We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Al Kounouz

Save Saved
You added Dar Al Kounouz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Al Kounouz
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   54 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #233 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Hannover, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“nice house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

clean room, very stylish, but really small. good bed, good breakfast, very good service, speaking english. one small trouble was that the shower water accumulated on the floor. one of the better experiences in a traditional morrocan riad, with a beautiful courtyard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Beautiful little Riad in the Heart of Marrakech. We found the staff to be charming, our room was fab - the Safran - and we enjoyed a great breakfast each morning. We had the Riad to ourselves and the staff couldn't have done any more for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were a group of 6 people. We got 3 double rooms. The Riad is absolutely charming and beautiful.

The rooms are roomy, very clean and with excellent facilities.

We had also time to relax in the beautiful courtyard. At our arrival they offered us a delicious mint tea with some traditional sweets. Such a good welcome in Marrakech!

The staff is excellent - I do thank you Mohamed and Dominique for the excellent service and all the good tips they gave us.

The breakfast was simple and plenty of good specialities to taste, we loved it!

We had dinner there - they arranged it on the terrasse. We had such a good night. Very romantic and charming place. The food was perfectly cooked. I highly recommend it.

Location - Very close to the main square and very close to the souks but in a perfect place where you can relax and take a break.

Go for it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I have stayed at this riad twice and can only say good things about the personnel (Adil and Mohamed in front-of-house and Yamna in the kitchen), the location, it's food and architecture. There can surely be no more pleasant place to go after a hot day in the streets of Marrakech than the rooftop terrace and be served mint tea and Moroccan patisseries while sprawled out on cushions in the shade afforded by the canopy. The romance of discovering the place hidden away in the depths of the Medina left me with an exhilarating feeling of escape and splendid isolation. I will return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I've been in Marrakech for few days with a group of friends, notwithstanding the lenght of our trip i really liked this Riad. It is quiet and very comfortable. At the same moment it is also close to the basic point of interest of the City.
During my stay I found a kind welcome and a gentle service .
People working in the riad are always ready to help and eager to answer to your requests.
Even if the location hinders to reach the accomodation by car, they are well organized with the transportation.
The first impact with the centre of the city and all the area around the Riad is not the best but i didn't find any problem or trouble to walk during the late evening for its narrow streets. So at the end the location is really good.
In conclusion this Riad is a lovely place where spend a trip in Marrakech and a very useful solution for those who want to be near Djemma El Fna and the places near it. It is perfect to stay there with a group of friends, but i guess it must be lovely even for couples.
We didin't have the chance to have the hammam, but we enjoy staying in the terrace, even if it was winter.
The food was very good and we all loved to drink tea relaxing in the amazing quiet of this riad.
Last but not least we have to mentioned the kindness of Mohammed (riad's ownner), who was very kind during the days spent in the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Marrakech is a stunning, loud and vibrant city and the Dar Al Kounouz is an oasis of calm and comfort in the Medina, just a few minutes walk from the bustling heart of Djemma El Fna.
We were made very welcome by the owner and really enjoyed our stay, the en suite rooms are comfortable and with freshly prepared breakfasts to start each day. The rooms are clean, comfortable and warm ( we stayed in January 2012) and sat on the roof terrace of an evening watching the sun go down before wandering back to the main square for our evening meal.
I would recommend this Riad and Marrakech without reservation for an excellent break

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcham, surrey
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife and I returned to this Riad for a 4 night stay with another couple of friends last week. It can sometimes be quite daunting and disappointing to return to a favourite place. we certainly need not have worried - the Riad has lost none of it's charm, style or welcome. I cannot praise highly enough the peace, calm and service you receive here from the moment you step through the door - Mohamed, the Manager, now includes a taxi from the Airport and a guide to the Riad in the overnight rate, so no concerns about finding the Riad in the alleyways and twists and turns of the Medina. The breakfasts served in the downstairs 'salle a manger', to the accompanying sound of the central fountain is excellent and the whole experience is of personal and calming service. The Riad can provide dinner at 17 Euros per person and there is also a Hammam on the first floor. The roof terrace, complete with tables and chairs and sunbeds provides an excellent view across the roofs of the houses in the Medina and the Koutoubia mosque and Atlas mountains provide a beautiful and exciting backdrop. I really cannot praise this place highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Al Kounouz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Kounouz

Address: 54 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Al Kounouz 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar al Kounouz a charming riad in exceptional calm in the heart of the medina, in the historic district of Mouassine, close to the fountain, the souks and Jemaa El-Fna. Dar Al Kounouz offers refined comfort and authenticity of a beautiful Moroccan decor. Its staff remains attentive and discreet, you will enjoy all the virtues of Moroccan hospitality. Around the patio: 6 charmingly intimate bedrooms with bathroom, air conditioning, telephone, safe and satellite TV. Free Wifi. And One suite “Jade” with 2 bedrooms able to sleep up to 6 clients. Dining room, hammam, are at your disposal. Beautiful panoramic terrace with pergola and caidal tent, leaning against the Dar El Bacha Palace (with its walls, trees, and birds singing ...). Delicious Moroccan specialties on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Dar Al Kounouz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Al Kounouz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.