We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
03=02
Ranked #12 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It's hard not to repeat the many excellent reviews already posted here, but I can't help but write positive things. We came as a couple for a brief 4 day relaxing retreat. The location was perfect for us as we only wanted to venture into Marrakesh briefly. The Medina is a 10 minute drive away, and the hotel have cars to take you in every 30 minutes.
Our room, the Rotonde, was stunning; It was set at the back of the wonderful gardens (past the rare and exotic birds!), and was beautifully appointed, perfectly sized, and covered in rose petals for our arrival. The hot tub in our private garden was the icing on the cake.
Breakfast poolside was one of the best I've had (Youghurt, honey, croissants, followed by an omelette), and I'm currently having withdrawal symptoms from their Moroccan tea. You can take lunch and dinner where you like, but the tented restaurant pavilion with the burning fireplace was lovely. Food was great, as was the wine selection.
We also enjoyed a selection of the spa treatments; The Hammam and massage were fantastic, and the facial left my beautiful girlfriend glowing more than usual.
The pool is lovely, too. The temp was around 21/22C which, if you're from the UK, is positively summer.
As stunning as the grounds are, the true beauty of this property lies in the manner of the staff, and the service that accompanies it. Humble, gracious, efficient, professional, and most of all, tremendously welcoming. You enter as strangers and leave as friends, and that is good enough for me.
Should we need another bit of perfect relaxation, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: La Rotonde is a hideaway within a hideaway. And the hot tub is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    548
    30
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
128
335
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Didn't actually stay here, but did enjoy discovering it during one of my friend's weddings. The garden is really really beautiful.. if your looking for a green-oasis type of get-away, this place has it. The pool is a great size and pretty private. This place is a really great location for private receptions or parties. From what I saw of the rooms they are pretty well decorated and comfortable to stay in....

Room Tip: view of garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by Mr Aziz who gave us a glass of mint tea and a moroccan pastry. He then showed us around the house and explained it's history and Moroccan way of life, which we found very interesting. We were then given a choice of two rooms, both of which were magnificent. We chose the one with the pool view. This room was immaculate and was decorated perfectly, with a huge bath tub and a very comfortable king size bed.
Breakfast in the morning was a continental breakfast and was absolutely lovely. The staff were extremely polite and catered to our every need. We also ate lunch and dinner here on a number of occassions and every meal we had was delicious ( especially the lamb shoulder).
The hotel has acres of garden which are layed out and looked after so well. Waking up in the mornings was like looking out into paradise with the sound of the exotic birds chirping making it even more special.
Everything about this hotel was so perfect i couldn't fault it - best hotel I have ever stayed at! If you are planning on travelling to Marrakech then i would recommend this hotel ten times over. The quiet and calm atmosphere created at the hotel is in stark contrast to the craziness of the city centre and coming back to it after a day at the souqs was a real pleasure! The hotel offers a free taxi service to and from marrakech town centre and also has an amazing spa service, with an outdoor pool, sauna and hammam which are definatly worth using.

All i can do is praise this hotel and say that if you don't stay there whilst in Marrakech, you are definatly missing out!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at the hotel was a memorable one. With a 7 yr and a 5 yr old I was apprehensive about what they would be like in such a small hotel. By fears were unfounded. The rooms are all individual pieces of art. I couldn't get enough of the beautiful decor. The staff are the kindest and most pleasant. Ready to do anything at a moments notice. They were so indulgent towards my kids. The hotel grounds are landscaped quth exotic flora and birds and hidden nooks and crannies to explore. The food is excellent. I would say better than most restaurants we ate at. I would recommend it in a heartbeat and have done so to most of my friends in London. I could go on and on.
Aminah
London

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband, two young sons and I have just returned from a half term break at the Dar Ayniwen. The hotel itself is quite stunning, being beautifully decorated and furnished with an interesting mix of gorgeous antiques and decorative items (Stephane, the owner, has a fantastic collection of champagne buckets for instance). We stayed in two suites, the Colonnade and the Galaxy. Both were really impressive and blended a distinct Moroccan character with modern facilities. The Galaxy is the larger suite so was comfortably spacious for the four of us. The hotel grounds are equally impressive, we enjoyed exploring all the paths and discovering the collection of exotic birds.
The standard of the hotel is matched by the level of service. We were warmly welcomed by Stephane and Aziz who really looked after us throughout our stay. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. All the staff were excellent. A car was available to drop us into the medina and pick us up at the end of the day - just a phonecall to arrange. Lastly, the food. Wow. From all the moroccan food we tried, the best tagine was at the Dar Ayniwen, lamb with prunes, apricots and almonds, absolutely delicious. At the end of our stay, Stephane informed us that we wouldn't be charged for my sons' lunches or dinners, a gesture that was very much appreciated. We had a wonderful time at the Dar Ayniwen, would love to return and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: For a family of four the Galaxy suite on the top floor is large enough to comfortable accomodate all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in late October , were upgraded on arrival . Our room included a bedroom , a very large lounge , and a large bathroom , all were eclectically and beautifully decorated. Large flat screen tv, satellite and DVD player (never used) and an iPod deck which was.the aircon was quiet and effective. The bedrooms French windows opened up onto the garden and pool , the lounge French windows opened up into a quiet courtyard . The gardens are magnificent , 4 acres , and the are a haven of peace , with birdlike , superb plants , trees , and we thoroughly enjoyed them. The pool was 72-75F when we were there, seemed to cold on day 1,but was very welcome by day 3.
Breakfast was al fresco , as was lunch and dinner, though if cold you can eat in the tented pavilion with a log fire. . They will take you into town every hour , and phone to be picked up , as they were not busy we were driven to wherever we wanted , and collected from wherever we ended up.
We used the spa , had a steam , scrub and massage , the first time I have had a hamman , very nicely done
We approve of Dar Anniwen, more hotels should be like this

Room Tip: To be honest , they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I met Stephane, Aziz and the Dar Ayniwen family last year whilst searching for a wedding venue. We stumbled across this luxurious family villa hidden away in the Palmeraie and immediately fell in love. There is something magical about this place that makes you never want to leave. A garden of eden and luxrious home that reveals a secret to you every day. So quite naturally we chose Dar Anyiwen as the place for our wedding celebration. It was a magical day. We felt part of the family, our every need was catered for. The staff, the amazing culinary delights, the "voyage" back in time, the luxurious suites and Spa facilities, everything you need under one roof including unique experiences in Marrakech organised at your request. Our 10 day stay was a dream and we have Dar Ayniwen to thank for the most memorable days of our lives. Whether it be for a romantic stay or celebration this is definitely the ONLY place to chose in Marrakech.

Room Tip: So difficult to chose every room is exquisite. Brides to be...Galaxie! A family of 3 or 4 one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Address: Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel is a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity. Built as the owner's family home, in the Oriental-Andalusian style in a 5 acres park, 28 years ago, this majestic old residence with its charming and peaceful garden stands in front of the Atlas Mountains. This Villa-riad was turn into a luxury eight en-suites guesthouse in 2000, all of the very highest quality, is now run by the owner children, Anne & Stephane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ayniwen Marrakech
Dar Ayniwen Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.