We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean tidy cost effective hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlas Asni

Save Saved
You added Hotel Atlas Asni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atlas Asni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Street Mohammed VI | Street Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #344 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean tidy cost effective hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Good value, safe, friendly, welcoming hotel. Ideal location for exploring Marrakesh the staff where very friendly & helpful; we asked for some places to eat and visit the staff gave us some good advise and tips on places to visit and what time of day was best.

Would recommend for couples and families.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    212
    183
    115
    69
See reviews for
105
197
26
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
esher
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel was very close to airport 10 minutes, cost was 150 dirham at night, £15 for a big taxi and 80 dirham in the day £8 for a small taxi. (3 people) very close to old town about 20 minutes. when we arrive we paid 50 dirham to go to the old town £5, then we found taxi who only charge 10 dirham £1. We only wanted to walk but they were desperate to take us for one pound. The hotel lounge was amazing and all the staff very welcoming, but i speak fluent French (I am French!) and English, i also tried to speak Arabic, even my Arabic is very limited! very quick checking in, beautiful sitting areas and private sitting rooms. Very polite cleaners, lovely room looking at the swimming pool, quite small as we were 3 people staying in 3 single bed, but to tell the truth we didn't spend much time in there! slept beautifully, lovely hot showers the only negative is the bath was a bit chipped. Clean towels and new soap every day. the first night we got to the restaurant late and got hardly any food left as 500 Italians were staying at the same time, it is better to get to the buffet early to get more chose. We found at the week end lots of Marrocan come and stay and they are very greedy. They take lots of food wich they do not eat and is left on their table and put in the bin! what a waste so if you get there late you get nothing! the food is good and the staff lovely, for a small tip you are looked after for your all trip. They make you omelettes Arabic pancakes etc....the lunch is also recommended instead of the dinner buffet, as you don't have to get up as it is a menu with a chose or 3 starters 3 mains and 3 puddings.We adored the cafe de la poste in Gueliz new town, it was our favorite cafe there, and in the old town le cafe de France, amazing roof view. Best bakery...la patisserie des princes and you must try cornes de gazelles, petits fours, we have never seen so many bees in a bakery! worth a visit and they do not sting! Marrakesh was one of the most amazing place and we will definitively come back, weather was between 20 and 25 degrees everyday.not to be missed the garden Majorelle, horse carriage £10 for 20 minutes !2 for 30 minutes !5 for 40 minutes, great to take pictures...........choukran bizef hotel Atlas Asni

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is convenient for the airport, ten minutes by taxi, and also convenient for Medina, twenty minutes on foot 5 minutes by taxi. If you travel by taxi, always negotiate the fare before getting in.

The hotel reception area is impressive, check in is always smooth and hassle free. Corridors throughout the hotel are carpetted and therefore absorb the noise of footsteps. The rooms are spacious and in need of refurbishment but this is where you should start comparing the Atlas Asni with other hotels. It's sister hotel, next door, has much nicer, better decorated rooms and you will pay twice as much. Some rooms overlook the pool, others overlook main road.

Pool area is surrounded by grass and gardens. The pool is clean with plenty of loungers but in the busy months of the year they are in short supply. There is a good waiter service around the pool and at lunch time you can get snacks from the poolside restaurant.

Breakfast is basic and repetative but, once again, you can go to the hotel next door, pay more and get more. In the evening there are plenty of good restaurants in the area which are less expensive than the hotel and walking around is very safe and free from hassle.

