We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlas Asni

Save Saved
You added Hotel Atlas Asni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atlas Asni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Street Mohammed VI | Street Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #345 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good location, noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

For the price and location, this hotel is a great value. It's clean, the rooms are small but simple, the toilets and showers are shared (unless you pay more for ensuite), but are fine. It's very centrally located off the Jemma el Fna which is great for exploring the Medina. I would recommend trying to get a room on the second floor as I imagine the first would be noisy, and the third (where we were), was incredibly noisy due to people going up to the terrace for breakfast. Otherwise, it's a great base for a stay in the Medina.

Room Tip: Room 17 on the third floor is both under the stairs going up to the terrace and right under the tabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    212
    183
    115
    70
See reviews for
106
197
26
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very nice entrance, lobby and big garden with swimming pool. Ugly, untidy-look room with cracked tube bath. Very noisy. They were coming and going all night long. Big restaurant but poor quality and very touristic

Room Tip: DO NOT take any room facing the entrance or the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my mom. The hotel was quite empty during our stay, still they located us next room to some families with kids so there were some noise during evenings and nights. Other than that, the hotel is quite peaceful and there is no sounds of mosques etc. coming to the room.

We value very much facilities such as gym and pool when it comes to a hotel. However, we did not manage to go to the pool even once since it was not heated! It was terribly cold :( Prepare for this if you are planning to go there during winter. The gym was ok when it comes to treadmill, cross trainer etc, but weight training options were very limited and we were a bit disappointed for that.

The location of the hotel is between the old town Medina and the new city. I think the location was quite fine, although you had to had a taxi almost every time you wanted to go somewhere. The train station is within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Travelling in a group tour, and staying at local 3 or 4 stars hotels only. Nevertheless, this one is nice and clean. Best part is the free wifi in the room, something that FB and Candy Crush addicts, like me, cannot do without ;)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here with my husband on business. The hotel is well situated, but is very dated... granted, our expectations were adjusted and we did not expect perfection around every corner, but the rooms had heavy old furniture and the linens (towels, bedding and curtains) had stains. We slept surprisingly well, but get down to breakfast early... it's cafeteria style, first-come, first-serve.

With doors open at either end of the hallway, the wind blew through and made it quite cold. Similarly, there were random bed sheets strewn across the hall carpeting in certain areas that got covered in everyones footprints during the dat. We believed this was to cover up a leak...

The staff at check-in did not pay attention to us after approaching the counter on two separate occasions and the cleaning staff ATE pastries that we left in our room.... a bit of a bizarre discovery. We also went to the spa where I was given a damp robe (wonder who wore it before me....) and the masseuse was TEXTING during the massage.

The other Atlas sister property is definitely higher end and classier.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

When you arrive at reception, it's all marble tiles and polished floors and you could be forgiven for thinking that it is a 'posh' hotel with good standards. However, look at bit closer and you will see this hotel has seen better days. Our room was okay at first glance, however the bathroom was in need of a proper clean. Unfortunately, the bath/shower area was not cleaned throughout our stay. The grouting in the tiles and around the bath could do with freshening up.

However, the king-size bed was exceptionally comfortable.

There is a disco most nights, although difficult to detect actually where it was, as there is a hotel next door to the Asni - although it did sound like in was in-house. The music goes on until about 3 o'clock in the morning - so take some earplugs!

I personally didn't find the reception staff all that welcoming. To be honest, I think this hotel caters more for visitors from countries other than Britain and also caters for business travellers. The reception staff did not promote any activities for Marrakech and finding out where to eat/visit etc, was difficult. There is a book of activities and places to visit, which my boyfriend and I didn't discover until the penultimate day of our stay. We did mention to the staff that this book would have been useful to have had in the room or certainly in a more prominent position at reception, which I think fell on deaf ears, to be honest!

To be fair, they speak French here and very little English - which is not entirely their fault, as our French was not really good enough.

This hotel is ideal for the airport - 10 minutes away - and visiting downtown Marrakech. You can walk to the Medina (downtown Marrakech) within half an hour, once you have found your bearings.

The pool area was clean and tidy.

The public areas - certainly in the dining room - could do with a proper steam clean. The foam chair pads are dirty and it wasn't just on one or two chairs, it was all of them. Not what you would expect at a hotel that looks all glossy and shiny. At breakfast, considering the staff didn't appear to be rushed off their feet - they could have made more of an effort with wiping the tables down, for the next guest to sit at!


Breakfast was your typical continental fare. Lots of mini sweet pastries. Some hot food - hard boiled eggs, sausages (not English, obviously!). Not alot of choice, to be honest. Too many waiters hanging around and chatting, not really wiping down tables and making it fresh for the next guests.

On the first night here, we had dinner and frankly, it was dire! Had a lamb navarine (braised/stewed lamb) and this was served tepid. No rice or potatoes accompanying it, even though we asked for rice. The waiter said there was no rice! My boyfriend had soup to start with and this looked and tasted like dishwater! For pudding we had a creme brulee, but again, nothing special.

I would rather starve than eat here.

In the book of activities (the one NOT on show at reception!) there is a trip to the Palais Dar d'Mana. It is a gastronomic feast (five courses) and you pay 500 dirhams for the whole evening (this does NOT included drinks). You are collected and returned to the hotel by taxi. It is a really nice evening. The restaurant is lovely inside and the staff make you feel very welcome - such a contrast to the Atlas Asni. There are dancers and musicians. My boyfriend and I were the only two diners there, but they cater for at least 100 covers. So if you were stuck for somewhere to eat one evening, it would be an ideal place to go to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel looks worn out. It goes beyond the wear and tear any building has. The sink looks dirty, but then you realize that the marble is cracked. Same goes for the bathtub. Some rooms do look dodgy -our companions asked to have their rooms changed TWICE- Ours was just OK. In our room, one of the electricity sockets was completely out of the wall (see pic; how hard is it to get an electrician and make it "neat"?). The hotel is huge and is full in the weekends, yet it only has 3 elevators, and usually 1 is out of order (see pic); the buttons in the elevators (the ones working) don't work properly. The worst part of this hotel is the poor service/management and logistics at the restaurant: during b-fast, they ran out of food constantly. You could see people standing several minutes waiting for food to be served (imagine if you are taking a tour or you are in a hurry); you see waiters and bus boys in and out of the kitchen, but they just go back and no one brings back food. Coffee machine constantly runs out of water; orange juice dispenser as well, etc. Looks like they need a good Food and Beverages coordinator. Same goes for cutlery, napkins, tiding up after guests leave, etc. However, the food is quite tasty. The swimming pool area is nice, so is the lobby. Their WiFi is really poor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Atlas Asni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlas Asni

Address: Street Mohammed VI | Street Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlas Asni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a garden lined with palm trees, this hotel is 3 km from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers an outdoor pool, a fitness centre and a spa.The air-conditioned guest rooms are equipped with a TV and have views of the garden or the swimming pool. Each spacious room features Moroccan decorations. All rooms have a marble bathroom.A buffet breakfast is served every morning at Atlas Asni. Guests can enjoy a drink in the hotel bar or use the free Wi-Fi access in the lounge.The spa at the 4-star hotel Atlas Asni includes a sauna and hammam. Massages are available upon request.With free public parking nearby, Marrakech International Airport is only 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Atlas Asni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Marrakech
Atlas Asni Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlas Asni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.