We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Les Cigognes to your Saves list
Dar Les Cigognes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Miami, FL
1 review
“Incredible Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I spent her 40th birthday in Morocco and we stayed in Marrakech for four nights. Excellent time. We were met at the airport by their driver and smoothly delivered to the front door. Pierre, the General Manager, greeted us as we entered with mint tea and cookies, and explained the riad and medina. Pierre provided a comprehensive list of places to eat, shop and visit (this list proved to be extremely helpful).

We did a cooking class that was a great time, including going to the market to meet the vendors they use. During the walk through the market we learned a lot of the history of Marrakech.

We had a hammam treatment and massage in the Riad that were delightful. The spa area was very clean and used great local products (which were also included in the bathrooms).

Highly recommend this tranquil and charming Riad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    43
    8
    11
    6
See reviews for
24
172
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here for one week with my partner in June 2013. We were welcomed by the managers assistant on arrival, and sat down in the beautiful reception area and given some home made pastries and mint tea. She made us feel extremely welcome and provided us with advice about visiting Marrakech, recommendations of places to visit and a map. We stayed in the Atlas Room which was incredible, very spacious, lovely furniture and decorations, and an enormous bath. There is also a beautiful steam room and jacuzzi just next door to our room. There were lots of nice touches in the room - fresh roses, rose petals on the bed and around the bath, bottled water, and toiletries (locally made shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and moisturising lotion) which were kept topped up during our stay. The room was kept immaculate by the staff and we were very impressed by the level of cleanliness. We didn't eat at the hotel as we found it too expensive (370 dirhams for 3 courses, which is significantly more than other restaurants) but have heard that the food is good. We did however enjoy sitting on the beautiful roof terrace for drinks - the hotel is one of the few places we found that serves alcoholic drinks in Marrakech, and their wine is of excellent quality.

We booked this hotel through lastminute.com and unfortunately at no point during our booking or stay (until the last day) were we told about the mandatory hotel tax for the government of around €3.50 euros per person per day which would be added to our bill so that was a bit of a surprise at the end. I am not clear if this is the fault of the hotel or the booking site but it would have been nice to be made aware of this at some point so we could budget for it - instead we had to change more money on the last day. I would have much preferred it if this tax had been included in the fee quoted to us and just have paid a bit extra for the room - given the quality of the hotel we would have still booked without hesitation.

I can highly recommend this hotel, particularly to couples wanting to stay somewhere very central in the medina.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were due to stay at Riad Kiass but a couple of days before the manager rang me to say there were issues with our room so they were going to “upgrade” us to their sister hotel Dar Les Cigognes. Which apparently is more luxurious (I wouldn’t know but comparing the prices of their rooms, you wouldn’t have thought that would be much of an upgrade). I also chose Riad Kiass because it had a pool so I was a bit disappointed as this meant we spending a lot of money going to day resorts.
Anyway, found the Riad alright and were offered apologies for the inconvenience of the change of hotel and was given a warm welcome.
Small tip – the hotel offers a private transfer for about €25 but we found a taxi very easily outside the airport and it costs less than catching the bus (50 Dh). Also there’s huge queues at arrivals to get cash out. Exit customs and there’s an ATM and money exchange places which have no queues.
Dar Les Cigognes is very nice if you want to stay in a Riad (which I think you should for a true Moroccan experience and it’s in a good location) but if your also after a relaxing holiday I’d suggest that you spend half your time in a Riad and the other half at a resort.
Note, you should not expect anything like a hotel if you chose to stay in a Riad: The rooms are nicely decorated in a traditional style but they are still very basic. I found the bed very hard & it squeaked every time we moved and the room was very dark with little natural light (we had the deluxe room – casa), the shower was hot but would have quick bursts of cold water, and it was very noisy… You can hear everything from people talking, people walking up and down stairs, people mopping the floor, and if somebody is drying their hair, it sounds like they could be in the same room as you. Of course they don’t have double glazing and I wouldn't expect them to but I’m just warning you if you are a light sleeper. Having found it not that easy to get to sleep I would wake up at 6am every morning because along with the other noises birds would nest under the eaves of the Riad and the stone walls and tiled floors that keep them mercifully cool also reverberate the minuets noise – particularly a squawking bird.
The service was good, the managers did everything we requested and gave us recommendations when asked. We booked an excursion through the Riad and we really enjoyed going to the atlas mountains, breakfast in the morning is nice on the roof terrace and there was always service with a smile.