I have visited this hotel on a number of occasions and have recommended to friends who have also enjoyed the good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were originally booked in another hotel which upon arrival in Marrakech we found wasn't even open, so arrangements had been made for us to stay at the Atlas Asni. When we arrived and entered the Lobby area, we were definitely impressed. Its quite beautiful and grand and had great places to sit and relax if you just want to get on to your laptop and surf the net. Check in was a breeze considering we weren't originally booked here, but unfortunately the staff cannot speak great English as French is the main language in Morroco so it was difficult to get a reasonable answer out of them if we had questions about the local area etc. We headed up to our room which had its pros and cons. It was definitely spacious, however it was quite dusty and there were no slippers to wear in the room so we had to keep our socks on and keep washing our feet as they would get quite dirty. There were a lot of chips and cracks in the paint especially in the bathroom which wasn't nice and made it look dated. The phone in the room had a dial tone but no indication of what number to press for room service, reception, spa etc so it may as well not have been there. There was a nice balcony but no table and chairs to sit on and take in the view of the pool which was a shame as we had some nice weather. There was a mini bar but it was empty and there was no pens in the room, or a kettle or bathrobes which for me are basics in any '4*' hotel. Unfortunately, breakfast (6am-10am) was no better. We stayed for 3 nights and everyday the breakfast was the same and was definitely lacking in the variety department. There was no omelette bar so we asked the staff if the chef could make us one. It takes a while but eventually it does come out and its just egg with no filling which was a shame. There are 2 types of pastries, and fresh orange juice. I saw one bowl of fruit and some cream and toast etc but it was defo lacking and not enjoyable. There were also birds flying around in the seating area which isn't very hygienic or clean as they are attracted to the crumbs left on the tables and they leave droppings on the seats which is horrible to see at breakfast.The pool area was clean and there were plenty of sun loungers which I am sure would get filled in the summer months.
To get our bearings I asked for a map from reception but was told I need to buy one from the hotel shop which I also found to be very weird. You cannot walk to the medina from the hotel and all taxis in Marrakech rip you off. Do not pay more than 20 dirhams from hotel to medina and when travelling back to the airport we paid 80 dirhams even though they ask for 150 dirhams and show you the set price sticker on there windscreen.
Overall, wish it could have been more. However, I guess you need to remember you are in Marrakech and the standards aren't great. So I guess considering where we were it was fine and as we only stayed for 3 nights. I think if we had stayed in any other hotel it would have been the same if not worse so I guess we should count our lucky stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Remembering where you are, in Morocco. This Hotel is a gem of a find. Second time here, and just as good if not better. We slept like logs, with no corridor noise. They are carpeted. A very large hotel with excellent smiling staff, ready to please. Large immaculate rooms with up to date TV. Yes, they can look dated, but nonetheless a very large adequate room. We had a large balcony, coffee table and chairs, fridge and plenty of room. The bathroom/shower, again large, with an endless supply of hot and strong pressured water. Plenty of plugs and lighting. A reasonable WIFI connection also. A price for three nights was that of a one night stay in the UK and better value!
Breakfast consisted of an endless supply of hot and cold foods, including cereals etc, and available until 11am. Perfect for lie-ins.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast limited, no omelets or fruit.
Evening meal limited - again no fruit
Dimly lit hotel, service average
Rooms shabby and in need of decor
Hotel ok for limited stay only
Rooms cleaned daily. More a business hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The multi-storied hotel overlooks a wide boulevard with a lovely walking path and gardens in the center. Our room had blackout drapes and a private balcony overlooking the pool. Our a/c was weak, the halls noisy, and the room was smoky, but the bed was fine and I slept great here. The bath/shower was fully functioning. The gigantic pool is a wonderful break from the sensory overload of the medina and souk, a must see sight. There are poolside waiters as well as a bar with shaded tables near the pool with a variety of mixed drinks. A full breakfast buffet included eggs and potatoes along with fruits and breads, and could be eaten on the patio. Lunch served on the patio included good pasta Sicilanne, with olive oil, olives, and tomatoes. . The buffet dinner included with our Trafalgar tour was well prepared with a wide variety of lamb, soups, great curried potatoes, peppers, eggplant, chicken and the best Napolean dessert I've had. Wine and beer was available but the white was not chilled so we stuck to the excellent red local wine.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the poolside are quieter than the rooms overlooking the curved drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Atlas Asni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlas Asni

Address: Street Mohammed VI | Street Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlas Asni 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a garden lined with palm trees, this hotel is 3 km from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers an outdoor pool, a fitness centre and a spa.The air-conditioned guest rooms are equipped with a TV and have views of the garden or the swimming pool. Each spacious room features Moroccan decorations. All rooms have a marble bathroom.A buffet breakfast is served every morning at Atlas Asni. Guests can enjoy a drink in the hotel bar or use the free Wi-Fi access in the lounge.The spa at the 4-star hotel Atlas Asni includes a sauna and hammam. Massages are available upon request.With free public parking nearby, Marrakech International Airport is only 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Atlas Asni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Marrakech
Atlas Asni Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlas Asni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.