We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Les Cigognes to your Saves list
Dar Les Cigognes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Beverly Hills, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

To preface my review, I have been to 52 countries and had just come from the Burj al Arab in Dubai, a hotel that bills itself as the world's most luxurious. Yet, the service at Dar Les Cigognes was the best I have ever experienced. The staff could not be more helpful. And the best part is that their desire to help comes across as truly genuine. From typed up personal "favorites"/recommendations at check in from the manager, to a private dinner in the courtyard, to the maid that waits to go home just because you chose to sleep in, each staff exceeded my expectations time and time again. The hotel does all of this while charging very reasonable room and food rates. I would love to return, and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for traditional Moroccan hospitality and personalized service. It goes down as one of my favorite hotels in the world, which also include The Breakers Palm Beach and The Peninsula Los Angeles.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    43
    8
    11
    6
See reviews for
25
173
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Traditional Riad with good rooftop garden area. Location ten minutes walk from the main souk which is a bonus as 1) it was quieter and 2) a taxi can take you to the door.
Greetings and checking in were friendly and traditional. Room was clean with the biggest baths you could ever need unless you were keeping dolphins.
Pierre and team looked after us very well with good reaervations off site. Make sure you do the cookery class. The local shops were well hidden and pierre appeared to lnow everyone in town. As to Fulya the chef. Great fun. Just go easy on the wine. Pierre is french.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three days at the beginning of March. When we were looking online and planning our trip, all of the hundreds of options for riads and hotels started looking the same and we had the hardest time finally making a decision. We are so happy that we decided to stay here. The hotel is beautiful and clean and elegantly authentic. The food we had at the restaurant was the best food we had in all of Morocco on our week long trip. My wife and I would suggest to anyone going to Morocco that they stay at this hotel for at least two nights and take advantage of the GM Pierre's vast knowledge and love of Marrakech and Morocco. In hindsight I wish I had contacted Pierre at the hotel before our trip and gotten ideas on how best to plan the rest of our trip (doing that beforehand is the best advice I could give to anyone going). If you do decide to stay here make sure that you spend the extra bit of money to take advantage of the hammam and the cooking class with the market tour. Overall staying here was a great experience and our favorite part of our trip to Morocco.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days in April to celebrate his 40th birthday. This is a beautiful riad and the decor is cosy and welcoming. It's very relaxing and a perfect haven. As someone has already said, Pierres recommendations are excellent and should be noted. I only wish I could speak french as it would have made everything a lot easier both in and around the riad.

Room Tip: We stayed in Safia which was spacious and had no issues with noise from other floors which some peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed here with my three teenagers in February and we loved this hotel. They looked after us superbly. We went on the market spice tour and did the cooking class (on a day when the weather wasn't very nice). Incredibly helpful information on shopping, restaurants and activities - they organised camel rides for us. Lovely rooftop garden where we had lunch when the weather was nice and watched the storks building their nests on the palace walls. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This Hotel was just beautiful!! Each room was uniquely decorated. It gave us true experience of Marrakech. Pierre gave us a very warm welcome. He gave us great recommendations!! You must trust his advise!! Only draw back was the confusion we experienced over ordering for breakfast. I guess the communication gap was a great challenge. It truly helped though that everyone was so willing to help and was oh so accommodating!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Lovely place to stay and good location, close to the souks but also far enough away to feel you have escaped! Stay starts with a meeting from Pierre who is very attentive and welcoming throughout stay. Breakfasts were delicious and lovely way to start the morning on the roof terrace. Yes there are some bees, but the honey is so delicious I'd probably want to take it back too if i was a bee! Easily dealt with by covering the honey (I'd do that in England too). Roof terrace looks on to old palace walls where you can watch the storks soaring overhead. It's a little noisy from the streets, but I'm not sure I'd expect anything different and it's quite charming if anything. Slept very well. Great cooking course with the Riad's dada and eating the food afterwards was lots of fun, would definitely recommend to friends to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Address: 108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Escapio, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Les Cigognes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.