We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Les Cigognes to your Saves list
Dar Les Cigognes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Hurley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

So I've just got back from five days in stunning Marrakech. The place was wonderful, the people friendly and the sun fantastic. But you know what? The thing that made the holiday for me was the Dar les Cigognes and in particular it's brilliant staff.

Quite simply, they cannot do enough for you - nothing is too much for them - and the result is that the riad becomes a haven in the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

True, the building is beautiful and is really well looked after, the location is great (close to museums, souks and Jemaa el Fna) and the roof terrace is lovely. But if you go for only one reason, go to be pampered by one of the best groups of staff you will find anywhere.

I'm going back for sure! :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent four glorious days over the New Year holidays. Pierre and his staff were the ultimate hosts. Upon arrival Pierre sat us down and briefed us on all the good things to expect during our stay while his staff served delicious sweet pastries and tea. The facility is very well appointed in old world charm, the food served on the roof terrace was absolutely delectable and the service was impeccable. We've been travelling for many, many years and stayed in hotels throughout Europe, the US and the Caribbean and never before have we felt so special, pampered and at home. Marrakech itself is safe at all times even at midnight in the dark alleys of the square when lights go out. We happened to catch a light failure late at night and never felt safer, in fact it was quite fun. Make sure you take the Hammam, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were spacious and well-appointed, though the Harem room could use a thorough vacuum. We had one dinner that was excellent, and breakfast was served up on the lovely terrace. We took a cooking class with Alain. He took us through the spice market prior to cooking, and that was a highlight of our stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights of utter bliss.
Firstly the riad is beautiful, clean, well presented and the perfect getaway from the rush of the city.
The staff here make this riad stand out. The help with organising dinner, trips and events was fantastic. Summarised by the great guide book they have put together of their favourites. The cookery courses are also great and very individual.
This riad is well located a short walk from all that is important.

Room Tip: The 'safari' room was really lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

An excellent choice for accomodations in Marrakech. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. The setting is a typical riad, with a central courtyard and four stories of rooms ringing the courtyard. Roof top is a pleasent patio with seating and plantings where you can get a very good meal. The decor is well selected and nice Moroccon pieces, with a clean room and good closets.

Finding the location can be a challenge if you are driving yourself and are not familiar with Marrakech. The signage for the riad is (as is typical) very understated and difficult to pick out as you wiz on by in the chaotic streets. Once you have found the door, then you need to find parking, which thankfully there is a lot that is about 100 meters down the road. My suggestion is that you pull up in front of the building, knock on the door and then get the hotel staff to help you find your way into the parking lot. Once you are parked, you will not need to get to your car until you want to leave Marrakech.

The food at the riad is excellent, and as good a meal as you can find in the city. The staff and service are top notch, and the small number of rooms keeps this place cozy and romantic. While not quite as polished as the very highest end properties in Marrakech, the value is tremendous and the warm, friendly staff make this a top selection.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hiways_byways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

In my opinion: Absolutely deservedly 5-stars in every respect. The rooms were stunning, clean and comfortable Staff were lovely, friendly and helpful Location: A 5 min walk from the central square The Riad is immaculately presented and a welcome haven from the bustle outside.

Room Tip: Away from the road out the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acapella187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We arrived late as our plane was held up ....but were met by a pleasant gentleman driver from the hotel. Although paying to be picked up was expensive compared to haggling for a taxi it was worth it as we arrived at 11pm and arrived at our accommodation stress free. The room was very large with a large bathroom on the ground floor very very quiet until 1am when the people on the next floor arrived very noisy on the wooden floors ... Make sure you get a room upstairs . The hotel had 11 rooms all very different very clean and atmospherical all in keeping with the area around the medina. I however was very claustrophobic as there was very little daylight to be had and on waking in the morning felt it was the middle of the night.. I even had to use a torch to find my clothes in the wardrobe ...we didn't have any food in the hotel as we were happy to wander out and use the abundance of cafés at a third of the price the hotel asked which was 140 dirhams each for breakfast and 390 dirhams for an evening meal ... To be fair we don't know what was on offer so can't advise if it was worth it or not. We did see them setting up some tables for an evening meal on the roof terrace which looked very well presented and quite romantic lovely lightening candles, lanterns and flowers.
We did have two really nice meals with wine at the kosybar which was two minutes walk away nice atmosphere which had a really entertaining musician. The staff at the hotel were-not at all intrusive but were extremely approachable if and when you required information. Taxis to the mar jolle garden 20 dirham. The hotel is nicely situated for a gentle stroll to the medina souks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#48 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#104 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#34 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#7 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#30 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riyad El Cadi
Riyad El Cadi
#124 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Address: 108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#126 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing