We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel . . . did somebody mention food?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Les Cigognes to your Saves list
Dar Les Cigognes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel . . . did somebody mention food?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

An architecturally beautiful hotel with a stunning roof terrace. If you do stay, DO have a hammam, the steam room itself is beautiful apart from the health and relaxation benefits of a good scrub down! You'll feel like a million dollars afterwards. The manager was very welcoming and informative. Our room was beautiful. Couldn't fault anything so far . . .

However, for a restaurant/s that prides itself on its food, we were somewhat disappointed, since this was one of the reasons for booking the Dar Les Cigognes in the first place. The choice for dinner on the night we arrived was a set menu comprising two salad starters, two tajine main courses (one chicken, one vegetable) and two deserts. Incidentally, this was the same menu offered at lunch. We ordered one each of the salads, they were ok, nothing special; the chicken tajine was excellent though; only one of the deserts ordered was available and that was an extremely dense and extremely sweet chocolate mousse.

The following day, we visited their sister Riad Kaiss for lunch as it is highly recommended by Dar les Cigognes. A reservation was made for us to have a late lunch. This time there was no menu; we were told that we could have a chicken sandwich or a meatball tajine. We had a rather passable salad (I've eaten far better salads in the most ordinary Moroccan restaurants) followed by a rather disappointing meatball stew, which was not actually served in a tajine. We were told that we couldn't have wine because there was nobody to serve us. We waited so long for the meal that we had to eat in a hurry and run to catch our taxi to the airport. A salad and a meatball stew for two and two bottles of water came to MAD 529.80, probably the worst value meal in two and a half weeks in Morocco.

The hotel is beautiful and the staff are excellent. Our breakfast was delicious. However, for a hotel which prides itself on its food, offers cookery classes and acted as a venue for Yotam Ottolenghi's food programme on Moroccan cuisine, the management needs to look at what it offers its guests for lunch and dinner. I have eaten far better Moroccan cuisine at half the price in the most humble eateries in Marrakech, the Atlas mountains and Essaouira. I think you need to do better!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    46
    8
    11
    6
See reviews for
25
179
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Found the trip on Trip Advisor, and stayed here with my partner, the previous reviews are entirely accurate, this is the most amazing hotel.

Situated on a scruffy little street a very unassuming entrance leads you basically to paradise. The helpful and very welcoming Pierre gives a quick induction to those that have not braved Marrakech before. The rooms are lovely (we stayed in the Harem room) and a lovely breakfast is served on a beautiful terrace each morning. The hotel is a short walk away from pretty much everything you need, and Pierre is very helpful in coming up with some great restaurant choices.

We will definitely return here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I went to marrakesh in a group of 9 university friends for a week and the staff at the riad , in particular Pierre , made the trip. Pierre helped us to organise everything from dessert excursions to Hammans to sightseeing and eating and drinking and more.

Before and during the trip the staff ensured our trip was tailored to us specifically, always happy to field questions and provide insight on the what when and how questions of marrakesh

The riad itself is beautiful, well located , and tranquil. I couldn't reccomend this riad and it's staff any more highly

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Serene, exquisite 16th-century riad tucked just on the side of the Badi Palais, taking its name from the Cigognes (storks) which nest on the ramparts of the palace. You could not hope for a better situated (the walk from the riad to the central square ensures a brief but pleasant daily wander down one of the central market streets), more gracious (Pierre is kind and informative and the staff are lovely - if you leave your room for more than five minutes you will find it magically cleaned and a delicious apricot biscuit laid out for you) or more beautiful (the rose-blooming roof terrrace is simply perfect) place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I spent seven nights at Dar Les Cigognes with a large group of friends as part of a university reunion trip, and can honestly say that it was a wholly superb experience in every respect.

Pierre is an exceptionally knowledgeable, charming and professional host - he helped us plan our entire stay in Marrakech including excursions, daytime activities, nightclubs, and places to eat. We were also given an information sheet which was very well researched, unbiased, and accurate. As a result having a good time in Marrakech was almost effortless. He was able to advise us on all aspects of our stay (all of his advice without exception being spot-on) and was happy to organise further accommodation for one of our party who was heading on to Casablanca.

The Riad is a beautiful and historic building, located a short walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa and a number of other attractions. The staff are attentive, extremely polite and sociable (not to mention well attired). The food was excellent. The roof terrace is the perfect location to spend an evening, and the rooms are full of character with fittings of a very high standard. The toiletries provided are also of excellent quality.

All in all, I could not fault Dar Les Cigognes in any respect, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I spent her 40th birthday in Morocco and we stayed in Marrakech for four nights. Excellent time. We were met at the airport by their driver and smoothly delivered to the front door. Pierre, the General Manager, greeted us as we entered with mint tea and cookies, and explained the riad and medina. Pierre provided a comprehensive list of places to eat, shop and visit (this list proved to be extremely helpful).

We did a cooking class that was a great time, including going to the market to meet the vendors they use. During the walk through the market we learned a lot of the history of Marrakech.

We had a hammam treatment and massage in the Riad that were delightful. The spa area was very clean and used great local products (which were also included in the bathrooms).

Highly recommend this tranquil and charming Riad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here for one week with my partner in June 2013. We were welcomed by the managers assistant on arrival, and sat down in the beautiful reception area and given some home made pastries and mint tea. She made us feel extremely welcome and provided us with advice about visiting Marrakech, recommendations of places to visit and a map. We stayed in the Atlas Room which was incredible, very spacious, lovely furniture and decorations, and an enormous bath. There is also a beautiful steam room and jacuzzi just next door to our room. There were lots of nice touches in the room - fresh roses, rose petals on the bed and around the bath, bottled water, and toiletries (locally made shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and moisturising lotion) which were kept topped up during our stay. The room was kept immaculate by the staff and we were very impressed by the level of cleanliness. We didn't eat at the hotel as we found it too expensive (370 dirhams for 3 courses, which is significantly more than other restaurants) but have heard that the food is good. We did however enjoy sitting on the beautiful roof terrace for drinks - the hotel is one of the few places we found that serves alcoholic drinks in Marrakech, and their wine is of excellent quality.

We booked this hotel through lastminute.com and unfortunately at no point during our booking or stay (until the last day) were we told about the mandatory hotel tax for the government of around €3.50 euros per person per day which would be added to our bill so that was a bit of a surprise at the end. I am not clear if this is the fault of the hotel or the booking site but it would have been nice to be made aware of this at some point so we could budget for it - instead we had to change more money on the last day. I would have much preferred it if this tax had been included in the fee quoted to us and just have paid a bit extra for the room - given the quality of the hotel we would have still booked without hesitation.

I can highly recommend this hotel, particularly to couples wanting to stay somewhere very central in the medina.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Address: 108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#83 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#92 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Splendia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Les Cigognes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.