We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MARCH15
Ranked #12 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful house set in magnificent gardens, it really is breath takingly beautiful.
You can feel how much the house is loved with all the hand picked antique furniture and traditional features.
The staff are wonderful and really cannot do enough for you.

The hotel is set in a quiet suburb around 15 minutes from the city walls, the hotel offer a free shuttle to the centre every hour and also collect you which is great.

If we were to be really fussy we only have two slight negatives, the air conditioning in our room was a little noisy and the menu is a little limited, the staff do say that they will cook anything for you but we didn't want to be a pain or have to think of something to ask for.
Overall I would definitely recommend and return!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Nikibwfc,

Thank you very much for your review, we are very grateful you wrote about your experience at Dar Ayniwen(That was fast:-)). Be sure that we take good note of your feedback, and we will not miss to look at the A/c in your suite. I will definitely look into that closely to fix it.
Regarding our menu, when we say that we can do almost everything, it is true, and no guest should withheld to ask for a special menu. We really had a good look at all Mediterranean cuisine and should be able to cover almost all that and may be more surprises are possible.
I thank you again and hope that we will see you again.
Kind regards
S.A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    33
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
138
375
21
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with lovely big rooms, exceptionally friendly service and a very tranquil atmosphere. We stayed at Dar Ayniwen for five nights in March and loved it. The hotel is located a little way outside the Medina - about a 15-20 minute drive. There's a free shuttle bus whenever you want/need it so it's really easy to go to and from the Medina andwe loved being able to escape the craziness and relax back at this beautiful and tranquil hotel. We were in Marrakech to celebrate a special event and Aziz and Stefan were so friendly and helpful. They even gave us a little present to help us celebrate! We would most definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Read great reviews for Dar Ayniwen on trip advisor and I've got to say you really can't go wrong. Such a beautiful place to stay- we were upgraded to the most wonderful suite I've ever seen! We went as a couple for 5 days and the place just oozes romance! Anything you want out of your holiday you get- amazing dinners, cold drinks (the beers are served in glasses that have been in the freezer-almost too cold!!!), free taxi to/from town (leaving the hotel on the hour and picking up in town from where you want at half past). Aziz was so helpful arranging for us to go camel riding and buying our bus tickets to essaouira (a day trip I'd recommend- cheap bus tickets and very nice to just wander around town by yourselves).

Best things:
- free taxi to/from town saves you a fortune on taxi's (the hotel is 15 mins drive away from jamaa el fna)
- the pool is AMAZING! really big, deep, clean, refreshing- perfect to recharge before tackling the town!
- the staff are so helpful and polite
- the rooms - we were overjoyed when we saw ours (ran around screaming at it for about 5 mins) and other people we spoke to seemed to be really pleased as well


Other people have said breakfast wasn't varied enough, we thought it was great- yoghurt with jams, toast, pancakes, pastries and orange juice all included with eggs for an extra price on request. Also you can eat whenever/where ever you like.

I also read a couple of reviews saying Dar Ayniwen is expensive- ok but you get what you pay for. Its about the same as you'd pay in a nice restaurant in the uk but its 10000X better!! You don't have to go mad having dinner there every night and ordering loads of drinks. Obviously there are cheaper places in the medina because the medina is cheap!! We treated ourselves to dinner at the hotel two nights and they were the best meals we had- plus we had loads of drinks throughout our stay and we weren't shocked by our bill at the end of our holiday.

Dar Ayniwen was everything we hoped it would be- if you want a romantic/chilled break from close to marrakech then don't go anywhere else! :)

Thanks Dar Ayniwen for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the rotunda pavilion- its AMAZING! Absolutely gorgeous, huge, massive round bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had the most fantastic 5 night stay at the Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel in Marrakech. The house, the grounds and gardens, the food, the service, the staff, the management – all were absolutely superb and this is one of the very few places in the world that we MUST return to. The hospitality, the incredibly high standards kept in every aspect and the sense that the place is “loved” and has a real “soul” at its heart is very hard to describe on paper. I had to hold back the tears when it was time to come home – I have never felt like that before when leaving a hotel – this was almost like leaving our home.

