We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Save Saved
You added Dar Les Cigognes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 12 more sites!
Dar Les Cigognes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived the night before my husband's birthday and were met by Pierre. It was a very friendly and and informative welcome. On the recommendation of a couple leaving we booked the cookery course for the next day as well as a Hamman for the birthday boy. Both were amazing and Pierre gave us a fascinating tour of the local Markets.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast on the roof terrace is a must. We especially enjoyed watching the storks nesting on the palace towers opposite.
Pierre gave us a lovely send off in the taxi after joining us for refreshments and a gift of pastries.
We fully intend to return to Dar les Cigognes on our next visit to marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    40
    7
    11
    6
See reviews for
22
153
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a beautiful Riad in a good location a short walk from the central square . The manager and all his team were absolutely lovely, friendly, calm and helpful. We stayed in the Silver room. It didn't disappoint, the interior was stunning. It has a lux feel without being over the top or garish. The rest of the Riad has wonderful interiors with great attention to detail.

We took the opportunity to do the 1/2 day cooking course. It was a great introduction to Morrocan cooking. We had an interested tour of the local produce markets, then back to the hotel kitchen for an extensive lesson of 6 dishes. Followed by lunch on the terrace enjoying all we'd cooked. It was a little pricey, but if cooking's your thing well worth it.

The only disappointment was the the airport transfer cost €25 each way. I'd recomend a taxi to and from the airport as they're easy to come by and its only a 15 min drive costing approx £7.

Thanks for a great stay, I'll be recommending the Riad to friends traveling to Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Dar Les Cigognes, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other travellers. Especially for sharing your experiences about your room and the cooking classes, and general level of service.

Regarding airport transfers, and transfers generally. We use an outside transport company. We have chosen this company for several reasons. 1. They invoice us and pay their taxes (ie. they declare their revenues; 2. They are licensed to carry tourists; 3. They are insured; 4. Their drivers are professional, safe, courteous and reliable; 5. They have nice, clean cars (please note that there is close to 100% import duty on cars not made in Morocco); 6. Our guests have never complained about their service.

The statistics on road safety in Morocco are not appealing. You are 29 times more likely to be killed in an auto accident in Morocco than you are in the United Kingdom. Many people drive without drivers licenses, and without insurance. This includes taxi drivers. Many of our hotel competitors employ a driver and use their own car or have informal arrangements with outside drivers; in the vast majority of these instances, they do not have the required permits, licenses, or insurance to carry tourists. This can result in stops by the police, delays, hassles, and in the worst case of an accident, a client's insurance claim could be invalidated.

We prefer to focus on our guests' comfort and safety. We do not make our guests use this service, any are welcome to make alternative arrangements, but we do recommend it. As a member of the British Business Group of Marrakech, we adhere to the same ethical and legal standards that would be expected of us were we doing business in Britain. We ask that our suppliers do the same. Most clients appreciate that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We visited Marrakech in June 2013. Our room was out of this world. Pierre the Hotel manager was beyond helpful in organising a day trip to the High Atlas Mountains with 'Bruce' the driver and a booking for dinner at Le Tobsil where the journey there, as we were led down tiny winding alleyways from the car, was part of the magical experience. We breakfasted each morning on the rooftop terrace of the Hotel which provided a calm oasis before the chaos of Marrkech proper each day. After exploring on foot and immersing ouselves in the sights, sounds and smells of such a mad city, the only way to unwind was with a Hammam in the basement. Afterwards, sunset drinks, 5 minutes walk away at Kosybar in Place des Ferblantiers, was about as much effort as our relaxed states could manage. A thoroughly lovely Hotel with helpful, attentive staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble, to ensure our stay was fabulous.
Take wet wipes in case you get 'henna'd' in the main square of Jemaa el Fna!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

An architecturally beautiful hotel with a stunning roof terrace. If you do stay, DO have a hammam, the steam room itself is beautiful apart from the health and relaxation benefits of a good scrub down! You'll feel like a million dollars afterwards. The manager was very welcoming and informative. Our room was beautiful. Couldn't fault anything so far . . .

However, for a restaurant/s that prides itself on its food, we were somewhat disappointed, since this was one of the reasons for booking the Dar Les Cigognes in the first place. The choice for dinner on the night we arrived was a set menu comprising two salad starters, two tajine main courses (one chicken, one vegetable) and two deserts. Incidentally, this was the same menu offered at lunch. We ordered one each of the salads, they were ok, nothing special; the chicken tajine was excellent though; only one of the deserts ordered was available and that was an extremely dense and extremely sweet chocolate mousse.

The following day, we visited their sister Riad Kaiss for lunch as it is highly recommended by Dar les Cigognes. A reservation was made for us to have a late lunch. This time there was no menu; we were told that we could have a chicken sandwich or a meatball tajine. We had a rather passable salad (I've eaten far better salads in the most ordinary Moroccan restaurants) followed by a rather disappointing meatball stew, which was not actually served in a tajine. We were told that we couldn't have wine because there was nobody to serve us. We waited so long for the meal that we had to eat in a hurry and run to catch our taxi to the airport. A salad and a meatball stew for two and two bottles of water came to MAD 529.80, probably the worst value meal in two and a half weeks in Morocco.

The hotel is beautiful and the staff are excellent. Our breakfast was delicious. However, for a hotel which prides itself on its food, offers cookery classes and acted as a venue for Yotam Ottolenghi's food programme on Moroccan cuisine, the management needs to look at what it offers its guests for lunch and dinner. I have eaten far better Moroccan cuisine at half the price in the most humble eateries in Marrakech, the Atlas mountains and Essaouira. I think you need to do better!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Found the trip on Trip Advisor, and stayed here with my partner, the previous reviews are entirely accurate, this is the most amazing hotel.

Situated on a scruffy little street a very unassuming entrance leads you basically to paradise. The helpful and very welcoming Pierre gives a quick induction to those that have not braved Marrakech before. The rooms are lovely (we stayed in the Harem room) and a lovely breakfast is served on a beautiful terrace each morning. The hotel is a short walk away from pretty much everything you need, and Pierre is very helpful in coming up with some great restaurant choices.

We will definitely return here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I went to marrakesh in a group of 9 university friends for a week and the staff at the riad , in particular Pierre , made the trip. Pierre helped us to organise everything from dessert excursions to Hammans to sightseeing and eating and drinking and more.

Before and during the trip the staff ensured our trip was tailored to us specifically, always happy to field questions and provide insight on the what when and how questions of marrakesh

The riad itself is beautiful, well located , and tranquil. I couldn't reccomend this riad and it's staff any more highly

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Serene, exquisite 16th-century riad tucked just on the side of the Badi Palais, taking its name from the Cigognes (storks) which nest on the ramparts of the palace. You could not hope for a better situated (the walk from the riad to the central square ensures a brief but pleasant daily wander down one of the central market streets), more gracious (Pierre is kind and informative and the staff are lovely - if you leave your room for more than five minutes you will find it magically cleaned and a delicious apricot biscuit laid out for you) or more beautiful (the rose-blooming roof terrrace is simply perfect) place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech
Address: 108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#95 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Les Cigognes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.