We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free wifi in the room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlas Asni

Save Saved
You added Hotel Atlas Asni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Atlas Asni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #342 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Free wifi in the room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Travelling in a group tour, and staying at local 3 or 4 stars hotels only. Nevertheless, this one is nice and clean. Best part is the free wifi in the room, something that FB and Candy Crush addicts, like me, cannot do without ;)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    199
    175
    111
    66
See reviews for
100
185
22
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here with my husband on business. The hotel is well situated, but is very dated... granted, our expectations were adjusted and we did not expect perfection around every corner, but the rooms had heavy old furniture and the linens (towels, bedding and curtains) had stains. We slept surprisingly well, but get down to breakfast early... it's cafeteria style, first-come, first-serve.

With doors open at either end of the hallway, the wind blew through and made it quite cold. Similarly, there were random bed sheets strewn across the hall carpeting in certain areas that got covered in everyones footprints during the dat. We believed this was to cover up a leak...

The staff at check-in did not pay attention to us after approaching the counter on two separate occasions and the cleaning staff ATE pastries that we left in our room.... a bit of a bizarre discovery. We also went to the spa where I was given a damp robe (wonder who wore it before me....) and the masseuse was TEXTING during the massage.

The other Atlas sister property is definitely higher end and classier.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

When you arrive at reception, it's all marble tiles and polished floors and you could be forgiven for thinking that it is a 'posh' hotel with good standards. However, look at bit closer and you will see this hotel has seen better days. Our room was okay at first glance, however the bathroom was in need of a proper clean. Unfortunately, the bath/shower area was not cleaned throughout our stay. The grouting in the tiles and around the bath could do with freshening up.

However, the king-size bed was exceptionally comfortable.

There is a disco most nights, although difficult to detect actually where it was, as there is a hotel next door to the Asni - although it did sound like in was in-house. The music goes on until about 3 o'clock in the morning - so take some earplugs!

I personally didn't find the reception staff all that welcoming. To be honest, I think this hotel caters more for visitors from countries other than Britain and also caters for business travellers. The reception staff did not promote any activities for Marrakech and finding out where to eat/visit etc, was difficult. There is a book of activities and places to visit, which my boyfriend and I didn't discover until the penultimate day of our stay. We did mention to the staff that this book would have been useful to have had in the room or certainly in a more prominent position at reception, which I think fell on deaf ears, to be honest!

To be fair, they speak French here and very little English - which is not entirely their fault, as our French was not really good enough.

This hotel is ideal for the airport - 10 minutes away - and visiting downtown Marrakech. You can walk to the Medina (downtown Marrakech) within half an hour, once you have found your bearings.

The pool area was clean and tidy.

The public areas - certainly in the dining room - could do with a proper steam clean. The foam chair pads are dirty and it wasn't just on one or two chairs, it was all of them. Not what you would expect at a hotel that looks all glossy and shiny. At breakfast, considering the staff didn't appear to be rushed off their feet - they could have made more of an effort with wiping the tables down, for the next guest to sit at!


Breakfast was your typical continental fare. Lots of mini sweet pastries. Some hot food - hard boiled eggs, sausages (not English, obviously!). Not alot of choice, to be honest. Too many waiters hanging around and chatting, not really wiping down tables and making it fresh for the next guests.

On the first night here, we had dinner and frankly, it was dire! Had a lamb navarine (braised/stewed lamb) and this was served tepid. No rice or potatoes accompanying it, even though we asked for rice. The waiter said there was no rice! My boyfriend had soup to start with and this looked and tasted like dishwater! For pudding we had a creme brulee, but again, nothing special.

I would rather starve than eat here.

In the book of activities (the one NOT on show at reception!) there is a trip to the Palais Dar d'Mana. It is a gastronomic feast (five courses) and you pay 500 dirhams for the whole evening (this does NOT included drinks). You are collected and returned to the hotel by taxi. It is a really nice evening. The restaurant is lovely inside and the staff make you feel very welcome - such a contrast to the Atlas Asni. There are dancers and musicians. My boyfriend and I were the only two diners there, but they cater for at least 100 covers. So if you were stuck for somewhere to eat one evening, it would be an ideal place to go to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel looks worn out. It goes beyond the wear and tear any building has. The sink looks dirty, but then you realize that the marble is cracked. Same goes for the bathtub. Some rooms do look dodgy -our companions asked to have their rooms changed TWICE- Ours was just OK. In our room, one of the electricity sockets was completely out of the wall (see pic; how hard is it to get an electrician and make it "neat"?). The hotel is huge and is full in the weekends, yet it only has 3 elevators, and usually 1 is out of order (see pic); the buttons in the elevators (the ones working) don't work properly. The worst part of this hotel is the poor service/management and logistics at the restaurant: during b-fast, they ran out of food constantly. You could see people standing several minutes waiting for food to be served (imagine if you are taking a tour or you are in a hurry); you see waiters and bus boys in and out of the kitchen, but they just go back and no one brings back food. Coffee machine constantly runs out of water; orange juice dispenser as well, etc. Looks like they need a good Food and Beverages coordinator. Same goes for cutlery, napkins, tiding up after guests leave, etc. However, the food is quite tasty. The swimming pool area is nice, so is the lobby. Their WiFi is really poor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Good value, safe, friendly, welcoming hotel. Ideal location for exploring Marrakesh the staff where very friendly & helpful; we asked for some places to eat and visit the staff gave us some good advise and tips on places to visit and what time of day was best.

