We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decadence at its best!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FLASH SALE
Ranked #12 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Bournemouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decadence at its best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Dar Ayniwen Marrakech
One can always trust in the brilliance of a hotel by the shear lack of commercial advertising and that spreading to not even a road sign from the airport into the somewhat decadent front wooden gates, at our time staying at the fabulous Dar Ayniwen Marrakech. The experience becomes apparent almost instantly when greeted by the owner Stephane, as he proudly shows you around the grounds of this sumptuous this gem. In what would not be out of place in The Garden of Eden. Dar Ayniwen offer a boutique experience with attention to detail in this sumptuous fusion of Bohemian, French Classic and Moroccan surroundings, with an eye for detail and comfort on such a grand scale, it does have tones of make belief, like a King or Queen.. With over five acres of amazing gardens, rare birds and a grand centre piece swimming pool, you forget that you are actually in a hotel. As the small number of rooms, delivers an experience of your own fabulous home with all the service and extremely attentive staff that I wish would expand to any high end hotel in London. As you have a lot to learn from the Dar Ayniwen.
Not forgetting fresh local cuisine cooked to order and fine wines to match the decadence, all served with forever polite and attentive staff. This has been one of the best holidays we have experienced and I not only recommend a stay here, but included in anyone's top ten things to do before popping your clogs, so to speak! Well done to the owner Stephane and an immaculate handpicked team, as, together you have created a very special paradise that we look forward to enjoying again and again.

Thank you

Simon Walker and Ranta Averate. 31/08/2012

Room Tip: Any room, as attention to detail knows no bounds..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    31
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
132
348
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Small beatiful hotel with 8 rooms/suites several of which are separate from the main house which is set in vast beautifully tended gardens. Food is served on terraces either outside your room, if you want privacy, or opposite main building next to swimming pool. On wandering the grounds you will see tortoises roaming freely. The pond has frogs leaping on and off lily pads. The air is full of bird song. It's about 15-20 mins from downtown. Rides into town and pick ups from town are included in the price. Staff, especially the drivers are accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Dar Ayniwen is a lovely luxury hotel. It is a great place to stay for people that are looking for greenery and tranquillity. It's parc is outstanding and is one of the main attractions of the hotel's main attraction. Service is excellent. A special word should be said on the quality Moroccan specialities.I haven't found any restaurant to match their tajines.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked based on the trip advisor comments. We stayed here for 3 nights on a short break to Marrakech. The airport transfer got our trip off to a welcomed and comfortable start. We stayed in a Pavillion which was beautiful and private with easy, quick access to the main gardens, pool and house. The house itself was fabulous. I loved looking at everything and getting lost in the beautiful gardens. Stephane, Aziz and the team were really welcoming and the service was discrete, professional and excellent. Nothing is too much trouble. We used the Hammam and had an amazing massage. The masuse was lovely. The free shuttles in and out of the city were great and really flexible to suit us. over all, we thoroughly enjoyed our break and came back relaxed and recharged, thanks Dar Anywen.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My usually accurate sixth sense in choosing hotels failed me with this one.
The hotel is too far away – 20 minutes – from the city center, so really not well located if you’re going to Marrakech for the first time. It’s a hotel that is better suited for people who have already seen and done everything in Marrakech and are just looking for a place to relax. The hotel is unfortunately and inaccurately presenting itself as a 5 star property, which is far from what it really is. Our room was shabby, with outdated flea market furniture, musty closets, an uncomfortable mattress and stained bedspread. During our stay there was a sewage odor in the bathroom that never went away. One morning the hot water took forever to arrive. There was a cockroach (the big variety) one evening when returning to our room. All this would be “acceptable” (it is Africa after all) but NOT at the prices that Dar Ayniwan is charging. With dinner (not exceptional), you are easily reaching 600 - 650 euros per night. There must be other hotels in Marrakech in this price range that are offering a real 5 star experience. What Dar Ayniwan calls a “spa” is so small it cannot be used by several people at the same time. Worst of all for me was being devoured by mosquitoes, it was just terrible, so if you do come here bring a good spray with you. The hotel really should try and address this problem; perhaps it’s not so bad during the winter months.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darayniwen, Propriétaire at Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Mr Dom L,

Thank you for posting this comment a second time, as it was removed by Tripadvisor moderator once before.
I will not answer your comment as you have just copied ( is this legal? ) a comment that was written in 2006 titled "georgous settings, tired rooms, mosquitoes about"
For info, plumbing was redone in Dar Ayniwen two years ago, we have strong treatment for insects. Ous furniture are antiques...Matresses are new Etc...things I can prove.
Not a mosquito around this year because of the drought.
SO as it is not true feedback there is no point.
For your information, I do live on the property, so if you had all the problems you have mentionned I would have known, but so far we have happy guests, Thank God.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Dar Ayniwen for 3 nights as part of a 7 night break to Morocco (see separate review on Domaine Malika).

The house and gardens are simply beautiful, and the pool is a delightful break from the heat of the day. Service is first class, and quietly done - if you want a drink from your sun lounger simply raise a little white post (found next to each longer) and a waiter will arrive forthwith.

We stayed in the Tiwaline 1 suite. This was very tastefully decorated with period Moroccan furniture and the bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning was a delight at bed time. The room also had a minibar.

We tried the Hamman one day which was fabulous.

After only 3 days we were a bit sad to leave, and would definitely come again - indeed we met 2 families whilst we were there that had done exactly that many times before.

A must visit if going to Marrakech.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor after reading what felt like a million other reviews for places all around Marrakech. The positive reviews for Dar Ayniwen really are a testament to how lovely it is- Stephane and Aziz and the team simply cannot do enough for you, the hotel is beautiful, and the location has the perfect balance between being convenient for the city yet still being an oasis of calm.

We stayed in the Tiwaline 1 suite which far surpassed my expectations, and ate at the hotel four times during our 6 night stay- each time was lovely!

During our stay I visited the spa and had a hammam and massage with the on site beautician which was to be recommended.

I would not hesitate to reccomend Dar Ayniwan and look forward to returning there in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Address: Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel is a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity. Built as the owner's family home, in the Oriental-Andalusian style in a 5 acres park, 28 years ago, this majestic old residence with its charming and peaceful garden stands in front of the Atlas Mountains. This Villa-riad was turn into a luxury eight en-suites guesthouse in 2000, all of the very highest quality, is now run by the owner children, Anne & Stephane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ayniwen Marrakech
Dar Ayniwen Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.