We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be avoided” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlas Asni

Save Saved
You added Hotel Atlas Asni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Atlas Asni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de France, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #342 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“To be avoided”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I staied with my family this summer and this is the worst experience I had in Morrocco. The rooms are bad, it was during the month of July and the air conditionning was not working. We paid for 2 rooms but we used only one given the other one was like a Sona. We paid for breakfast and diner and the food was not only bad but there was not enough food for all the hotel guests.

This hotel is to be avoided believe me.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel, this is my advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    198
    174
    111
    66
See reviews for
100
185
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here with a tour group of about 35. Many of us switched out of our original rooms due to maintenance issues (air con didn't work, wind whistled through gaps in the windows, room safe wasn't functioning...and this was just our room). Hotel was good about switching us, but we didn't realize that the phone in our "new" room wasn't working until we getting ready to check out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

After having a rather horrifying first impression of Morocco, Atlas Asni rescued us from our dilemma, gave us complimentary meals and a cheap rate for two nights, I was in tears when I arrived and ready to leave the country, after meeting the hotel Manager and his staff, my feeling of the country completely changed and I had the most amazing time in Morocco. I credit Atlas Asni for laying the foundation for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Like other recent reviewers some of the things that I read about this hotel led me not to have great expectations of it. We were pleasantly surprised, the rooms were good and the hotel was very clean. The breakfast was plentiful, but after 10 days I would have liked a little more variety.

The staff were helpful and efficient. If something was missing or empty on the breakfast buffet, then a polite request to a waiter resulted in it being delivered to your table promptly.

In order to keep our costs down we bought our alcoholic drinks(expensive in hotels and restaurants here) from the supermarket and kept them in our refrigerator in the room. There are inexpensive restaurants within 10 minutes walk, but for the real Marrakech eating experience head for Place Jemaa El Fna and eat on the stalls. We tried several of these and found stall number 1 was excellent whilst stall number 34 served bad food and attempted to rip us off.

When getting taxis from the hotel, the Taxi mafia outside try to rig prices. Walk a little way down the road and hail a passing cab. You should be able to bargain down to about half the price of the taxis outside the hotel or if you are really persuasive you might get them to use the meter (I only managed this once).

Room Tip: All rooms have pool views either the Atlas Asni pool or the Atlas Medina pool. You can use either po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews I was a little skeptical about this hotel. However, how pleasantly surprised I was. From when we checked in the staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel was spotless inside and out. We had the breakfast option in our room tariff which was good, every morning a variety of hot and cold food was available, there were plenty of clean tables to sit at. The pool area was of a high standard plenty of sun beds and towels to use. We ate at the bar/restaurant at lunch time on several occasions,they serve salads,sandwiches,paninis,pasta etc all of which again very nice and ood value. The bedrooms were clean and tidy with hairdryer,toliets,fridge,tv we didn't experience any noise from other guests at all, the only slight issue we had was the air conditioning wasn't brilliant, we changed rooms after the 1st night and the next room was better which was a relief as it was 45-47 degrees. We got taxis to the old part of the city which were plentyful outside the hotel, they cost roughly £5 each way. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and when we return to Marrakech will use this hotel again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were travelling as a party of 15 when we had our flight home cancelled. BA arranged for us to be transported to this hotel and stay the night before re-arranging our flight home. It is about 10 mins on a bus from the airport. The reception lobby looks lovely - that's where it ends. We were checked in quite efficiently considering it was 180 people on the flight. The rooms are reasonably clean, the phone didnt work nor did the safe. There were twin beds with a TV which didnt work. The bathroom is functional not particularly well maintained. The restaurant had reserved seating for our flight, we checking in by 8.30pm and the restaurant closed at 9.30pm. It was a buffet style, there was hardly any food left when we got there. It was chicken and some pasta and a bit of salad. We were allowed 1 bottle of water free per table. All drinks had to be paid for in cash or card when ordered. They even offered to escort you to get the cash!! The major problem here is the staff. They are blatantly rude and unhelpful. I asked for a bottle of water to take to my room and was told "you give me cash". English is not spoken very well and considering the size of this hotel I was surprised at this. 2 of our party had their passports stolen. Their bag was on the back of their chair in the restaurant. The hotel refused to call a taxi so they could go to the police station, they were told to go into the street. We had to check out at 5.45am - the hotel did not inform everyone of this, they were supposed to alarm call everyone - some people only woke up when they heard people in the corridors with their luggage.

Im only glad I did not pay for this experience.

Just for the record the airport staff told us this was a 5* hotel !! Absolutely not.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Atlas Asni as part of an escorted tour through Morocco. The lobby looks good and that is the best part of the hotel. The room was clean, but a little spartan. The bed was average, with only two pillows and one big snake like body pillow. Our phone did not work. The included breakfast buffet was awful and poorly laid out. The breakfast room almost looked unattended and tables went uncleared and dirty. Our room itself was cleaned well. There is a pool that looked nice, but we didn't go in. There is a bar that is extremely smoky, but drinks could be carried out. The hotel is located in an area that is a strip of hotels. You can walk to the Medina (Old City) but it would be a LONG walk, a cab ride would be better. Average place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Atlas Asni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlas Asni

Also Known As:
Atlas Asni
Atlas Marrakech
Atlas Asni Marrakech
Address: Avenue de France, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlas Asni 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Atlas Asni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlas Asni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.