Would recommend for couples and families.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esher
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel was very close to airport 10 minutes, cost was 150 dirham at night, £15 for a big taxi and 80 dirham in the day £8 for a small taxi. (3 people) very close to old town about 20 minutes. when we arrive we paid 50 dirham to go to the old town £5, then we found taxi who only charge 10 dirham £1. We only wanted to walk but they were desperate to take us for one pound. The hotel lounge was amazing and all the staff very welcoming, but i speak fluent French (I am French!) and English, i also tried to speak Arabic, even my Arabic is very limited! very quick checking in, beautiful sitting areas and private sitting rooms. Very polite cleaners, lovely room looking at the swimming pool, quite small as we were 3 people staying in 3 single bed, but to tell the truth we didn't spend much time in there! slept beautifully, lovely hot showers the only negative is the bath was a bit chipped. Clean towels and new soap every day. the first night we got to the restaurant late and got hardly any food left as 500 Italians were staying at the same time, it is better to get to the buffet early to get more chose. We found at the week end lots of Marrocan come and stay and they are very greedy. They take lots of food wich they do not eat and is left on their table and put in the bin! what a waste so if you get there late you get nothing! the food is good and the staff lovely, for a small tip you are looked after for your all trip. They make you omelettes Arabic pancakes etc....the lunch is also recommended instead of the dinner buffet, as you don't have to get up as it is a menu with a chose or 3 starters 3 mains and 3 puddings.We adored the cafe de la poste in Gueliz new town, it was our favorite cafe there, and in the old town le cafe de France, amazing roof view. Best bakery...la patisserie des princes and you must try cornes de gazelles, petits fours, we have never seen so many bees in a bakery! worth a visit and they do not sting! Marrakesh was one of the most amazing place and we will definitively come back, weather was between 20 and 25 degrees everyday.not to be missed the garden Majorelle, horse carriage £10 for 20 minutes !2 for 30 minutes !5 for 40 minutes, great to take pictures...........choukran bizef hotel Atlas Asni

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is convenient for the airport, ten minutes by taxi, and also convenient for Medina, twenty minutes on foot 5 minutes by taxi. If you travel by taxi, always negotiate the fare before getting in.

The hotel reception area is impressive, check in is always smooth and hassle free. Corridors throughout the hotel are carpetted and therefore absorb the noise of footsteps. The rooms are spacious and in need of refurbishment but this is where you should start comparing the Atlas Asni with other hotels. It's sister hotel, next door, has much nicer, better decorated rooms and you will pay twice as much. Some rooms overlook the pool, others overlook main road.

Pool area is surrounded by grass and gardens. The pool is clean with plenty of loungers but in the busy months of the year they are in short supply. There is a good waiter service around the pool and at lunch time you can get snacks from the poolside restaurant.

Breakfast is basic and repetative but, once again, you can go to the hotel next door, pay more and get more. In the evening there are plenty of good restaurants in the area which are less expensive than the hotel and walking around is very safe and free from hassle.

I have visited this hotel on a number of occasions and have recommended to friends who have also enjoyed the good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Atlas Asni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlas Asni

Also Known As:
Atlas Asni
Atlas Marrakech
Atlas Asni Marrakech
Address: Avenue Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlas Asni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a garden lined with palm trees, this hotel is 3 km from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers an outdoor pool, a fitness centre and a spa.The air-conditioned guest rooms are equipped with a TV and have views of the garden or the swimming pool. Each spacious room features Moroccan decorations. All rooms have a marble bathroom.A buffet breakfast is served every morning at Atlas Asni. Guests can enjoy a drink in the hotel bar or use the free Wi-Fi access in the lounge.The spa at the 4-star hotel Atlas Asni includes a sauna and hammam. Massages are available upon request.With free public parking nearby, Marrakech International Airport is only 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Atlas Asni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlas Asni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.