We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel but its NOT IN MARRAKESH (it's about 10k north-east)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caravanserai

Save Saved
You added Caravanserai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caravanserai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   264, Ouled Ben Rahmoune, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel but its NOT IN MARRAKESH (it's about 10k north-east)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

This is a very beautiful hotel and the management bent over backwards to overcome our surprise and inconvenience at being 10k out of the centre with charm and large gin and tonics! Although they do have a courtesy mini-bus and in some situations augment it with taxis, there is some deceit about the location by not showing exactly where they are with a map on the web page. (it's about 10k north-east) Also google shows the address as in the medina?? We would recommend it as a quiet 'destination' oasis away from the hubub. Except for the acceptably standard breakfast (tepid coffee!), we cannot comment on the food as we didn't get the opportunity to try it.
Note the manager/partner is planning expansion and improvements.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    8
    11
    10
See reviews for
10
35
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

we spent only three days for our honeymoon, and they were three days in paradise. the food, the furniture, the kind and friendly staff..the way they cld mix oriental local spirite with the modern appliances..we cldn't imagine they had wi-fi within that overwhelming morrocan rose scent. Many thanks to Adil and Hayat for the nicest experience they gave us. although we just celebrated our second anniversary, we still have the scent in our noses, the tase of harira, couscous and orange/carrot juice in our mouthes..the wild roses..the quite elegant shopping..etc Ah, and not to forget, el Qenawy, playing his local music and signing to us in our names..also chef Abdullah and his great recipes which I still apply. we remember all of you guys

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

The hotel was amazing and just what we expected, however, the lunch and evening meals were absolutely dreadful. They had the same menu for lunch and dinner (we were told they did a buffet lunch or a club sandwich of which we saw neither). Our first evening meal we had a choice of 3 things for starter, maincourse and pudding and the meal was fine. It was £35 pp. The next time we ate an evening meal there was no choice and it was inedible; we complained and said we refused to pay. The manager offered us a free drink which we did not accept and still charged us for the meal. We didnt eat with them again and were forced to leave the hotel to eat in Marrakech, which was very very sad as we didnt want to have to do every night that but we felt there was no choice. We were there for 6 nights and as we left I said I couldnt possibly recommend the hotel to anyone due to the huge issue with the food but they didnt seem very bothered. What a shame.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

The Management and Staff at Caravanserai are perhaps the kindest, sweetest people I have ever met. The manager hugged me when I left! The facility is beautiful, romantic and unique. If your intent is to spend all your time at the hotel around a pool. This is a lovely, quiet hotel.

If however, you want to go to Marrakech, the location is really difficult. 20 minutes from the city, in a small village up at deeply rutted dirt road lies this little jewel of a hotel. If every effort were made to over come this commute, it would be okay. In all fairness sometimes a taxi was readily available (and they make free runs twice a day). However unfortunately it was not always. Twice we waited over an hour for a taxi. (Presumably, the management waits for their primary driver or friend to be available.) When we arranged our own transportation the driver was asked to leave by the front desk clerk. (The cost is 150dh/ £8 each way.)

Also the first night we had dinner there, it was great! A choice of fish or chicken, perfectly prepared with lovely starters and desert. The following lunch and dinner caused us to make sure we were in the city at meal time.

We had the Majorelle Suite, (350 Euros/ night). The bedroom was complete with a fireplace and two additional sitting rooms around a plunge pool and small courtyard. The only complaint I have about the room itself was that a full blast and hot all the way up, the shower was luke warm with very, very low pressure, not much more that an enthusiastic dribble.

As much as I'd love the see the friendly and hard working staff at the hotel again, on my next trip I believe 360 Euros could be better spent at a easier location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

After spending 5 nights in a hotel in Marrackech for £280 in total, we were dissapointed when we arrived at Caravanerai. My husband and I spent 7 nights at this hotel for our honeymoon in October 2009. Upon arrival, we were taken to the Majorelle Suite which is lovely - beautiful Morrocan furnishings and a cute pool with trees and privacy which is ideal for your honeymoon (although, having said that, there was toilet paper in the pool and the lights often didn't work which made it a bit treacherous at night)). As we had missed lunch, we ordered a club sandwich and were shocked to see that the lettuce contained not one but roughly 30 small flies. We left the sandwich and waited for a member to staff to collect so we could complain, but the sandwich wasn't collected, so we put it down to perhaps leftover lunch etc and tried not to let it spoil our stay. That evening we dined outside around the pool and must say the food was better - we tried not to think about the earlier incident and enjoyed a 3 course meal with a local musician playing music whilst we dined. It was so romantic with the candles surrounding the pool. Within days of our stay both my husband and I had upset stomachs and needed to be near a bathroom. The breakfast buffet was surrounded in flies, so we tried to eat the cereals or yoghurts which were covered. Also, as late in the season, we were the only guests there and although they advertise a bar, we felt rushed each evening during dinner service and on occasion the staff would be watiting for us to finish our dessert so they could clear up and shut the bar. By 9pm most evenings we were in bed when it would have been nice to stay up late for an after dinner drink or two! The majority of the staff were very helpful and friendly (especially the hilarious guy on reception and the smily man behind the bar) with the exception of the owner who was quite surly and rude (eg picking my husband up on his French for saying 'bon soir' instead of 'bonjour' at 6pm one evening}. She also had a friend stay and seemed more concerned that she was being looked after, rather than her (high) paying guests. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is prepared to spend a fortune, wants a quiet break, early nights and doesn't mind what they eat or the consequences!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed in several riads in the medina. Caravan Serai is located in the palmerai, far away from the medina, it's a beautifull place to stay, but that's all. Too expensive for what it is, the staff is always nervous, and running, the food is not good at all, I'm glad I've been there so I could see it in real, but I will never go again, we prefer the riads in the medina, much more service, better food, better quality.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I came here for my honeymoon and then returned with two kids! I love Morrocco anyway but this hotel is a hidden gem. The staff are friendly and it changed ownership last time I was there so I hope the charm hasn't been lost. The food is great too.There are 17 rooms/suites and double that of staff. It is discreet, gentle, elegant and stunningly beautiful. If you can, get a room with a private pool - sheer heaven. I took an 18 month old baby and they couldn't do enough for us. Each room is individual and the hotel has real authenticity and architecture and is in a real village just a short cab ride into bustling Marrakesh although i like the peace of the hotel you can be in the bustle in ten minutes. Do yourself a favour and stay here - oh and the hammam is amazing too! A hotel of great style but no pretention.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caravanserai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravanserai

Address: 264, Ouled Ben Rahmoune, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#90 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#179 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Caravanserai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evoking the ancient stopping places of the travelling merchants, the CaravanSerai is symbolic of the other face of Morocco. The interior courtyards and secret corners are inspired by the traditional Berber villages. In luxurious simplicity the 16 bedrooms and suites are decorated in a refined ethnic style. The Hammam, with its tadelakt plaster columns and its great pool subtly lit by shafts of light, is considered to be one of the finest in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Caravanserai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravanserai Hotel Marrakech
Caravanserai Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravanserai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.