We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven Room in 15 hours” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlas Asni

Save Saved
You added Hotel Atlas Asni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atlas Asni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Street Mohammed VI | Street Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #355 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seven Room in 15 hours”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Upon arrival just before 6:00 PM, we had to wait for about 15 minutes for our room key. Upon entering our room, a woman was standing near the bed in her underwear. The room was already occupied. The next room the key holder for electricity did not work, the third room the toilet would not flush, the fourth room was just painted that day and the painting was not complete, the fifth room was not the best but it was already 10:00 PM so we just stayed there with the understanding that we were guaranteed a better room the next day. The next morning came and I had to talk to our travel agent in Casablanca to get a better room. They moved us into a very large suite just before we were leaving for our day of touring. While we were on tour, our guide received a phone call that our room was being changed again. Upon our return were given new keys to a smaller bedroom with a sitting area; this was about 3:00 PM The room above us was having ceramic tile installed on the floor so there was constant noise from the ceiling and our water was turned-off. When the water was turned-back on, it was the color of chocolate. This is when we again called the travel agent and she moved us to a much nicer and friendlier hotel, Framissima Les Jardin de l'Agdal which is beautiful and tells you that you are in Morocco. The travel agent told us she would never book anyone again into the Atlas Asni.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    215
    189
    121
    80
See reviews for
115
217
27
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

room 406- 2 nights: nice pool, room spacious (3 beds), good balcony overlooking pool, WiFi didn’t work except in one small spot, nice jazz bar, near to some cafes/nice walking area, fitness room not worth it at all

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights during October half term. I must say that although the location is good the service was quite lacking - normally staff are quite welcoming in hotels but these guys were not very forthcoming! The communal areas were clean and the pool was nice. The breakfast buffet was good with a range of choices. Good location - walking distance to menara gardens and short taxi ride to the main shopping square which was lovely at night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Atlas Asni twice during our Moroccan trip. It is a nice hotel with extremely long corridors so getting to the room took some extra time. The rooms were nice but the bathroom fixtures were a little old. The toilet was loose on the wall (in both rooms) and the heat was inconsistent. We were able to connect to the free wifi on the first day but not on any others. We could connect in the lobby only. I used the fitness center which was small but well kept and the spa where I had a "deep tissue" massage which was not nearly deep enough. The restaurants were fine but the choices were sparse. The lobby and gift shop were very well kept and well stocked. There are shops nearby to buy soda and snacks so we were not tethered to the restaurant or room service.

We walked back to the hotel from the Medina which is not walking distance. If you take a taxi in front of the hotel, make sure you negotiate the price before you get in. It is a short drive and should cost no more than 40 MAD (Moroccan Dirham).