We wanted to stay in an authentic Moroccan Riad on our first trip to Marrakech; so often staying in a large hotel, you feel you could be in any country in the world and we wanted a genuine Moroccan experience. The Dar Ayniwen is more than a Riad though, a much larger, sumptuous, but discerning and unpretentious property with huge grounds and space, far enough from the Medina to have peace and quiet, but 15 minutes to just about anywhere you want to go.

When I read the reviews for the Dar Ayniwen on Tripadvisor, I felt nowhere could be as good as people were saying – but it’s better – oh so much better. From the moment their driver collected us from the airport and then Stephane the owner welcomed us at the front door, I was overwhelmed by the beauty, peace and serenity. We were upgraded, as we were travelling with our son and Stephane felt the room we had selected was not large enough for us. We were given the Colonnade suite with bedroom and separate living room, private patio, well stocked mini bar, flat screen TV, DVD Player, iPod dock and beautiful views of the gardens.

Dinner (which we pre-ordered from the UK) was superb – the best Tagine and guinea fowl we have ever eaten and pear tart to die for (they emailed the menus to us in advance at my request). Breakfast the next morning was so beautifully presented, fine china, white linen, homemade yoghurt with honey, delicious pancakes, croissants’ with kumquat jam, eggs cooked to order, freshly baked breads and even the fresh orange juice came in a fine glass carafe – and all eaten in the setting of the stunning gardens, birds and pool. Lunch and dinner are ordered at breakfast time, common in most Riad’s as food is bought fresh from the market each day. I take my hat off to Stephane’s staff – I have stayed at some of the most amazing hotels in the world and never had such good service – and always with a smile – this is so obviously a place where they treat their staff very well and everyone enjoys their work.

As a small Hotel / Riad with 8 rooms, there was virtually never anyone by the pool at the same time as we were, as everyone ventures into Marrakech or to the countryside at different times of the day, and you feel as though you are staying in your own private, fully staffed villa most of the time. The space in the gardens to set your sun beds anywhere you wanted was fabulous and you are given a white pole to simply hold in the air when you want drinks or service – staff appear from nowhere by magic, pretty much instantly and will serve you your drinks right in the pool if that’s where you want them! And the guests were all nice people who you actually didn't mind chatting too - people who felt the same way about the Dar Ayniwen as we did.

Nothing is too much trouble for Aziz – Stephane’s right hand man. I had taken numbers and web links to arrange trips, but no matter what you wanted to do, Aziz would arrange it and what we had requested would turn up at the front gate – quad bikes, camel rides, driver and tour guide to the Atlas Mountains, free lift into Marrakech, suggestions and bookings for restaurants, you name it, Aziz could arrange it. Having cars with drivers for free, into and out of Marrakech whenever you wanted it, was part of the deal here and saved us so much money on taxi fares, and also saved us so much stress from having to barter with taxis in the Medina!

The gardens are some of the most beautiful I have ever seen in a hotel with an amazing array of flora, free roaming birds, guinea fowl, fish ponds, tortoises, cacti, roses, palm trees, caged exotic birds and a wonderful team of gardeners working hard to keep them so beautiful. You can hear nothing but birdsong and in the evening the frogs singing – so welcome when you return from the noise of the Medina and Souks. Although we went to The Majorelle Gardens in the City, we felt the gardens at The Dar Ayniwen were more beautiful – and we didn’t have to share them with coach loads of tourists!

The living areas in the Hotel are furnished with Moroccan antiques – many of them from Stephane’s family as this was originally his father’s home – there are many rooms to explore and relax in and even a grand piano. Quiet relaxing music is played from an iPod dock from time to time and never detracts from the peaceful setting as it is so well chosen. A new bar in the garden has just been built and added something special; lit up at night with small fire pits burning and arranged under a large Moroccan tented roof. There is also a tented restaurant in the garden, complete with real fireplace for people who visit in the winter months. The weather was fantastic when we were there, so all our eating was done outdoors and it is a dry heat that you can cope with, without the humidity of the tropics.

If you haven’t ordered lunch or dinner in advance, chef will not let you go hungry and something wonderful will be prepared for you. The wines on their wine list were all very nice – and thank you Stephane for treating us to a very nice bottle on our last night. The air conditioning works extremely well and our room had everything we needed. The maids will attend your room twice a day to make sure that you have everything you need. We loved the cotton throws that are provided as pool towels that double up as sarongs, or wraps. Pick up the phone in your room as ask for just about anything and it will be there in a few minutes – these are some of the small things that make the place so special and it seems that nothing is too much trouble for them. Our 14 year old son was made very welcome and had the most relaxing holiday he had ever had (he read 2 books in 5 days).

