decided that the excellent room rate for the Mucha suite is still worth it for a lovely room and getting access to all the facilities that the hotel offers. This did not detract from our stay, but was a surprise when we first arrived.
The food at the hotel is good, but we found the food in the Medina to be more authentic.

Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed there for 7 nights at begininng of March 2013.

Overall -
A great place to go if you want a relaxing break in a 5* environment, without hundreds of other guests (only 8 suites), whilst also being slightly detached from the noisy/hectic city (15 minutes away from the centre of town).

Location -
Set outside the city, the hotel provides a great base for a trip into the city, providing an hourly free shuttle service.

Setting -
Gardens are very spacious and well maintained, with in addition, plenty of space to lie in the sun next to the pool.

Food -
Breakfast is complementary, whilst Dinner/Lunch is of decent quality though relatively pricey. Best dishes are the Tadjins.

Room -
Galaxy Suite was extremely spacious, clean and with two large terraces which capture the sun 24/7. Internet access was good, and also a DVD player in room.

Staff -
Excellent staff, with a good handle of English, friendly and attentive. Aziz, the GM, is of very high quality.

Activities -
The spa is great with a high quality massage thereapist. I played 3 rounds of golf during my time there at Palmerai (x2) and Al Maaden (x1). Al Maaden is a higher quality course, but a bit further away and each round will cost c. £110 (£60 Green Fee, £40 Clubs, £10 Caddy).

Room Tip: Galaxy is very good
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I took my partner for a 4 night break at Dar Ayniwen from the 14th - 18th February to celebrate his 30th birthday. I booked several months in advance and due to wanting to make certain arrangements ahead of time, I had emailed the hotel on multiple occasions! Aziz was always incredibly quick to respond to my numerous questions and nothing was ever too much trouble - this gave me a fantastic impression before we arrived!

It took forever to get through passport control but even with delay, the driver was waiting as promised to whisk us off to peace and tranquility! We were warmly greeted by Aziz who couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and at home. We had a tour of the property and made arrangements for dinner. Although dinner was slightly more expensive than in the Medina, it was a lovely meal accompanied by a wonderful Cuban singer who thoroughly entertained despite there being a very small crowd - I'd certainly recommend it if you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of Jemaa el Fna.

The hotel itself is stunning - authentic, clean and very well maintained. The gardens are beautifully kept and the wildlife (namely birds) does make you feel a hundred miles from the Medina. Its evident the staff take pride in what they do and nothing is too much trouble, whether you want breakfast by the pool or on your terrace.

The shuttle to/from the centre is a godsend as without it, I could not have imagined having to flag down and negotiate with the local taxis on a daily basis. We were picked up and collected as we wished - on some occasions at very short notice without complaint.

Both Stephane the owner, and Aziz the Manager clearly care about people - showing a genuine interest in your stay, offering tips/advice when needed and generally just ensuring you have everything you need. Despite this being a 5 star property, there is nothing too formal or starchy about the service - you get a very human service which in my opinion makes a huge difference.

I would without question recommend this to others as its a truly unique and personal experience and a great place to retreat after a long day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mucha Suite which was lovely despite the bathroom being separate (literally only ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Dar Ayniwen for 5 nights from 26th January. The hotel is modern Moroccan and is very attractively built and furnished. The gardens are beautiful, extensive and immaculately maintained. Our bedroom was full of character with traditional furniture and pictures, plus a refrigerator, TV, and good lotions and potions provided in the bathroom. The hotel has a large swimming pool, a spa, and wifi, and they have a courtesy car for guests which goes to and from Marrakesh - 15 minutes and a world away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The food was great. We loved it, and what made our visit so special was the kindness and helpfulness of all of the staff, headed by manager Aziz, and owner Stephane. Our travel agent, Naturally Morocco Ltd, recommended the hotel and we were delighted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Address: Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel is a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity. Built as the owner's family home, in the Oriental-Andalusian style in a 5 acres park, 28 years ago, this majestic old residence with its charming and peaceful garden stands in front of the Atlas Mountains. This Villa-riad was turn into a luxury eight en-suites guesthouse in 2000, all of the very highest quality, is now run by the owner children, Anne & Stephane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ayniwen Marrakech
Dar Ayniwen Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.