We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful and peaceful Riad...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Les Cigognes to your Saves list
Dar Les Cigognes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The most beautiful and peaceful Riad...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights during our recent trip to Morocco. We were greeted by Pierre, who was extremely welcoming and utterly charming (not too dissimilar to the Bond villain, Javier Bardem in Skyfall for all those 007 aficionados out there!). We were given mint tea and a selection of Moroccan pastries upon arrival, and Pierre advised us on all to see and do in Marrakech. The literature given to us was not only totally unbiased, but also extremely well researched as we later discovered. All the other staff at the Riad were also very attentive - they took care of our every request and even served us with anything we requested after hours on the beautifully secluded rooftop. Consequently, we will be returning here as soon as possible as it was a lovely place to stay and an experience which we shall never forget. Thank you so much Pierre and the team! Gavin & Lucy (Wales)

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    43
    8
    11
    6
See reviews for
24
172
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent our first 3 days in Morocco at the Dar Les Cigognes- Everything was perfect from the communication from the time we booked until we arrived. A driver was sent to pick us up at the a train station ( in spite of our delayed arrival) a meal was prepared for when we arrived at 11 pm. A lovely vegetable tagine and a gratefully accepted glass of wine. Our room was a stunner- canopy bed wrapped in white gauzy fabric, light airy atmosphere. Robes of white handkerchief linen. Staff dressed in traditional costumes constantly in attendance even when sleepless and looking for a wifi connection in the middle of the night. The reception area had cozy alcoves around a fountain/pool with floating rose petals. We had signed up for a cooking class and market tour. Pierre took us to his favorite vendors, to the communal oven and explained the history of the Medina.
Saida, a shy sweet woman showed us how to prepare a traditional soup served during Ramadan, a monk fish tagine, Moroccan salad, and a vegetable tagine and couscous ( the right way). We ate the meal we had helped to prepare on the roof terrace watching the storks setting up for the nesting season on the turrets across the road. I prepared for the cooking class ahead of time with the help of the cookbook written by the owner- " Dar Les Cigognes". We had 3 perfect days in Marrekech before moving on to Fes thanks to Pierre, Saida and the attentive staff at this fabulous palace.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness center but I could not undo. There is however a spa which we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed five nights at this luxury riad, and we were glad we devoted the most time to this hotel and Marrakesh (out of 10 days total in Morocco).

The two buildings that make up the riad are incredible. The ceiling in our room (Safi) rivals the ones we saw at Dar Si Said. Our children’s room (Safari) had a huge picture of Teddy Roosevelt and was totally different from our room, but also beautiful. We took pictures of the lighting fixtures throughout the hotel, because each one was more gorgeous than the next.

As much as we loved breakfast on the roof and the little salons you can curl up in front of a fire, it was the staff who made our visit so special. Each morning Pierre, the general manager, would check in with us over breakfast to make sure we knew where we were going, how to get there, and he helped us make all our reservations. He encouraged us to go with our three teenagers to Imlil and Kasbah du Toubkal, which was a total hit.

The concierge arranged for an excellent car and driver for the first five days of our trip, and we all loved the chef and her assistant, especially after spending the morning with them in a cooking class. The location is great — very close to great shopping and the famous square, Djemaa el-Fna — but not so close that you’re hearing the noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a ten day trip to Morocco where we had the good fortune to spend three nights at Dar Les Cigognes with Pierrre and his wonderful staff. We were met at the airport by one of the contract drivers for the hotel (Mohamed) who was so wonderful we requested him for further outings. We arrived at the Riad in the afternoon and entered the lovely courtyard and were greeted with mint tea and cookies. Our room was stunning and the service excellent. Pierre provided great insight to the medina and wonderful recommendations for meals when we were not eating at Dar Les Cigognes. Our experience there was so wonderful that it really set the bar high and the other places we stayed during our vacation could not measure up even though some of them were more expensive.

Thanks so much Pierre and staff - you really made this a fun adventure for us.

Tom and Jeannie Marsh

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Me and my boyfriend started our two week trip through Morocco in this Riad, and what a good choice we made, It was fantastic!! After arriving in Marrakesh and having a bit of a shock to the senses, it was the perfect place to go to escape the madness and relax. We had probably our best dinner in Morocco here on the beautiful rooftop terrace. We got some great tips for sights to see and places to eat, all in all, made Marrakesh memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I would highly recommend Dar Les Cigognes. I took my wife Lucy there for her 40th birthday and could not have picked a better more exotic location. The Riad is stunning and perfectly decorated and the staff were great. Pierre is the most attentive manager in the hotel industry and could not have looked after us better. His carefully considered recommendations of places to eat and visit were tailored to us and our circumstances and were all excellent and were varied so that we had a very full experience. The highlight of the visit was the cooking lesson in the Riad with a tour by Pierre of the local markets to buy the produce. This was an eye opener to say the least and took us off the beaten track. The food we learned to cook was outstanding and the setting in which to eat it in the courtyard was magical. We also had a treatment in the Hammam in the Riad which was excellent. I kept changing the times and days of various activities that we had booked with Pierre and it was never any trouble for Pierre who would always accommodate us with a smile. Marrakech is a fantastic place but can also be exhausting so Dar Les Cigognes was a perfect sanctuary of tranquillity and positive karma.

Room Tip: I would recommend a Deluxe room and one with vibrant colours and large paintings - perhaps the green...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 6 magical nights ad Dar Les Cigognes in February to celebrate my 50th birthday. From the moment we entered the Riad -- where we were met with the soothing sounds of a gurggling rose petal covered fountain and offered morrocan tea by the utterly charming concierge Pierre -- to the moment we left -- sent off to the airport with a delicious box of homemade sweets and cookies -- our stay was utterly magical. In fact, we were only supposed to stay for four nights, but we were having such an amazing time we stayed two nights longer. The service was absolutely impeccable; even though there were of course other guests, everyone -- and particularly Pierre -- made us feel as though we were the only ones there. The riad itself is gorgeous and exotic. Our room was lovely, big and quiet. The food? Outstanding. And I had the pleasure of spending a morning with Pierre at the markets and then coming back for a cooking lesson with the Riad's dada, learning to make some of her specialities. A fantastic way to spend the day. Pierre's restaurant recommendations were perfect, and I also especially appreciated the information the hotel provided about Marrakech; exquisite details on what to see, where to eat, where to shop, etc. I cannot say enough about it; I still dream about the Riad. I hope to return one day because it was seriously one of the best hotel/vacation experiences I have had.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Address: 108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Les Cigognes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.