We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, just Perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Star

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Star to your Saves list
Riad Star
31 Derb Alailich | Kaat Benahid, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 1,126 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect, just Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked Riad Star for a girley 4 day break. We couldn't have been more pleased. The Riad and rooms are beautiful and a welcome to come back to after a day out sightseeing. The jewel in the crown is Aziz, who took care of us from the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble and his lesson on the mint tea was really interesting. He collected us from the square late at night and always had a smile on his face.....he was happy in his job which was a pleasure to experience. Taxi's and Caleches were also arranged for collection close to the Riad. We were given a local mobile to keep with us if we needed assistance. The Riad have also developed an app which has a very useful map which operates like sat nav even when your phone is on airplane mode.....most useful for finding restaurants, sights etc........they have everything spot on. Stay here you really will not be disappointed. Thank you Riad Star for making our holiday so fantastic, and thank you Aziz :-) :-)

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at Riad Star through Thomas Cook and we were completely blown away by the beauty of the place, our room the terrace and the incredible service. highly recommended. We loved it.

Room Tip: loved the jazz room as we are both musicians
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved our stay at Riad Star. It is perfectly located right next to the main attractions and the souks. The riad is British owned and run but with delightful young moroccan staff who could not have done more to help us. The food was fabulous-thank you Meriem. Riad star was full for part of our stay so we split our stay between star and its sister hotel cinnamon which was different but equally charming. would highly recommend both hotels and we will be returning.

Room Tip: We loved the chickita suite with its hand tiled fireplace and roof top seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four day city break-flights with Easyjet. Flights ok from Manchester -reasonably comfortable -service good Arrival at Marrakech, passport control, a shambles but Cresta rep . waited for us (1hour 30) regarded as normal! Taken to Riad Star by Aziz-in the Medina, no cars allowed so an arranged transfer(via Cresta) is essential.Remember you are in Marrakech Medina. DO NOT BE PUT OFF BY APPROACH TO RIAD. Go with the flow. Entry to the Riad is wonderful, a beautiful oasis. Have a look on the website to get an idea of the place. Spotlessly clean,well equipped and the service is excellent. Unless you are unbelievably fussy, you will not fail to be satisfied.Take an evening meal at the Riad at some point during your stay. Excellent Moroccan food , beautifully cooked and served. Aziz will look after you- he even loaned us a mobile phone to contact him(or a colleague) in case we got lost in the souks (almost inevitable!)
We were warmly welcomed by everyone in Marrakech.We never felt threatened at any time , anywhere. Bartering in the souks was a fantastic experience, never harassing. Trips up the Ourika valley and to the Marjorelle gardens are a must
Whatever your requirements, Aziz will organise it
The whole trip was a cultural adventure

Room Tip: You cannot describe the hotel as quaint or trendy, but it was ,for us , a unique highly enjoyable ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Our stay at this Riad was enhanced by the presence of Aziz, who was working very long hours to run all aspects of this Riad in the absence of the English owners. He did an admirable job trying to make us comfortable and give us confidence in negotiating the maze that is the medina in Marrakesh. He even programmed an app on my husband's phone for the hours of Islamic prayer. When we needed an escort somewhere, he was there. When we wanted to have a discussion about life in Morocco, he was there. When dinner or breakfast was served, he was the waiter. Miriam and Zahira were likewise gracious and accommodating.
The Riad provides guests with a phone to assist in determining one's whereabouts in the medina.The Riad is is really a Dar, in the absence of a garden in the courtyard. It is not very large, but it is attractive and clean. The bathroom was updated. Breakfast was quite ample and dinner was typical Moroccan fare. The theme of Josephine Baker adds interest to the place and is very evident with books about her, her clothes, and videos about her displayed on the wall in the courtyard.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Exceptional staff, exceptional ambeince....great location. The staff went out of their way to make us feel not only welcome but special, safe and cared for. Breakfast outstanding. Accommodation perfect.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Stayed at Riad Star for an extended weekend, together with friends. We were absolutely charmed with the friendliness of the staff and the nice atmosphere of the place. What absolutely clinched it was the rooftop terrace, though. We spent a long afternoon in the sun and for some of us also in the hammam. Was the best part of a truly excellent weekend.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Star

Address: 31 Derb Alailich | Kaat Benahid, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 1,126 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.