We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, average hotel, bad location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Al Kounouz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dar Al Kounouz to your Saves list
Dar Al Kounouz
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   54 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #200 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good staff, average hotel, bad location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is my first review that isn't entirely positive. Anyway, as the others say, the staff are great, very helpful etc. But for 65 Euros per night I expected a better room - I had dirty bed sheets, freezing room temperature (despite the heater being turned to 30 degrees), and no TV. Yes the architecture is beautiful but I was more worried about having to wear several layers just to be able to sleep.

The worst bit for me was the long winding dark alleyway leading to and from the Riad, with groups of young guys gathered at almost every corner... I was just too scared to go out and about. I went out during the day, still scared, but wouldn't dare go out at night. Not worth it, really. I certainly would not go back to this Riad or even Marrakech. Thanks very much! Casablanca is a much better holiday destination!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, Nederland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

The staff and the Dar are so nice. It is a wonderfull sensation to walk through the house and see all the beauty in fine craftmanship. We really enjoyed our stay and the staff is wonderful and helpful.
We had about 8 different places where we stayed that holiday in Marocco, b ut this was absolutely the best!

Please do visit this Hotel if you want to enjoy your stay in the medina!

Martin

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcham, surrey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Mt wife and I stayed here in February 2009 and were staggered not only by the beauty of the interior of this small hotel but also by the welcome, courtesy and assistance by the hotel staff. From the moment we arrived and were entertained by the owner to mint tea and small cakes, through to the wonderful freshly cooked breakfast each morning and to the peace and tranquility of the interior, we were really blown away. I cannot emphasise too strongly how much we were captivated by this city and this hotel. well worth a visit. You will certainly not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed five nights here in July 2009. The riad is beautiful (seemingly very authentic) and wonderfully calm (except for prayer times from the nearby Koutoubia!) The staff were exceptional - we were greeted with mint tea and biscuits on arrival, given maps and a brief overview of the city. Mohammed often climbed three flights of stairs to serve us drinks on the terrace, offered impartial local knowledge (cost of taxi fares, directions to local bureau de change, etc) and served us breakfast out of hours (early plane back to the UK). The staff were even kind enough to look after some of our purchases for 9 days (Marrakech was our first and last stop between a holiday to Essaouira).
The only downside to the riad is that it is hidden away down some derbs (alleyways) which may be a little daunting for solo female travellers. Definitely worth organising a taxi through the riad so you don't get lost on arrival. However aside from this, it is only about 7 mins walk to the craziness of Jemaa el Fna.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We had a great relaxing stay in this Riad, couldnt fault it really! The staff left you alone to enjoy your holiday but were always on hand if you needed anything. Hermina (the maid) only spoke French but her happy cheery disposition every morning with our Moroccan breakfast was such a welcome sight from the hussle and hassle of the souks in the Medina. The surroundings are very authentically reproduced and you really felt this place had had a lot of love and care and thought in its renovation while at the same time you felt it had stood there for 100's of years. The rooms were ample for space, lots of hot water, a roof terrace to sunbathe or sit in the evening and Hermina will cook all meals if you require them. For 2 people, the 45euros/room/night including breakfast was a real bargain!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed at Dar Al Kounouz for 3 nights with our two young sons and were really impressed with the beauty of the riad and the helpfulness of the staff.

For example, they booked a car for us (at better rates than what we could find online), and ran out to get a roadmap for us at the last minute when we realized we needed one. They also gave good, straightforward advice on sites, shopping, and getting around the medina.

One minor critique: our ground-floor room was a bit dark, as the windows gave only onto the internal courtyard.

The tagine we had at the riad was wonderful (the couscous less so), and the breakfast was ample and delicious. A really lovely riad.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kongsvinger
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

The review is coming a bit late ,but after reading the newest review with a rather low score I thought it was time for som nice words about Dar Al Kounouz..
We were four ladies staying here in november 2007.
We had a friendly welcoming already at the the airport .The staff did their best to make our stay a happy one.
The riad is very well located in the medina and only a few minutes from Jemaa El Fnaa. Most of the sights of the old city is in a walking distance.
One day we had the riad chauffeur to drive us up the Ourika valley where we had a guided walk from Setti Fatma. After that he drove us up to Oukaimeden in Atlas mountains -because we are norwegians and we wanted to se Moroccos best ski resort! It was a nice trip! (He altso was a very good driver.)
The rooms in the riad are cosy and nicely decorated.
I will also recommend both the very good dinner meals at the roof top terrace and of course the hammam in the house.
We are now soon going back for our second stay in Dar Al Kounouz!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Al Kounouz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Kounouz

Address: 54 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Al Kounouz 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar al Kounouz a charming riad in exceptional calm in the heart of the medina, in the historic district of Mouassine, close to the fountain, the souks and Jemaa El-Fna. Dar Al Kounouz offers refined comfort and authenticity of a beautiful Moroccan decor. Its staff remains attentive and discreet, you will enjoy all the virtues of Moroccan hospitality. Around the patio: 6 charmingly intimate bedrooms with bathroom, air conditioning, telephone, safe and satellite TV. Free Wifi. And One suite “Jade” with 2 bedrooms able to sleep up to 6 clients. Dining room, hammam, are at your disposal. Beautiful panoramic terrace with pergola and caidal tent, leaning against the Dar El Bacha Palace (with its walls, trees, and birds singing ...). Delicious Moroccan specialties on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Al Kounouz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Al Kounouz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.