Marrakech itself was wonderful – not the hassle we were expecting, full of wonderful smells, sounds and colours. Everyone we met was nice to us, people helped with directions in the Souks, boys led us to our restaurants for a few dirham and people accepted a polite “no thanks” if we didn’t want to buy their wares. We did a lot in 5 days; a caleche ride through the European Quarters, the Souks 3 times, the Mamounia Hotel for drinks (outrageously expensive £55 for 2 mojito’s and an orange juice, but worth it to see inside), The Majorelle Gardens, quad biking twice, a day trip to the waterfalls in the Ourika Valley – absolutely beautiful countryside and villages), dinner at Le Cafe d’Arabe and at Dar Moha (not so good) and plenty of site seeing in the City, but the wonderful thing every day was the anticipation of arriving back to the paradise and tranquillity we had at the Dar Ayniwen!

A very big thank you from the King family to Stephane, Aziz, all the wonderful waiters, the chefs, the pool man, the drivers, the maids, the gate man and the gardeners for making this one of the most relaxed, luxurious and truly memorable holidays we have had, and for making Marrakech and Morocco utterly stress free and an amazing experience. This is a truly beautiful country with so much diversity; we can’t wait to go back and see more of it and when we do, we will be back at The Dar Ayniwen like a shot!

PS – At the airport (which is very nice) – they don’t take dirham in the duty free shop – only Euros or sterling so spend your dirham in the local shops there – or better still, give them all to Aziz for the staff – please leave a VERY big tip for the people who work at the Dar Ayniwen (it is shared out amongst them) - they really deserve it and so much more.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful - if you have specific preferences just email and ask for more information...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Dar Ayniwen is now one of my favourite hotels in the world. Its charm, is it issmall with only 8 suites, you felt that you were almost alone there. Our suite was set in the most beautiful tropical gardens with its own hot tub. Aziz, the hotel manager could not do enough, from advising us on where to visit, to ensuring we had everything we needed for our stay. In fact all the staff were amazing, the food was out of this world and there was a free car every hour into town so you have a great chance to see all the sites. After the madness of the city returning home was blissful. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I was invited by a freind of mine who did orgnize his weeding in this hotel, and foud the hotel charming, food not good as the ohter places, but was horrified by the prices , you pay for a cofee waht you pay in London. Try other places in the medina wich cost half of price and offer same quality and even better .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Dear Sir,

All feed back is welcome when the guests have actually stayed with us. People are often invited when they come to weddings so we don' t charge for coffee. We never did.
However, we had no wedding in the period you mentioned you stayed, so... I won' t go on with this.
We do have created a new Lunch menu, and prices are more than reasonable. This can be checked on our website or if you call us, of course. We will be more than happy to email you our menus and rates if you want to. I guarantee reasonable for the place and the quality.
For the picture of the antique(old)faucet you may found on an earlier comment, I am very happy to confirm it has been changed for a new one. May be one day someone will put the picture up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I would highly recommend staying at Dar Ayniwen it is full of character, charm and warmth with fantastic hospitality and service. We hired the whole venue for a weekend for our wedding, all the staff were so helpful and bent over backwards to create a fabulous wedding day for us in 2009.

When staying here, even with other guests, it is like it is your own private house with your very own staff. You can choose where to eat their wonderful food and when you would like. The rooms are beautiful and unique and the grounds so tranquil and perfectly hidden away from the hustle and bustle of central Marrakech.

We look forward to returning again one day to celebrate one of our anniversaries with our little daughter Genie.. it’s a very special place indeed. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Address: Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel is a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity. Built as the owner's family home, in the Oriental-Andalusian style in a 5 acres park, 28 years ago, this majestic old residence with its charming and peaceful garden stands in front of the Atlas Mountains. This Villa-riad was turn into a luxury eight en-suites guesthouse in 2000, all of the very highest quality, is now run by the owner children, Anne & Stephane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ayniwen Marrakech
Dar Ayniwen Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.