Room Tip: One closer to the elevator might make your stay a little easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here with 2 female friends from 12th to 19th March 2013.
We arrived later in the evening, but made it in time for dinner....just.
The waiter was lovely, he brought us the leftover cakes to our table as we were the last people in the resturant.
The staff at reception were very helpful, the staff in the resturant were happy to help.
The lobby is stunning, the hotel is spotlessley clean.
The room we had was on the 2nd floor. 3 single beds as requested, quick check-in.
The rooms are a bit dated compared to the lobby but everything worked.
The beds were very comfortable with duvets. The TV had english speaking channels.
The maids came in every day and left clean towels and toiletries.
The food in the resturant is great. The omelettes in the morning are fab, the evening meals were lovely. The hotel was quiet during the week days and got really busy at the weekends. There were some squabbels at dinner time as some folk will just go on holiday to complain and find fault, we on the other hand went on holiday to have a fun, relaxing time. If your nice to people they will in turn be nice to you!!!!
The staff at reception re-charged my electronic cigarette every day with no issues. They were always smiling.
The bar in the hotel is very expensive though, and they write the amount on a bit of scrap paper so its hard to tell wether your perhaps getting ripped off a bit, but again, your on holiday so its not a big issue.
My only complaint is the entertainment in the bar. Its the same guy every night with an organ and he sings a lot of depressing stuff in Arabic. We are all in our 40's and 50's, we dont want to go clubbing, but we struggled to listen to that stuff most nights.
The pool is stunning, but beware............ITS FREEZING COLD.
Not much for kids to do, so wouldn,t really say its a family hotel.
Free internet access in the hotel lobby.
The medina is well within walking distance as is McDonalds, KFC and Pizzahut. We were halfboard so enjoyed eating out at lunch time.
If your a shopaholic like the two I travelled with, you will be dissapointed at the Medina. Its full of Tac,Tac, and more Tac. Most locals will happily barter with you, but be prepared to get ripped off if you choose to buy. Watch out for the young lads who want to take you off the beat and track. Your safe enough and they will say they don't want any money to take you places as they are going that way, but at some point you will be paying someone. They take you all the way to the Tannery, but the guy that takes you through the Tannery will expect yo to pay him. They then take you to the only leather shop at the back of the Tannery and they will expect you to buy something. Stay confident and stay polite and you will be fine. We felt slightly intimidated but never frightened, dont loose your rag with the locals, its not worth it and you will get much more help if your just plain nice to them. Enjoy the haggle, laugh with them as some of them have a fantastic sense of humour.
Be prepared for the smell in the Tannery, it will make you loose your lunch.
The Medina at night is slightly more intimidating and watch out for guys following you all over the place especially if your 3 females on your own. We had one guy tailing us for ages. My friend went straight up to him and told him to Go Away in a stern tone. He dissappeared and we never seen him again. Dont mess with a scottish burd.lol.
We went on two excursions, one to The Fantasia experience, with two chaps who could speak both French and Arabic, this was a great laugh, quite basic and again, Tac, but still a nice night.
We also booked an excursion to the Atlas mountains, were you get a jeep drive up to the mountains, you meet a Berber family, you visit a herb factory and you have lunch in a morrocan hotel overlooking the mountains. Great day, lovely guides, lovely place, no pressure to buy,buy,buy. Well worth the money.
All in all, I had a great time in Marrakech it was well worth the money we paid. I wouldnt return but thats because I dont tend to go to the same place twice. Dont expect 5 star luxury, expect 3 star comfort.
Top tip......if your female, dont wander about the place wearing boob tubes and short skirts. If you do, expect unwelcome attention from the young men and looks of sheer disgust from the moroccon woman and older men. They dont like it one bit and they find it insulting. I know this because I did ask some of the locals.
Go, visit, experience, enjoy. We did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

For the price and location, this hotel is a great value. It's clean, the rooms are small but simple, the toilets and showers are shared (unless you pay more for ensuite), but are fine. It's very centrally located off the Jemma el Fna which is great for exploring the Medina. I would recommend trying to get a room on the second floor as I imagine the first would be noisy, and the third (where we were), was incredibly noisy due to people going up to the terrace for breakfast. Otherwise, it's a great base for a stay in the Medina.

Room Tip: Room 17 on the third floor is both under the stairs going up to the terrace and right under the tabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very nice entrance, lobby and big garden with swimming pool. Ugly, untidy-look room with cracked tube bath. Very noisy. They were coming and going all night long. Big restaurant but poor quality and very touristic

Room Tip: DO NOT take any room facing the entrance or the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atlas Asni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlas Asni

Address: Street Mohammed VI | Street Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlas Asni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a garden lined with palm trees, this hotel is 3 km from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers an outdoor pool, a fitness centre and a spa.The air-conditioned guest rooms are equipped with a TV and have views of the garden or the swimming pool. Each spacious room features Moroccan decorations. All rooms have a marble bathroom.A buffet breakfast is served every morning at Atlas Asni. Guests can enjoy a drink in the hotel bar or use the free Wi-Fi access in the lounge.The spa at the 4-star hotel Atlas Asni includes a sauna and hammam. Massages are available upon request.With free public parking nearby, Marrakech International Airport is only 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Atlas Asni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Marrakech
Atlas Asni Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlas Asni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.