Overall, it is a very nice Riad and a good place to stay for a couple of days if you want to explore the medina.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights during our recent trip to Morocco. We were greeted by Pierre, who was extremely welcoming and utterly charming (not too dissimilar to the Bond villain, Javier Bardem in Skyfall for all those 007 aficionados out there!). We were given mint tea and a selection of Moroccan pastries upon arrival, and Pierre advised us on all to see and do in Marrakech. The literature given to us was not only totally unbiased, but also extremely well researched as we later discovered. All the other staff at the Riad were also very attentive - they took care of our every request and even served us with anything we requested after hours on the beautifully secluded rooftop. Consequently, we will be returning here as soon as possible as it was a lovely place to stay and an experience which we shall never forget. Thank you so much Pierre and the team! Gavin & Lucy (Wales)

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent our first 3 days in Morocco at the Dar Les Cigognes- Everything was perfect from the communication from the time we booked until we arrived. A driver was sent to pick us up at the a train station ( in spite of our delayed arrival) a meal was prepared for when we arrived at 11 pm. A lovely vegetable tagine and a gratefully accepted glass of wine. Our room was a stunner- canopy bed wrapped in white gauzy fabric, light airy atmosphere. Robes of white handkerchief linen. Staff dressed in traditional costumes constantly in attendance even when sleepless and looking for a wifi connection in the middle of the night. The reception area had cozy alcoves around a fountain/pool with floating rose petals. We had signed up for a cooking class and market tour. Pierre took us to his favorite vendors, to the communal oven and explained the history of the Medina.
Saida, a shy sweet woman showed us how to prepare a traditional soup served during Ramadan, a monk fish tagine, Moroccan salad, and a vegetable tagine and couscous ( the right way). We ate the meal we had helped to prepare on the roof terrace watching the storks setting up for the nesting season on the turrets across the road. I prepared for the cooking class ahead of time with the help of the cookbook written by the owner- " Dar Les Cigognes". We had 3 perfect days in Marrekech before moving on to Fes thanks to Pierre, Saida and the attentive staff at this fabulous palace.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness center but I could not undo. There is however a spa which we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed five nights at this luxury riad, and we were glad we devoted the most time to this hotel and Marrakesh (out of 10 days total in Morocco).

The two buildings that make up the riad are incredible. The ceiling in our room (Safi) rivals the ones we saw at Dar Si Said. Our children’s room (Safari) had a huge picture of Teddy Roosevelt and was totally different from our room, but also beautiful. We took pictures of the lighting fixtures throughout the hotel, because each one was more gorgeous than the next.

As much as we loved breakfast on the roof and the little salons you can curl up in front of a fire, it was the staff who made our visit so special. Each morning Pierre, the general manager, would check in with us over breakfast to make sure we knew where we were going, how to get there, and he helped us make all our reservations. He encouraged us to go with our three teenagers to Imlil and Kasbah du Toubkal, which was a total hit.

The concierge arranged for an excellent car and driver for the first five days of our trip, and we all loved the chef and her assistant, especially after spending the morning with them in a cooking class. The location is great — very close to great shopping and the famous square, Djemaa el-Fna — but not so close that you’re hearing the noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a ten day trip to Morocco where we had the good fortune to spend three nights at Dar Les Cigognes with Pierrre and his wonderful staff. We were met at the airport by one of the contract drivers for the hotel (Mohamed) who was so wonderful we requested him for further outings. We arrived at the Riad in the afternoon and entered the lovely courtyard and were greeted with mint tea and cookies. Our room was stunning and the service excellent. Pierre provided great insight to the medina and wonderful recommendations for meals when we were not eating at Dar Les Cigognes. Our experience there was so wonderful that it really set the bar high and the other places we stayed during our vacation could not measure up even though some of them were more expensive.

Thanks so much Pierre and staff - you really made this a fun adventure for us.

Tom and Jeannie Marsh

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Address: 108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Les Cigognes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.